We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$256
US$205
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$254/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

NH Amsterdam Zuid(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$107
NH Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$284
US$256
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$305/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

NH City Centre Amsterdam(Amsterdam)
US$204
US$189
NH Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$220/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$215
US$201
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$247/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ibis Amsterdam Centre Stopera(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$183
US$153
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
WestCord Fashion Hotel Amsterdam(Amsterdam)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$195
US$144
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$115
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$169/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,920)
Filter reviews
2,920 results
Traveller rating
2,226
464
136
59
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,226
464
136
59
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe red light districtflying dutchmanbutler servicehermes toiletriesluxury roomjunior suitedam squareturn down servicewonderful hotelfive star hotelcanal viewthe heart of the citynespresso machinecentral locationanne frank housevan gogh museumconcierge
Filter
Updating list...
1,627 - 1,632 of 2,920 reviews
Reviewed 12 April 2012

This hotel was by far the best we have ever stayed in. We booked the Junior Suite, but i am sure that we were upgraded to an apartment, with Butler service. The room was huge and was amazing. Loving the My Bed. Best nights sleep in a long time!! We chose this hotel for a special birthday celebration and we were treated wonderfully. It was quite overwhelming. To begin with we checked in early and shown to our room by our lovely butler, who was fantastic, so helpful. The hotel then sent up a birthday cake, which they organised. A total surprise. We asked our butler which Indonesian restaurant he could recommend, and he actually booked us one we had seen on the web prior to us coming to Amsterdam. But thought it was too late to book as booking is done well in advance, but he managed to get us a table, which was fantastic. It was called Tempo Doeloe, highly recommend it (thats another review). The breakfast, with complementary champagne was great and the staff new it was my husbands birthday, and brought him in a Dutch apple cake with candle (more like a flare) and the waitress, who was so lovely sang to him, amazing voice. We felt so spoilt. During our stay there were so many other things that the hotel did for us that made our stay spectacular. On our last day the hotel let us have a later check out time as they new we were getting a later flight and arranged a transfer to the airport. Overall, all the staff at the hotel made our stay so much more than what we were expecting, it was quite sad to leave. Since we have been back, we have recommended the hotel to all our friends and family. Thank you all so much. Brilliant memories of Amsterdam.

Room Tip: There is none. I would imagine that all the rooms in the hotel are wonderful. But the suite/apartment on 4th floor is well worth it.
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank llovenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Guest,

I am happy to read you chose Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam to celebrate your husband’s birthday. And even happier to read we succeeded in turning it into something special.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your experience. We look forward to your next visit among us.

Sincerely,
Robert-Jan Woltering

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2012

Even on top floor rooms are very comfortable. Great bar for drinks, and breakfast excellent. Central location means no need for trams or taxis.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuckyLooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.
I am happy to learn you enjoyed your business stay in our hotel.

Sincerely,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2012

My wife and I have been fortunate to have been pampered at great hotels around the world. Four Seasons around the US and in Costa Rica and the Carribean; Ritz Carlton properties, Plaza, Ian Schrager hotels in NYC, Miami; and some of the outstanding luxury hotels in Paris, Italy, and throughout Europe.

This is now our favorite.

From the moment we arrived to the time we left, the pride with which the outstanding service was delivered was readily apparent and well deserved. I hope to have the attention to detail in my own work that the staff here showed in theirs.

We arrived early and while we were waiting for our room to be ready, we were served a beautiful mint tea with macaroons and madeleines in the lobby. Our butler, Burt, showed us to our apartment suites and explained the hotel and its services along the way. They offer to unpack for you while you explore the city; perhaps a service we will take advantage of at our next visit (they will also pack for you before you leave, as well).

We traveled from the US with a young child (13 months old), which can be an adventure in and of itself; the hotel made it such a pleasure, and we know it took quite some effort. From the carefully prepared crib in our room with the beautiful toiletries just for infants to the simple touches like making sure a child's high chair was always waiting for us at the breakfast brunch, care was taken to consider our child's comfort just as much as ours. The infant towel they had for him was beautiful (we'll hopefully post a photo in the traveler's pictures area) and we hope to purchase it for ourselves.

The food was excellent, and on one of the final days we had a high tea prepared for us in the apartment suite; again, we'll attempt to post the photos, but needless to say it was a gorgeous setting that created a wonderful ambience. Moreover, the chef prepared a beautiful chocolate mousse dish for our son with the mousse in the shape of a small mouse and the mango pieces as carefully carved cheese blocks. These people really know no bounds in catering to your whims and desires. As we had family members visiting which included 4 generations (my son, his mother and aunts, his grandmother, and his great-grandmother), the tea was an experience which we know all of our family will remember as a fond gathering with outstanding service.

They have a nice spa and exercise area which we took advantage of; the pool was perfect for swimming short laps or enjoying a dip with our son.

The room itself that we were upgraded to was a beautiful apartment suite overlooking a canal, and with a small outdoor balcony with sitting area. Living area with a dining table was separated from our bedroom by two beautiful, heavy wood sliding doors that allowed us to enjoy room service or an espresso while our son slept peacefully. We actually enjoyed the Nespresso machine so much that we bought our own upon our return. We also looked to buy porcelain espresso and coffee cups as well designed as theirs.

Hotel amenities and events are luxurious and quite interesting. If you get the opportunity, take them up on their flight of Dutch brandies with Beemster cheese. I've never tried them before, but I certainly will again.

Location is very central and within walking distance to basically any part of Amsterdam you would like to visit. The train station is also a short 10-15 minute walk, easy for day trips to wherever you'd desire (we traveled to visit family in Alkmaar).

As for value, this is not a cheap, bargain hotel we visited from the 17th to the 22nd of March. That being said, we would have likely paid double what we were charged for this quality and attention to detail in a hotel (and have paid double in other hotels around the world). They even had a nice breakfast of yogurt, fresh fruit, and pastries ready for us to take upon our departure to the airport. To us, it was an outstanding bargain for what was given, and having that positive experience of being treated fairly and generously only adds to our determination to return.

We are certain that there are other wonderful luxury hotels and/or intriguing hotels with much character in Amsterdam. However, there is only one place we will be staying upon our return, and we would even consider making a special trip just to stay and be pampered by all the great staff who make this the finest hotel we have had the fortune to visit.

You should too.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank wwtraveler74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, General Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear Guest,

What a delight it is to read your review! I am very grateful that you dedicated some of your time to writing commentaries on all aspects of your experience at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam. Thank you.

I will most certainly share your thoughts with the entire staff and with Bart in particular. I am proud to read their attentiveness made your stay a memorable experience and a comfortable and enjoyable (first?) trip for your son.

Surely, you made the most of your stay among us by tasting the Dutch cheese, enjoying the afternoon tea served in your suite and by visiting the So Spa.

We all look forward to having the pleasure to welcome you back in a near future.

A bientot,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Like others, I almost did not stay here because of the negative comments about proximity to the red light district and noise. We are on the 3rd floor, overlooking the canal and it is lovely. No noise at all. The red light district is not close - you have to make an effort to get there. We have stayed previously at the Fusion Suites and although liked it very much, we wanted to be a bit more central and have more amenities. The Fusion is really a B&B. The Sofitel is very comfortable, and although a larger luxury hotel it retains it dutch feeling. The area is lovely and central to everything. I was on my own a good deal as my husband was attending a conference and at no time did I worry about walking on my own or around the area of this hotel. The concierge has sent us to wonderful restaurants (not touristy ones - more where the dutch would eat). the staff are very friendly and always remember our names. After a long day walking, I truly appreciated the long deep bathtub. If you want a cute canal house - this is not for you but if you want luxury, amenities, excellent staff and a great location, then look at the Sofitel.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carorab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Bonjour madame & monsieur,

Thank you for taking the time to share you feedback, I am delighted to read you got to know our Ambassadors, and the concierges in particular, as an excellent team.

It also a pleasure to learn you enjoyed your stay in the city centre of Amsterdam and especially in The Grand. I have to agree with you that even though it’s close to the Red Light District, the hotel is in fact located in the most authentic and beautiful part of Amsterdam.

Should you plan to visit Amsterdam again, may I inform you we also have 14 uniquely designed Suite Apartments available, converted 17th century canal houses that combine the luxury and amenities of the hotel with the coziness of your own apartment (they have great bath tubs as well!).

I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Best regards,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Ignore the reviews saying this hotel is in the red light district and a seedy part of the city. It is a beautiful hotel, in its own courtyard. My wife and I walked all over Amsterdam from the hotel, and never felt we were in an undesirable area. The staff were very helpful, the rooms were lovely, well equipped and a good size. The fish restaurant was well worth visiting as well, with some really tasty dishes. Highly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank drivervet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SofitelLegendTGA, Manager at Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear guest,

Thank you so much for the wonderful comments you gratified us with! We are honoured by such compliments.

We look forward to welcoming you again, over your next visit to Amsterdam.

Sincerely,
Robert-Jan Woltering
General Manager

Sofitel Legend The Grand Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews