We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,960)
Filter reviews
2,960 results
Traveller rating
2,254
472
139
59
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,254
472
139
59
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the red light district flying dutchman butler service hermes toiletries restaurant bridges luxury room junior suite dam square turn down service wonderful hotel five star hotel canal view the heart of the city the location is perfect nespresso machine anne frank house van gogh museum
Filter
Updating list...
97 - 102 of 2,960 reviews
Reviewed 23 May 2018

Very nice breakfast but dinner is overpriced. Very good service. Tiny bathroom. Quite comfortable bed
and good air conditioning. Ideal location. Can walk everywhere! Fabulous iced tea in the lobby which
was free and refreshing.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank DebbieElise1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remco G, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to write this positive feedback on Tripadvisor. It is a pleasure to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and we do appreciate your kind words regarding our breakfast and level of service. Your feedback is very much appreciated and I will share them with the entire team. We hope to welcome you back in the near future at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2018

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Remco G, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 May 2018

Overall, NOT to the standard of Sofitel Hotels Worldwide, down market location, poorly managed, and no feel or genuine warmth or feel in the hotel.
Arriving, 12.45pm, Reception was in chaos! People waiting for hours for rooms, and only 2 reception areas for check in guests. As a Platinum member, surprised to find NO Accor Club desk or sign, which is a Accor Worldwide Policy they ignore.. deptie Platinum status, booking 3 weeks ahead, and checking in on line with a slightly early 1pm check in time, they had simply not bothered with anything. No room ready, no Upgrade (Good Managers upgrade and plan ahead for Loyalty guests), not here. Room was basic, with noise and screaming from the street at night, as it sits next to drug selling coffee shops, and The red light district area.
Service was "False", pretentious with no substance or genuine feel.
I notice housekeeping staff very very stressed, overworked, one just walking into my room vy mistake without knowing, as the store was next door!
Too many staff walking around at reception doing very little, when they should be dealing with the queues.
Good job they did not send me The Accor Club questionnaire as it would have been a very poor standard,
I had breakfast in my room which was well served and worth the Euros 35, but despite character in the building, this was absent in all the staff i met.
I would NOT recommend this as a well run Sofitel, vastly overpriced, overstated, and underwhelming.
The INK by Sofitel i have stayed at for many years, has far more character, friendly,hard working team, Brilliantly run, warm and welcoming, and the feel of a "club" compared to this stale hotel. No recognition of Accor Platinum members (also as a Shareholder, but more focussed on money than the loyalty of The Group. Refllects very poorly the Accor excellence Worldwide, which they need to learn.
No Club Lounge Clu either for Club Accor Guests, when they have far more room and multiple buildings to provide this,again showing their priorities. friends who visited felt the same.
I would not stay here again nor recommend this, but other Accor properties i have stayed in such as INK, and Ibis Stopera, actually have a great feel and warmth to them absent here.

Room Tip: No guarantee of room reserved, most on street with excessive night noise, and no views.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank MarcusGB9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groenhuijzen R, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2018

Dear Guest,

First of all we would like to thank you for your recent stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam and mostly for reporting your observations to us. We value your feedback as the most valuable tool to evaluate our services and improve ourselves where needed.

We regret to read that your stay with us was not entirely living up to your expectations. Our aim is to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. Your comments will be shared with the department heads in order to prevent from happening again in the future.

Since this is an anonymous comment, we would be happy to be in contact with you to sort this out for future occurrences. Our Guest Relations team will be happy to assist you (h2783-GR@sofitel.com).

We would very much appreciate a second chance to prove ourselves a better host and hope to see you again at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

With kind regards,
Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2018 via mobile

As a platinum Accor member I stay in a number of Sofitel properties around the world and this as one of the most beautiful, historic and unique, that I have ever had the pleasure of staying in.

This amazing building dates back to 1578 and is steeped in history and charm combined with the warmth and hospitable nature of Dutch culture and true Sofitel hospitality, this hotel is both indulgent and luxurious. They even offer a guided tour of hotel to guests each day, to learn more about the history.

We had pleasure of staying in a king bed, canal view room . It was amazing , the butler service is both very friendly and convenient, especially when your trying to organise those last minute reservations. I have to also say and amazing thank you to Lianne from the front office team who noted my partners birthday which was the previous day and an arranged a bottle of champagne to be in our room . It was an amazingly thoughtful touch and was greatly appreciated.

The guest experience continues every afternoon with a new Dutch treat left in the room do you try on the your return . I’m now in love with stroop waffels.

We also ate the restaurants bistro and found the decor , food and staff to be amazing . The food is a must try at least once when your at the hotel.

In closing this is an amazing hotel, so well connected to everything Amsterdam has to offer . I cannot express what a joyful experience it was to stay here . Do yourself a favour and book it , you won’t be sorry.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remco G, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear guest,

It is a pleasure to read your wonderful review and your words are very encouraging for the entire team, thank you.
Thank you also for recommending us to other Tripadvisor readers.

We hope to welcome you back to Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam soon.

With kind regards,
Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

The Grand Legend in Amsterdam is a really classy hotel in the most central part of Amsterdam.
The first morning we were charged for breakfast, which was supprising as we were sure we booked incl. breakfast. We checked at the reception but was informed, to our disappointment that breakfast was not included.
As the hotel is somewhat costly we decided to eat our the following days.
At our return we checked our reservation and it turned out that we had paid for breakfast. 2 days after informing the hotel we recieved information of full refund on what we had paid as well as a sincere appology.
I had expected a lenghtly back and forth - but that did not happen.
I have full respect for such a customer service and we wouldn't mind staying at the Grand Legend should we pass by Amsterdam Again.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SKJOLDBRO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Remco G, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. I am thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you thought the service was great !

At the same time I am very sorry about the mix-up regarding the breakfast charges. Please accept our sincere apologies. I am glad however that what started out as a disappointment was quickly turned around into a positive experience.

We hope that, despite this unfortunate mix-up, we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Grand in the future.

With kind regards,
Remco Groenhuijzen
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews