We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hassle free and outstanding stay”
Review of NH Amsterdam Noord

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
NH Amsterdam Noord
Ranked #65 of 376 Hotels in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 23 June 2017

The hotel looked like a hospital on the outside. However, staying here was hassle free despite the distance from the centre of Amsterdam. The free shuttle was a great touch which runs around every 10-15 minutes. At one point, the driver was on his lunch break and the hotel staff happily issued us a voucher for a taxi to the centre!

On arrival our room did smell like tobacco and so did our bathroom. Regardless, the bed was very comfortable and the room and the bed is big enough to accommodate 4 people. The bathroom was amazing with powerful shower. However, our bathroom was not cleaned for 2 days in a row.

Overall, I will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 642 has great views of the centre of Amsterdam.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JayR993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Noord, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2017

Dear Jay,

First of all, we would like to extend our sincere gratitude for taking the time to share your recent experience with us on TripAdvisor. It was a true pleasure to welcome you at our hotel!

We feel absolutely delighted to read that you have had a comfortable stay with us and that you enjoy our recently renewed beds. We do however regret reading about the scent within the room. Rest assured that your comment will be discussed with the responsible department and utmost efforts will be made to prevent this from reoccurring. Our sincere apologies for this inconvenience. Indeed our complementary shuttle service easily brings our guests easily to the very heart of Amsterdam and we are glad to read that you have enjoyed this!

Might you be planning on visiting Amsterdam any time soon again, please feel free to reach out to us directly should you desire to make another reservation.

Warm regards,

Bart van den Hauten
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (736)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 736 reviews

Reviewed 20 May 2017

Very apprehensive approaching the hotel as it seemed to be surrounded by major road works. However, it proved needless to worry.
Excellent hotel, very friendly staff and an amazing free shuttle service into the city, about 15 minutes.
Although the hotel was very busy it was quiet in the public rooms.
The bedroom was very comfortable with no noise from outside.
Breakfast was very good.
If you don't want to eat in the hotel there are plenty of places nearby.
Once again, an impressive hotel with great staff.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Noord, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2017

Dear Mike,

First of all, we would like to extend our sincere gratitude for taking the time to share your wonderful experience about your recent visit with us at NH Amsterdam Noord.

It is with great pleasure to read that you have experienced the true hospitality of our team and that you had a careless visit with us. Indeed, road works are currently ongoing across the street of the hotel, although those works are not creating any noise whatsoever that affects the quality of rest. Rest assured that your loving words about our staff will be shared amongst the team - I am sure that they will love it!

Might you be planning to visit Amsterdam any time soon again, please feel free to reach out to us directly, so that we can assure you with yet another flawless stay at our hotel.

Warm regards,

Bart van den Hauten
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2017 via mobile

This hotel used to be a dump(sorry) but they made a big improvement and I enjoy staying here. Quiet and comfortable room with modern amenities. The grocery stores near by and Saturday market across is handy.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
Thank Tomoko W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Noord, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2017

Dear Tomoko W,

Our sincere gratitude for taking the time to share your recent experience in NH Amsterdam Noord with us.

It is with great pleasure to read that you value the improvements that we have made throughout the past months in both our rooms and public areas. Rest assured that your comment will be shared with our team!

Might you be planning to visit Amsterdam any time soon again, please feel free to reach out to us directly so that we can assure you with yet another flawless stay.

Warm regards,

Bart van den Hauten
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2017

Staff is very friendly and helpful. The free shuttle brings you to the central station, where you can connect to all kinds of transportation. The restaurant is nice but not great.
The beds were not very comfortable, but when we checked out all matrasses were being replaced. So that should be better now.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the elevators have a balkony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Noord, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Dear Peter,

First of all, we would like to extend our sincere gratitude for taking the time to share your recent experience of your stay with us at NH Amsterdam Noord.

We feel absolutely delighted that the hospitality of our staff has enhanced your stay at our hotel. Indeed, the shuttle is a handy service which brings you right to the very heart of Amsterdam in a short period of time. On the other hand, we sincerely regret reading that your experience in our restaurant and the bed did not meet your expectations. Our apologies for this. Currently, we are about to finish the implementation of new beds in all of our rooms and we are confident that you will love them!

We would love to have the chance to welcome you once again at our hotel. Should you desire to make another reservation in the nearby future, please do not hesitate to reach out to us!

Warm regards,

Bart van den Hauten
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2017

This hotel is very nicely decorated with helpful staff. Room size was excellent with new furnishings. Location is in the north of Amsterdam but within ten-fifteen minute walking distance to the free ferry and into central. The hotel run a free shuttle bus from early until 12am to the other NH hotel in the centre which is excellent. I had a problem with the initial 'guarantee' on my card as they ended up charging three times for different amounts but they did resolve this by the time I got to the hotel.
Lovely staff. Breakfast was okay but could do with a few more bits for English guests such as beans, bigger sausages etc.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with NH Hotels
Thank Ben S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BartvandenHauten, General Manager at NH Amsterdam Noord, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2017

Dear Ben,

First of all, we would like to extend our sincere gratitude for taking the time to sharing your recent experience with us at NH Amsterdam Noord. It was a great pleasure to welcome you at our hotel.

Although we feel absolutely delighted whenever we receive kind comments, it is also of great importance for us to receive feedback. With regards to the amounts that were charged on your credit card, we would like to sincerely apologise for the inconvenience caused. I do hope, that the complementary breakfast that has been offered to you, somehow compensated for this experience. The channel list of the new smart TVs is expected to undergo some changes in the nearby future, whereas more international channels, including English, will be added. On the other hand, we feel absolutely delighted to read that you have enjoyed the true hospitality of our staff and our newly renovated rooms, together with our complementary shuttle service. Rest assured that your comments will be shared and discussed with the team!

Might you be planning to visit Amsterdam in the nearby future and desire to make another reservation at our hotel, please feel free to reach out to us directly so that we can assure you a flawless stay.

Warm regards,

Bart van den Hauten
Hotel Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
1.3 km away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Noord
#236 of 376 in Amsterdam
460 reviews
8.6 km away
New West Inn Amsterdam
New West Inn Amsterdam
#163 of 376 in Amsterdam
1,121 reviews
6.6 km away
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
Bastion Hotel Amsterdam Amstel
#250 of 376 in Amsterdam
655 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 km away
The Movement Hotel
The Movement Hotel
#284 of 376 in Amsterdam
6 reviews
10.4 km away
Campanile Amsterdam
Campanile Amsterdam
#196 of 376 in Amsterdam
379 reviews
5 km away
Holiday Inn Express Amsterdam-Sloterdijk Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to NH Amsterdam Noord? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about NH Amsterdam Noord

Address: Distelkade 21, 1031 XP Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly NH Galaxy)
Phone Number:
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Green Hotel in Amsterdam
#27 Family Hotel in Amsterdam
#46 Luxury Hotel in Amsterdam
#65 Business Hotel in Amsterdam
#68 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: €81 - €237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — NH Amsterdam Noord 4*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The four-star NH Amsterdam Noord hotel in Amsterdam boasts 290 newly renovated rooms, all with modern facilities and air-conditioning. Located in northern Amsterdam, The hotel encompasses a large parking lot with 150 spaces, and offers complimentary shuttle service to the city center day and evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, NHHotels, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your NH Amsterdam Noord reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nh Galaxy Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing