We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Could not be better” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Greenwoods

Greenwoods
Ranked #29 of 3,557 Restaurants in Amsterdam
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$20
Cuisines: Cafe, European, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Centrum
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Could not be better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Found this place by chance after exploring the Jordaan area. The menu looked simple and it had a full english breakfast so we thought we'd try it. The wait was a little long as there is 1 cook and it is always busy. The fry was beautiful. Warm food, tasty and cooked to perfection.
It was so good we walked 25mins the next morning from our hotel to get another. We had the scone with clotted cream as well this time and it was amazing. If im in Amsterdam again I will be coming again.
The staff must be given special notice also for their friendly and extremely helpful manner

  • Visited March 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Bastogne44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,026 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,380
    524
    79
    26
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A Quaint Place with Outstanding Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2012

The concierge at our hotel recommended Greenwoods for lunch. Our best meal in three days in Amsterdam (the others weren't bad I might add) and a delightful experience. A small place on Singel overlooking a canal (of course), it seats 24 (estimate) inside and we had to wait ten minutes outside (four tables there) for a table to come open. Well worth the wait. A staff of three young women...one cooking in an open kitchen where you can see her do her thing and two support staff taking order, delivering meals, busing tables and washing dishes and utensils, and taking payments like a well-oiled machine. All were very pleasant. And the food was simply outstanding and well prepared. The English soda bread is a MUST. Go, visit and enjoy.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank bchaloux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Devon clotted cream in the 'Dam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

After reading about this place on here my wife an I made the effort to seek it out on a cold Sunday.
It is small, and when we arrived the waitress apologised that they had no tables inside but we could wait at an outside table and she would get us when one became free. The tables outside had nice fluffy blankets if you wanted to sit there, but in less than 5 minutes we were called in.

We had the cream tea, and my wife had a hot chocolate, made with real chocolate flakes in hot milk (she said it was lovely).

The menu said Devon clotted cream and we joked that it was Langage (which is from Plymouth). Whilst enjoying the lovely scone and plentiful jam/cream I spotted Langage clotted cream for sale.
How bizarre that in a teashop in Amsterdam there was a little taste of home.

Overall the food / drink is lovely, reasonably priced and also gets brownie points for the cream....make the effort to find Greenwoods you won't be disappointed.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikePPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Byfleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A taste of home in Amsterdam”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Lovely British-run cafe with a great selection of rustic cakes and sandwiches. Had a couple of afternoon teas here whilst living in Amsterdam and they really hit the spot!

EUR 15 as I recall, for home made soda bread (yum!!) with smoked salmon and cream cheese, a massive scone, jam and clotted cream, more finger sandwiches and a massive slice of home made cake (and a pot of tea, of course). Rustic, and really, really good!

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MrPenguins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great British Breakfast”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2012

Very yummy. Got the smoked salmon and eggs then a scone with clotted cream - soooo good! And my boyfriend got the british breakfast with bangers and baked beans, he thought there could have been more food on the plate.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank SarahNova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Greenwoods also viewed

Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
Amsterdam, North Holland Province
 

Been to Greenwoods? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing