We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,352)
Filter reviews
3,352 results
Traveller rating
1,854
1,011
317
114
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,854
1,011
317
114
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the executive lounge john lennon half moon lounge diamond member ono canal view city centre residential area minute walk quiet location top floor van gogh museum wonderful hotel tram stop museum quarter public transport central station
Filter
Updating list...
1,646 - 1,651 of 3,352 reviews
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Booked the Hilton for 3 night with my partner as it seems like a really nice hotel with good transport links into town. You can walk into town (and we did a few times), its a nice walk but will take you around an hour. Alternatively you can get the tram (16) which costs €8 for a 24 hour pass, and that'll take you right into Dam Square and takes only 15 minutes - these run until midnight.

As for the hotel itself, the service was average. The concierge was useful but extremely understaffed, we found ourself getting annoyed at the constant queues. The room services were unable to give me fresh milk to make a tea, which is just pitiful. That being said the staff themselves were always very helpfully and friendly, so no complaints there!

the main reason for the three stars review is having to pay for WiFi in the hotel. I've stayed in a lot of three and four star hotels, but very really have to pay for WiFi - Its utterly ridiculous. Its not like I spent my holiday in my room glued to the internet, but it would have come in handy to check emails, look up attractions ect...

Would I stay here again? maybe, but I would probably look around first.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear Tom G,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Hilton Amsterdam.

Our location is indeed one of our strong points, close to the Rijksmuseum and only a 30 minute walk from the old city centre. When walking to the city centre I could definitely recommend walking through the Vondelpark, giving you a nice natural feeling within the city. When travelling with public transport, did you know, our Concierge department would be more than happy to provide you with public transport tickets?

I have shared your comments about our concierge department and Room Service department for future developments. We reviewed the product availability in the room service department and reconsidered the staff occupancy in our Concierge department.

We would embrace the opportunity to welcome you again and positively change your opinion about Hilton Amsterdam.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

The lobby interior already tells you that a renovation is urgently due. The rooms confirm this first impression. The gym is closed at 8pm, which means it is not suitable for business travelers. It is too far out to walk in the city. Staff was, however, quite friendly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Neubiberg75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear Neubiberg,

Thank you for taking the time to review your last stay with Hilton Amsterdam.

The current closing time of our hotel gym is from Monday to Friday until 9pm, perhaps this extra hour could suit you slightly better?

In order to shorten your travel time to the centre I could recommend public transport, our concierge department would be more than happy to assist you with tickets and accurate arrival and departure times. With the tram you would be able to travel to the old city centre within 10 minutes.

We would embrace the opportunity to welcome you in our hotel again soon and improve your perception of our hotel.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

Booked the Hilton for a 40th wedding anniversary long weekend in Amsterdam. Overall impression was very good. The staff were excellent and helpful. Breakfast was a feast with continental and full English available. My coeliac wife was particularly impressed with the gluten free corner. Not sure if that's standard.
In the room there should be more than 2 normal teabags each day and some ordinary milk rather than condensed. Who has that in tea?
Good to see Fairtrade towels in the bathroom although I think they were replaced daily , whether hung up or on the floor.
We left some gluten free bread in the minibar fridge which was removed. But it only took a mention to the room cleaner for every effort to be made to put things right.
Only real gripe was wifi was only in the public areas on ground floor. Wired internet access was available at a cost in the room. Hilton need to realise that in 2014 guests expect free WiFi everywhere.

Room Tip: Room 902 is where John Lennon and Yoko Ono stayed in bed for a week in 1969. Listen to the Ballad of John and Yoko
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear ChrisH,

Thank you for your review of Hilton Amsterdam.

It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your wedding anniversary stay. I have shared the positive feedback with our breakfast team. They always try to take extra care of coeliacs, as we understand how this will comfort your wife during her stay.

Whenever you would like to have ordinary milk in your room, our Room Service department would be happy to provide you with this.
Thank you for your feedback regarding the towels, we will refresh the policy within our Housekeeping team.

We hope to welcome you again soon with us.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014 via mobile

The Hilton Amsterdam (Apollolaan) is a lovely hotel in an ideal location.
The staff were extremely helpful. We would like to especially thank Camilla the supervisor at front desk. She was exceptional and went out of her way to help us. The service received was A1 & we would highly recommend the Hilton for anybody wishing to see Amsterdam in style.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mohammed Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear Mohammed,

Thank you for your positive review regarding you last stay at Hilton Amsterdam.

I have shared your special thank you to Camilla, she was very happy with the acknowledgement. The location of the hotel is indeed one of the strong points of the hotel, as the hotel lies close to the Rijksmuseum and the old city centre.

Thank you very much for your recommendation, I have shared your positive feedback with our team.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

The Amsterdam Hilton in Oud Zuid is a wonderful place to stay if you want to escape the crowds in the City.

It doesn't look much from the outside (very 1970's!) but once you step inside, it really is a 5 star hotel. The reception area is airy and spacious, lots of places to sit. The bar at the back of the hotel overlooking the canal is a relaxed place to have a drink or a meal.

The rooms aren't huge but are clean and well presented. We had interconnecting rooms for my husband and I and our 2 children and they were ideal.

We had access to the Executive Lounge on the 10th floor which was superb - probably one of the best I've been in. A light and airy space with fantastic views of Amsterdam. The canapes and pre-dinner drinks served from around 6pm were excellent. The staff were friendly and helpful.

The number 5 and 24 trams which take you into the centre are only a 5-10 minute walk away.

It cost approx. 35 euro to get from Schiphol Airport to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mozartonholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlessioColavecchio, Manager at Hilton Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2014

Dear Mozarttonh,

Thank you for your wonderful review of Hilton Amsterdam.

It is great that you perceived our hotel in such a positive way. Our hotel with its 52 years of existence bears quite a few historic aspects. For example, John Lennon and Yoko Ono held their bed-in for peace in our hotel in 1969.

Public transport is indeed a very convenient way of travelling to Amsterdam’s historic city centre, our concierge would be happy to provide you with accurate information on travelling times or public transport tickets.

I have personally shared your positive comments with the team. We hope to welcome you again soon with us.

Best regards,

Alessio Colavecchio
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews