We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
14
10
1
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
14
10
1
0
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Our family grouping of 4 adults stayed for the first week in August at the Vondelpark Suites. We booked both rooms and were glad that we did since having four in one room and one bathroom would have been too crowded. The location was perfect for us since we enjoyed the nearby park and a few of the nearby restaurants, pubs and coffee houses. A little away from the hurly burly of more central Amsterdam but with great tram access a few steps away was a plus for us. We found the rooms very comfortable and Elys Sprangers, the host, was very accommodating and helpful. Elys carried our luggage up to the rooms - the stairs are typically Dutch - very steep - but there is only about 20 steps so they helped keep us fit. The breakfast trays brought to the room each morning had a nice selections of rolls, croissants, delicious homemade jams and some cold meat and tasty dutch cheese. We were very pleased with our stay. If however you plan to visit in the heat of summer we would recommend the east room - even with the fan blowing the west room was rather like a sauna in the mid to late afternoon!

Room Tip: If you plan to visit in the heat of summer we would recommend the east room - even with the fan blowing the west room was rather like a sauna in the mid to late afternoon!
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne1294
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is on picturesque one block long dead end street right next to the large Vondelpark. The stop for tram 1 is at the end of the street. This tram to the Central Station passes near many good restaurants and attractions so transit is very easy. We bought a multi-day tram pass and just hopped on and off as we liked. You can buy it at the GVB office which is to the far left when you leave the Central Station, next to the tourist office.

There is a very good supermarket about four minutes away. Also a tratieur (spelling?) that sells prepared food even closer. No need for complicate cooking if you eat in.

The small apartments are very cute. They are good for two people or for parents and two young children. More than two adults would be a bit crowded. Why not just rent both suites!

Very clean and great breakfasts. Els very kindly printed out our airline boarding passes and some e-tickets for our museum visits.

Do note that the one flight of stairs stairs is very steep as in most Amsterdam residences of this type. They are a cross between normal stairs and a ladder. Take just one piece of luggage at a time, take it slowly, and you will be fine.

The bed might not be as firm as some but it definitely did not sag and we thought it quite comfortable.

This is in a quiet residential neighborhood so you fell like a native and not a tourist -- a nice experience, I think!

Room Tip: The east or street side room is better in hot weather because it is in the shade in the afternoon. Also the east room has double doors which open onto a tiny balcony which provides excellent air flow in the warm weather. It is on a very quiet street and it is only marginally more noisy that the one in the back (west).
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllenDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed in The Vondelpark Suites (the east room) for 3 nights and it was really very pleasant! You can expect everything you see in the photos at its website. The room and the bathroom are clean, fully equipped kitchen and the breakfast is served directly in the room which is also super. Maybe if you are used to sleeping at a harder bed you will be suprised by soft mattress, but it is a small detail. It is a comfortable accommodation with friendly and family atmosphere in a calm street directly at the Vondelpark. Tram number 1 which goes through the centre of Amsterdam (about 5 stops/10minutes) is also very near (1-2 minutes). In a case you want to take a dinner outside few restaurants are also close. I would definitely recommend this accommodation.

Room Tip: The east room is very nice, spacious, with a nice view and with a small lovely balcony.
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank t c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend. The rooms are comfortable and well equipped with en-suite bathroom. Generous breakfast and our host, Els, was friendly and very helpful. Central location with the vondel-park at the end of the street and tram stop at the other end of the street.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Hofgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

We stayed at the Vondelpark Suites for 3 nights in April 2012, 2 adults and 1 child. There was plenty of room - the suite has very high ceilings with 2 twin beds pushed together and a futon couch that turns into a bed. Also there is a small TV, eating table with chairs, a kitchenette with everything including cooktop, microwave, mini-fridge and sink. Coffee maker and hot water pot are also provided. The bathroom has a nice shower, plenty of towels and hairdryer. This was a great location - VERY close to the tram stop and if you want to walk - the park is steps away and makes for a beautiful stroll into the city. We were welcomed with a bottle of wine and yummy chocolate marshmallow treats.

A couple notes about the apartment - the stairs to the 2nd floor where the apartment is located are VERY steep and narrow, a bit shocking at first. (Els, the proprietor carried our massive suitcase up for us, I felt horrible for her lugging it up those stairs!) I would also suggest to bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper - there are tenants that live upstairs on the 3rd floor that can be heard and because the windows are so large, there is a lot of street noise that filters through.

There really is no parking, and the street is one way - to a dead end. There is only one way in, and you must reverse the car out of the street onto the main road to get out. Tricky.... We parked our car at a public lot about 10 minutes away. We opted to not have breakfast included - there is a nice bakery right across the street. 2 blocks away is the grocery store and there are numerous little eateries in the area. Els had a nice selection of English movies on DVD, which was great for our daughter - age 3 - she watched Ratatouille numerous times.

This was a great place for the price and I would highly recommend the suites to a couple, or a small family.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clouisep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews