We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Pancakes Amsterdam

Pancakes Amsterdam
Ranked #13 of 97 Dessert in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$14
Cuisines: Dutch
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Description: We welcome you at PANCAKES Amsterdam! PANCAKES Amsterdam puts a new spin on traditional pancake houses. We stand out of the crowd with our original recipes. PANCAKES Amsterdam serves high quality pancakes prepared with fresh and nutritous, locally sourced products and ingredients. PANCAKES Amsterdam is established in 2007. Almost ten years later we have three location. The first one is situated in the famous Nine Streets. This is were Pancakes Amsterdam has started! The second location is near Amsterdam central station and the third one is our newest location and is situated next to Anna Frank House and Westerkerk. Come and visit one of our location and enjoy the tastiest Dutch pancakes and American pancakes! We hope to see you soon!
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

Tried today ! Not as good as expected ! I tried another shop for the same pancake day before and it tastes much better ! So, not a must when visiting Amsterdam!

Also, service attitude so so!

Thank Wongweinei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANCAKESAmsterdam, Eigenaar at Pancakes Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Hello Wongweinei,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry for the inconvenience you experienced and the service. This is not how it supposed to be.
Enjoy your day.
Greetings, TEAM Pancakes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

73 - 77 of 2,226 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017

We got here around 3 PM and there were 2 tables to sit before us. We all waited outside, and in 10 minutes 4 tables opened up but the staff took its time clearing and cleaning them. 4 tables were free but we had to wait another 7-8 minutes until we rushed them to sit us. The service in Amsterdam is known to be slow but friendly, but this was too much.The prices can be quite high for a pancake, the food is good but nothing that you shouldn't miss.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank tamarba2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANCAKESAmsterdam, Eigenaar at Pancakes Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Hello Tamarba2016,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your pancakes! I can image that the wait was annoying, I'm very sorry about that. Sometimes our restaurant is very busy and the staff has a lot of things to do.
Have a good day.

Greetings, TEAM Pancakes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017 via mobile

Don't go! The pancakes are ok, I can make better at home. Expensive, few strawberries and chocolate, not enough to cover the pancakes. The waitress was very impolite.
You can pay just with card and it's one hill for table. You can't share with your friends. Stupid!

Thank larafmontezzi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANCAKESAmsterdam, Eigenaar at Pancakes Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Hello Larafmontezzi,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and your feedback.
Enjoy your day.
Greetings, TEAM Pancakes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

Lovely time in this pancake place, we went to Anne frank house, and we found out this restaurant!

We ordered 2 pancakes, banana, almond and chocolate sauce pancake, another one is apple brandy, apple and almond pancake.
There were very sweet, and very yumm yumm!

I really like the smell of the apple brandy and the chocolate sauce was very yummy.

We added €1 for icecream, totally worthy!

Recommended! Just wondered why we need to pay €0.5 to use the toilet to get a voucher and at the end of the meal, the stuff returned back the money to us.

Thank auyeunghosanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANCAKESAmsterdam, Eigenaar at Pancakes Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Hello Auyeunghosanna,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I'm happy you enjoyed your time at PANCAKES Amsterdam! In addition to your comment about the toilet "rules", we do this because we have a lot of people from the queu for the Anne Frank house using the toilets.
Have a nice day and we hope to see you again sometime.

Greetings, TEAM Pancakes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017 via mobile

A wide variety of Dutch and American pancakes, in a more intimate setting than the main central location. The menu offers preset pancakes as well as the option to build your own combos with the offered toppings.

Thank Mia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PANCAKESAmsterdam, Eigenaar at Pancakes Amsterdam, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Hello Mia D,

Thank you very much for your review. I'm happy you enjoyed your time at PANCAKES Amsterdam!
Have a good day and we hope to see you again sometime.

Greetings, TEAM Pancakes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pancakes Amsterdam also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Pancakes Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing