We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$213
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 38% below average rates

The price you found is 38% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$344/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

NH City Centre Amsterdam(Amsterdam)
US$202
US$187
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$222/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$253
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 47% below average rates

The price you found is 47% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$479/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

NH Amsterdam Zuid(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$234
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$260/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$187
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$164
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$214
US$200
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$280/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$124/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$115
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 32% below average rates

The price you found is 32% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$163/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,916)
Filter reviews
2,916 results
Traveller rating
2,223
464
135
59
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,223
464
135
59
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe red light districtflying dutchmanbutler servicehermes toiletriesluxury roomjunior suitedam squareturn down servicewonderful hotelfive star hotelcanal viewthe heart of the citynespresso machinecentral locationanne frank housevan gogh museumconcierge
Filter
Updating list...
1,562 - 1,567 of 2,916 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed here for four nights. Staff was welcoming and polite. Rooms very comfortable. Great location in center of the city. Would stay here again. I would book and confirm reservations directly with the hotel. We had originally booked through The Luxury Hotel and Resort Collection, hoping to get the promised breakfast, and upgrade if available. However, the Grand Sofitel had never heard from them directly and the reservations had been booked by a third party. So none the perks from our credit card or booking through the Luxury Hotel and Resort Collection website applied. I am glad that I confirmed my reservations directly with the hotel. However, none of this above misunderstanding stood in the way of enjoying our hotel experiences. The restaurant Bridges, is amazing, which I'll put in separate review.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank asilv250
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Dear Guest,

I am pleased but most of all thankful to read your positive review about your stay at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. I am very grateful about the beautiful words you wrote about my team and will certainly pass these on.

I am sorry to read that your booking via The Luxury Hotel and Resort Collection did not came through as well as the promised benefits. Nevertheless, I am very happy to read that we could make the booking for you directly at our hotel and that none of this influenced your stay.

We look forward to your next stay here at The Grand.

Sincerely,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Stayed one night for business in Amsterdam (Previously stayed at the Hotel Pulitzer, an even nicer property). The location was ideal, easy walking distance to shops and restaurants. Concierge recommended a canal cruise up the street which is not to be missed. Only complaint I had was that the restaurant didn't offer an a la carte or lighter breakfast option - just a full buffet. I was directed to the "library", where I could get the continental breakfast option. Not a great setting for business colleagues to start their day. Garden is nice for drinks, but be aware there were numerous mice scurrying around the ground, so ladies, keep your bags UP off teh ground. Didn't give the hotel 5 stars because my room was EXTREMELY small - much too small for the price paid.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mommy2ena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the ideal location of The Grand and the canal cruise you have experienced recommended by our Concierge department.

Regarding the breakfast, I apologize for not providing you with a proper alternative in our restaurant Bridges. I can certainly understand that was not a perfect start of the day.

I would like to offer my sincere apologies that you witnessed mice in our garden area. Please rest assured that we have taken drastic measurements to exterminate this problem.

I am also very sorry to hear that you have found the room too small.

Besides the issues described above, I hope that we will have the opportunity and the pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Sincerely,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights with the family and it is just perfect if your looking for top class, we drove to Amsterdam and parked our car at the hotel. Yes it is pricey but if this is what your looking for then it is the best place to be.we will come back .

Room Tip: we stayed in 303 and the children in 305 lovely rooms looking over the court yard
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SimonN88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Dear Guest,

I would like to thank you for expressing your extreme satisfaction regarding the high level of service at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam.

I am delighted to read that you have enjoyed your stay with the family so much.

We look forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2012

The first thing one notices when arriving and entering the exquisite lobby/hotel is the historical architecture and modern interiors blending so beautifully together. The second (and more importantly) the staff. These group of people are flawless. Just perfect and so professional without any airs. They do not miss a beat. The location of this hotel is fantastic. Great bedding too.

Room Tip: Rooms on the canal
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hillsNy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for this delightful review on TripAdvisor.
When reading your review, I felt very proud of my entire team who provided you with the highest level of service you so much deserve. I will certainly not fail to share these wonderful words with the team.
It was indeed our goal to blend the history of the establishment, which goes all the way back to the 15th century, with the modern design of Sybille de Margerie.

We look forward to your next stay here at The Grand.

Sincerely,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2012

Short walk to Tram, Dam Square, Red Light District (if that is your thing), quiet neighborhood, great restaurants. This hotel is thouroughly renovated and comfortable while still maintaing the charm and history of its centuries old palace buildings. They even conduct tours of the historic parts at 11AM every morning.

The bed was extremely comfortable. We had a gorgeous canal view....

They provide in room espresso machine, robes, umbrellas, etc. Very quiet when we were there, could not here doors slamming, etc....

Walked one block to the tram line (2 and 5 go straight to the Rijksmuseum), taxi on the return was about 12 euros.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hifreqtrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2012

Dear Guest,

It is wonderful to read such positive feedback as yours and I am very thankful for that.

Our aim was indeed to maintain the history and charm after the intense renovation. It is therefore our pleasure to show every day all the history that our hotel has to offer.

I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your room so much and all its facilities as well as the central location of The Grand.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Amsterdam.

Sincerely,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews