We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$134
View deal
Expedia.comUS$133
TripadvisorUS$133
eDreams
Hotels.comUS$133
TributePortfolioUS$133
Prestigia.comUS$137
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,228)
Filter reviews
2,228 results
Traveller rating
854
828
350
113
83
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
854
828
350
113
83
Show reviews that mention
All reviews harbour club city centre minute walk canal view nice hotel business trip nice room museum quarter van gogh museum quiet area public transportation tram concierge euro rijksmuseum cafes
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
412 - 417 of 2,228 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2017

I have stayed two nights in the hotel and it was a poor experience. I would agree that the hotel is located in a nice area of the city and its close to Vondelpark.

The staff was very young and did not really follow up requests. The room was really small and the bed was of poor quality. That compared to re high price to stay in the hotel it was not a good experience.

Room tip: Dont take a room next to the road
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 43jordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Hotel Am... A, Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback!

Unfortunately, we did not deliver a memorable experience. I can imagine that it felt highly inconvenient when we did not follow your requests.

Next to that, it if unfortunate that the bed was not up to your satisfaction. As you have noticed we are currently renovating a part of the rooms and create an additional restaurant. We will also renew the beds in our Deluxe Rooms and Suites during this renovation.

I do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again and to deliver a more memorable experience.

Warm regards,

Jorik Heus – Duty Manager
Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2017

We're staying at the Apollo Hotel for two nights, we came directly from the hotel CitizenM which was amazing. At first we were standing in line for 30 minutes to check in, we were at bit early so the nice stuff took care of our luggage, meanwhile we explored Amsterdam. The told us that our room would be ready at 14pm. We went back to the hotel at 14pm, the room wasn't ready yet and was asked to wait. We spoke up and got another room on the fourth floor, under the bedsheets we found a lot of hair and it didn't feel clean.

We didn't wanted to bother the staff anymore but my boyfriend slept really bad because of the noisy street outside so we changed room the day after. This room was cleaner and more fresh. When we're going to check out we was queuing for at least 30 minutes. Compared to the CitizenM hotel the Apollo Hotel was really poor.

I wouldn't recommend Apollo, I think the are lots of better hotels in Amsterdam. And don't choose to eat breakfast at the hotel, you can find cheaper and better breakfast at cafe's in city center.

Room tip: Room with a gardenview are quieter
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 65jennifern
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Hotel Am... A, Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us.

You are absolutely right about the comments you have regarding the cleanliness of the room, but also the waiting line for at the reception is not up to our standards. This week, we opened 3 complete new reception desks, which will hopefully resolve this issue.

Next to that, I am sorry that the room was not ready by the time that you came to the hotel. Please be aware that we guarantee a room from 3PM. However, we do our utmost best to have the room available at any time.

As we are committed to deliver memorable experiences, we hope to welcome you again in Amsterdam.

Warm regards,

Jorik Heus – Duty Manager
Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017

Rooms are recently renovated. Terrific view of the canal if you request it. Like most European hotels this hotel is not luxurious, but, it is significantly above average and probably one of the better hotels in the area. The staff is responsive and helpful. Some areas of this hotel are currently undergoing renovation, but, this did not inconvenience any of the guests.

Date of stay: April 2017
1  Thank srh7009
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

No one said to expect dust and noise but that's what we walked into. The staff tried really hard to ignore it, but it must have been hell for them to work in such conditions.

Fortunately we were on the 5th floor so we were isolated from most of the din.

The room was standard business and perfectly good for what we paid.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank James R
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Hotel Am... A, Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for your feedback!

As you have noticed, we are currently renovating some of our hotel rooms, lobby and one of our restaurants. My apologies that we did not inform you well enough about that. We are planning to finish the renovation by the end of the summer.
Many thanks for your compliment about the team. I will certainly share your words with them.

Warm regards,

Jorik Heus – Duty Manager
Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2017 via mobile

Really it's just to say how great the staff were. Nothing was too much trouble. My thanks to Sharon and Dennis at the front desk. Room was lovely and comfortable but a bit too hot for my liking. The deck bar at the back of the hotel overlooking the canal is lovely if a bit pricey.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank jillf250
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Hotel Am... A, Manager at Apollo Hotel Amsterdam, a Tribute Portfolio Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2017

Dear guest,

Thank you for your lovely words!

I will certainly share your words with Sharon and Dennis. Besides, I am glad that the room was lovely and comfortable, even though it was a bit to warm. Our technical team will resolve that immediately.

I hope to welcome you again.

Warm regards,

Jorik Heus - Duty Manager
Apollo Hotel Amsterdam

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews