We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,946)
Filter reviews
2,946 results
Traveller rating
2,247
467
137
59
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,247
467
137
59
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe red light districtflying dutchmanbutler servicehermes toiletriesrestaurant bridgesluxury roomjunior suitedam squareturn down servicewonderful hotelfive star hotelcanal viewthe heart of the citythe location is perfectnespresso machineanne frank housevan gogh museum
Filter
Updating list...
1,631 - 1,636 of 2,946 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2012

Visited for I night with 4 other Directors ,we all really enjoyed the hotel and despite it's size it has a boutique feel to it with a small very welcoming reception area beautifully decorated and furnished with small bar and lounge off.
Having been refurbed around 2 years ago the rooms are very comfortable and again well decorated and furnished in a warm style .Huge beds with down base ,-super
Staff are just fantastic so helpful and upon leaving staff relations were called to see if we were entirely happy - we were!
Only one point and not a critsism , the gym is very small -only 5 machines and min weights ,pool is fine ,but both were empty when used them.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Worldtraveller1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

What can I say about the Sofitel Grand Amsterdam? Simply put it's the best luxury hotel in Amsterdam!

The Grand is centrally located. It's steps away from Dam Square, Red Light District, Albert Heijn Markets, great restaurants, cafes, shopping and more. However, once you enter through to the hotels courtyard you begin your stay of luxury, service and relaxation.

The conceirge is more than happy to cater to any of your requests. My husband didn't have time to get a haircut before leaving for our trip. He asked the conceirge if there was a salon near by. They booked the appointment (even got us in on a Sunday near closing time), drew us a map of how to get there, and asked if we needed a personal escort. We didn't need the escort, but that haircut at the Cyber Salon was the best of my husbands life!

The dining on site is amazing! When you sit down at a table they cater to you hand and foot. Our glasses were refilled before they were even emplty. The tables were constantly being tended to and the Club sandwiches are some of the best ever.

Room Service was always prompt. If you have a chance have Traditional High Tea in your room. There are tiered platters of sanwiches, pastries, scones, etc. Plus, an amazing selection of teas. It is well worth the money.

The rooms are spacious (make sure you ger an Executive Room), the bathroom is rather large and the tubs are great to soak in. They have Hermes bath products which smell devine and the towel warmer is an amazing perk.

The rooms are cleaned and restocked every day. They have turndown service with chocolates left on your pillows. They also put slippers by each side of the bed nightly. There are also robes at your disposal which is nice after a long day of exploring. You come back to this lovely hotel, take a nice hot shower, dry off with a warm fluffy towel, put on a comfy robe and slippers and order room service. Now that's luxury!

If you are going during the Spring season it is wonderful to go right next store to Green House Coffeeshop at night, grab a cup of coffee and take a seat outside by the canal. It's relaxing and you get to do a lot of people watching. Make sure that when you are strolling anywhere in Amsterdam to watch out for the bikes. They have the right of way...so move fast!

For a few snacks you can walk to Dam Square and continue on Damrak towards Central Station. They is a frite stand called Mannekin Pis on your left hand side of the street. The best frites in the world. I literally crave them and no other fries I have had since have come close to the perfection of these double fried delights. Caution...stay away from FEBO at all costs. Yes, it is novel to get your food, hot, out of a vending machine, but trust me it's pretty gross when you actually eat it.

You can also go right behind the Royal Palace in the square to a Dutch supermarket chain called Albert Heijn. I have found so many great foods and products in that store and it's nice to be able to keep some items in your fridge at the Grand. Plus, they have a great selection of German wines and European cheeses at amazing prices.

All in all I would not hesitate to stay at the Grand on our next trip to the Dam. It may be a little more expensive, but if you can afford it you should do it. It's well worth the money and you won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Make sure to book a canal view room!
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CBlacklake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

My partner and I stayed here for my 40th birthday and thought that the hotel was of a very high standard. The hotel was very tastefully furnished and the staff were very good. The location is ideal next to dam square and centrum also next to the chinatown. It is quite close to the Red light and brown cafe area so if you are easily offended don't stay here.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BeckenhamBloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

We stayed for 2 nights and booked under the American Express Fine Resorts package. We were offers a fabulous upgrade immediately on arrival and offered all the usual Amex perks. The upgrade to a suite was great - however - there was an instant smell noticeable in the room. A recent upgrade in the hotel had made a very nice bathroom - unfortunately the shower had a fault drainage situation which was causing the smell. After one night I politely requested a room change and explained the problem with the drain. Another fabulous upgrade and seamless changeover convinced me that this is indeed a first class hotel.

Great breakfast and amazing meal in the restaurant in the evening made this a really good experience.

Only a 10 minute walk from the train station - taxi driver took us round the houses on arrival - big mistake - walked back to the station after our stay.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LancashireChaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

well we have stayed from the 25/4 till the 29/4 celebrating 25 years.
we were upgrad to junior suite , with champaine , service was top notch!!!
all the team was great, breakfast was A OK , reall i can say only to the managment keep on with the great job!!
hotel is near the RLD but no noise, and the great is that it is a step from the dam i.e. from the center.

Room Tip: room towards the canal
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ofir Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews