We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home Cooked Perfection”
Review of Kop van Jut

Kop van Jut
Reserve with
Kop van Jut is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #643 of 3,953 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Stadsdeel Zuid
Description: Home of great taste,this is were the locals eat.
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home Cooked Perfection”
Reviewed 9 September 2011

We visited this fantastic restaurant twice within in 10 days, and if we hadn't waited until late in our trip - we'd likely have popped in even more.

If you want a delicious meal, a relaxed vibe, and excellent service - look no further. It's the type of place you'll never forget. We're there on night ONE of our next trip to Amsterdam!

  • Visited April 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngielArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

284 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    139
    102
    28
    10
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Unexpected Gem”
Reviewed 17 August 2011

In the hurly-burly of the Leidseplein area, we came across this gem of a restaurant. It's small, but cosy and friendly, with very pleasant staff - we even managed a bit of banter with the chef as he prepared our dinner. Most importantly, the food was good and clearly freshly prepared, as we could see with our own eyes. I can't speak for how authentically Dutch it was, but with good food, excellent service, friendly atmosphere and reasonable price, we weren't complaining!

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CJS1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin, USA
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice, relaxed meal”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

Good cafe, good beer, and mostly good food.

I didn't love my lamb, but everything else was great. Friendly service.

  • Visited June 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KRSTWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moraga, California
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Small, friendly,good service and value”
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We recommend this restaurant. It is small so reservations are required unless eating early. The decor is modest but the staff is very friendly, the service and food are good and prices are reasonable. There are quite a lot of local beers available. We tried some regional specialities, which we enjoyed.

  • Visited March 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Susan32742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very average and a bit too pricey!”
Reviewed 31 May 2011

My husband and I went out of our way to find this restaurant as we read all the glowing reviews about it on tripadvisor. We didn't have a reservation, so were lucky we got seated.

I ordered the Indonesian chicken skewers and my hubby had the steak.

The chicken was OK - nothing wow or 'must try' - just some satay style sauce on some chicken served with some chips.

My husbands steak was also just OK - nothing to sing about!

The restaurant was very busy, we didn't get asked whether we wanted drinks until about 5-10 minutes after we arrived.

The bill came to 40 euros, which is about 38 GBP - and for what we got, I felt it was not worth it at all. In the day and age of money saving coupons enticing you to eat a 3 course meal for 15-20 for TWO people and the food is a lot better, then 20 GBP per person was very pricey for what we got.

The service was OK - they knew we were tourists and didn't bother with us, and perhaps they were more interested in serving the locals. No-one checked if our food was okay. Once we asked for the bill, our waitress asked us if everything was okay (bit late by then!).

I wouldn't bother wasting time and going here!

  • Visited May 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PQOTD75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kop van Jut also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Kop van Jut? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing