We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great atea to explore from”
Review of The Posthoorn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Posthoorn
Ranked #22 of 338 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 29 April 2017

This a great base from which to explore. It is situated near to the Anne frank house and much more. The B &B is in a quiet pretty area. We stayed in the patio room as there were 5 of us (2 adults and our 3 children). We were really pleased to stay in one room together to keep to our budget. Unfortunately, there is no view from this room, but as we did not spend much time in the room, it didnt really matter. However, i did sometimes wish I could look out at the beautiful canal right next to us. The other 2 rooms probably do have a view though.

The website stated free juice, beers and white wine in the fridge. I felt quite excited about this, but actually, there is a charge for the beers. There is no wine at all, just champagne at €40 euros a bottle. There is a carton of juice and a carton of milk for cups of tea/coffee. You get very tasty orange juice with each breakfast anyway, but I think this was a little misleading. The breakfasts were very nice, and Francois ammended the breakfasts to suit us one morning when we needed to make an early start for a trip.

Francios gave us recommendations of restuarants, and we visited a couple of them which were great. There are some lovely places to eat nearby and some great bars. He was very helpful and always on hand if needed. Great break, albeit a little expensive.

Room Tip: Book ahead to anne frank and museums to avoid queues.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sunsetskys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (298)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 298 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2017

Amsterdam is an amazing city with so much to see and do. Its canals and historic buildings are absolutely beautiful. We spent 3 nights at the Posthoorn and had a very comfortable stay. Our room had large windows overlooking the cobblestone street and the canal. It was close to many restaurants, cafes, and not far from the Anne Frank House, but still very quiet. Francois made some excellent recommendations for places to eat and made reservations for us. He brings your breakfast to your room at the time you request. Fresh croissants and baguettes, assorted fresh fruits, a perfectly soft cooked soft boiled egg, fresh orange juice. My only negative is that I prefer not to eat in my room with suitcases, unmade bed, etc. But the room had a little table right next to the window and we could watch the world go by as we breakfasted. Be aware that there is a small surcharge if you pay for your room with a credit card. The B & B is about a 15 minute walk to the train station. It's close to the Nine Streets and Jordaan, both of which have lots of great little shops and many bars, restaurants, and cafes. We had a fabulous Thai dinner at Ko-Chang. Jansz, part of the Pulitzer hotel, has a lovely restaurant that features continental cuisine, and Prego was also nearby and had a nice selection of European, Italian and Mediteranean choices. All are within easy walking distance of the Posthoorn. We were unable to book a time for the Anne Frank House and everytime we walked past, even late in the evening, there were still long lines waiting to get in.
Make sure you try to book your entry when you book your room.
Altogether a great long weekend in Amsterdam.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mmanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2017

We visited The Posthoorn as a group of 6 on a 'Posthoorn Gallop' weekend on which we additionally ate at 2 'Posthoorn' restaurants, one in Amsterdam and one in far-flung Monnickendam. So, in a way, it was sheer good luck (and a preference for Posthoorn properties) that led us to this charming Prinsengracht canal house. The house dates back to the 1600s and originally featured a secret chapel in the basement, a facility that allowed worship to take place in less tolerant times. Francois, the energetic owner and hotelier told us that there is also a secret tunnel leading from the chapel to the cellars of the Papeneiland bar on the other side of the canal. No prizes for guessing which was the prevailing direction of travel!
As a hotel The Posthoorn is near perfect for a small party of friends. There are only three double rooms: one of which is the chapel itself; one looks out over the canal, and the third over a small patio to the rear. All are ensuite, furnished with taste and offer plenty of room (except in the vertical plane for those in the chapel). There are no communal facilities as the rest of the house is given over to family accommodation. Equally there is no catering provided - apart from a fabulous breakfast served in the bedoom (any reviews that mention Michelin stars and restaurants are wide of the mark and relate to the restaurant-style Posthoorns I mentioned earlier). The breakfast is a thing of beauty with perfectly boiled eggs, fresh bread and pastries, yogurt, cheeses and meats, orange juice and coffee - all served, at a time to suit you, by the tireless Francois.
The Posthoorn is a perfect pied-a-terre for exploring Amsterdam. It is an easy walk from the Central Station and is situated on the edge of the Jordaan area on one of the most picturesque canal rings. There are bars, restaurants and shops aplenty within easy striking distance, and there is no need to write about all of the fabulous tourist sights and cultural attractions of this brilliant city. If we are fortunate enough to return we will certainly be picking up the 'phone to call The Posthoorn... Many thanks.

Room Tip: Calnal view room does as it says. Chapel room is not for the lofty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Diptych
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2016 via mobile

This a great restaurant close to the city center where you not only have the Michelin status but servings are ample and not like other similar Michelin restaurants the plates seem like samples.

Hotel and restaurant seems somewhat unimpressive from the entrance but very nice inside.

No need to overdress.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank NORMAN W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2016 via mobile

Three couples rented the posthoorn and had a wonderful weekend. Francois was so helpful and personable. Rooms beautifully decorated, delicious breakfast, wonderful location Within walking distance of everything.
Close to Anne Franke, Central station, lots of restaurants. Loved hearing the history of the building itself. Highly recommended

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Crystalswanson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 338 in Amsterdam
928 reviews
Centrum
Crown Bed & Breakfast
Crown Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 338 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Jordaan
Eelhouse B&B
Eelhouse B&B
#34 of 338 in Amsterdam
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centrum
Amsterdam At Home
Amsterdam At Home
#29 of 338 in Amsterdam
201 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Vanguard
The Vanguard
#16 of 338 in Amsterdam
185 reviews
Jordaan
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
#7 of 338 in Amsterdam
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Posthoorn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Posthoorn

Address: Prinsengracht 7, 1015 DK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 338 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: €109 - €165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Posthoorn 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed within the fine walls of a listed historical 17th century canal house on one of Amsterdam's most picturesque canals in the heart of the city - the Prinsengracht - part of the UNESCO World Heritage, The Posthoorn Bed and Breakfast features three charming rooms which offer guests four-star luxury whilst staying in the Jordaan district. The Canal View Room, Patio Room and Hidden Church Room ooze opulent and stylish character within the pleasant atmosphere of this contemporary bed and breakfast flawlessly disguised in the old-fashioned exterior of this canal house. The history behind this interesting building dates back to 1578, during which time Catholics were refused to visit their churches so several hidden churches were built in private houses. Around 1650, one was built in the basement of what stands as The Posthoon today and if you wish the owner will be pleased to tell you the history of the house. The elegant decor of The Posthoorn is boasted throughout each and every room. The livingspaces feature a flat-screen cable TV, en-suite bathroom with under-floor heating, comfortable sofas, free wireless internet. In each room you will find a kitchenette including coffee maker, microwave and refrigerator complete with white wine, beer, orange juice, milk and mineral water. Full continental breakfast including freshly baked bread and croissants is served to guests in their room each morning. Staff aim to make guests' stay at the Posthoorn memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK) and Agoda so you can book your The Posthoorn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing