We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (22)
Filter reviews
22 results
Traveller rating
11
4
4
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
11
4
4
2
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 22 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Our family of four stayed in this apartment for 6 nights in July.

Having lived in Amsterdam for four years previously, we knew we wanted to stay in the center of the city when we visited (our first trip back!) as a family. This apartment is perfectly central, but set on a lovely smaller canal between two of the more major canals.

The apartment is lovely. Very simple, but clean and well-stocked, with wifi.

We found the owner to be very kind, and very helpful. However, we also were respectful of her -- being sure to communicate our arrival time clearly, and take care of her home.

The only thing I feel I should mention, is that this apartment just *barely* worked for our family of four. There is one full-size bed, which my husband I were able to share, and then a small "pull out" for the kids. However, the "pull out" is VERY small, and our 8 and 10 year olds only *just* fit. I do think it would be a good investment in the property to replace this piece of furniture with something a little larger (even a full-size futon?), so that a family could be better accommodated.

I hope that we have the chance to return to Anno 1685 in the future. It's a perfectly sweet "home away from home"!

Date of stay: July 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wonderfilledworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

Good value and great location. The flat is very cute and spacious with a lovely little courtyard. It is very silent even though you're in the heart of the Jordaan. It is also very comfortable because it's on the ground level and was great not to do the typical steep and narrow Dutch staircases. We visited the first week in December. The weather was very cold. Had the unit been warmer, especially at night (it seems the heat is shut off at night) we would have given this flat a 5 star rating. The bed is next to the courtyard, there is no wall, just doors that lead outside and gets drafty at night. I would suggest leaving the heat on all night or purchasing heavier curtains next to the bed. As a whole a very lovey experience and I will recommend to other people.

Date of stay: December 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ZoeRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our five days in Amsterdam and it was delightful to come home to our little haven and relax. The apartment was bright and homely, lots of travel books, precious space to sit outside when it was warm enough, a cosy little bathroom, comfy bed and all the kitchen things necessary to eat at home if we wished. The location was good, away from crowds, eating places and 9 streets shops within walking distance, close enough to walk to lots of things and the trams on Prinsengracht frequent. Anke was there to greet us and make sure we had everything. It was nice to stay in a homely but historic place and be able to look out of "our" window at the canal tour boats as they discovered this lovely canal area.

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JandBPGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2011

We were looking forward to staying here in September but due circumstances beyond our control (work mostly) we had to cancel. Please take note that we DID NOT stay here. We had sent a deposit of close to 500 euros to Anke with the remainder due upon our arrival. Even though her cancellation policy clearly states that there will be no cancellation fees since we cancelled well before our intended arrival she still withheld 100 euros as an "administrative fee" for all of the work she had to do. After several emails back and forth, she eventually refunded us an additional 50 euros but still not the full amount of our deposit. What started off as a very amicable relationship turned quite nasty in the end. We decided to cut our losses and thank our lucky starts that we will not have to deal with this woman ever again.

Date of stay: July 2011
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5  Thank Yakster007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2011

One time and never ever again.

The house is O.K.
Besides one point. ANKE...

I was very surprised, because other reviews about the owner where all positive.
But the lady is not very friendly.

Attention. please ask Anke before you arrive how to proceed, because after we arrived she was very, very unfriendly!!!!

The first word: you are too late. You didn´t inform me exactly about your arriving time.
And her face. She looks very very unhappy and unfriendly.
(after reading some reviews, we was not the only one!!!!)
We apologized a lot of times, but no chance to calm Anke.

The sun was shining and she don´t like to wait for the people.
But we didn´t speak about arrival time.
From 14 o´clock is mentioned on the page.
We arrived at 15:30.
What did the word "from" mean??
The only thing we had combined was, to phone 20 minutes before arriving.

Me and my wife where not happy and we didn´t feel good the 4 nights we spend there.
Anke show us the house and informed about the RULES!!

"Attention with the doors. don´t crack doors, close everything, don´t forget to switch of the lights..." And what a sound she used. unbelievable.
I felt if my mother was talking with me, but I´m over 40 years and this was not O.K.

The house is very old. You can not feel free, because Anke lives above and you can hear every word and evey step. (also at night until 1 - 2 in the morning)
The terrasse is o.k. but if it rains you can´t sleep, because the rain will
fall over the roofing (plastic) and we couldn´t sleep. such a noise.

On the 2nd night a neighbour starts with noise at 6:30 in the morning.

The bathroom stinks (no window) and the house was not very clean.

Hairs on toilet and on the bed.
A lot of mosquitos. closed armoires...

Sorry. for 150 euro/night it´s much overrated.

The bikes for 10 euro/day are very old and we didn´t use them
They didn´t look safe.

Sorry Anke, but you have to learn to talk with your "clients" otherwise you will
not have any chance for long time.

By the way. Everytime we left the house she was surprisingly on the road.

Anytime she asked us to write a positive review. Sorry Anke. It was not good.

For 600 euro we deserved better, and friendlier.

We can´t recomend. Amsterdam is a beautiful city and we will come back, but not to
Anno 1685.

Never again.

Sorry, but our impressions are that Anke is only behind the money...

Date of stay: July 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mrxrot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews