We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (227)
Filter reviews
227 results
Traveller rating
112
60
25
19
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
112
60
25
19
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews arc restaurant beautifully renovated hotel most comfortable hotel bed amstel river excellent shower upon check great hotel hotel bar reception staff city tax checking in minute walk nice room on arrival enjoyed our stay tram stop stayed here for nights
Filter
Updating list...
125 - 130 of 227 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This trip was my Christmas present from my wife. On arrival the hotel IT system was down, but they were happy to take our bags and we went to try the bar for some lunch. Bar is really nice, very friendly staff and a good selection of wines and spirits which they served quickly and correctly. When we returned later the IT system was partially restored and we were shown to a superb room, spotlessly clean and everything you could wish for on a short stay. The bed was the most comfortable hotel bed I can remember. The reception staff were again very helpful, making a great few suggestions for us to try. We aim to return soon.

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 754bobk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaAMS, Reservations at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a fantastic review regarding your recent stay at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside.
We are glad you enjoyed the quality of service we provide.
Thank you for your very kind comments.
We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back in our Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Team Pestana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Great hotel with excellent facilities including a Spa with indoor pool. Close to centre and trams. Rooms are spacious and extremely comfortable. Staff very welcoming and helpfull. Great decoration and a good bar for light meals and drink.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank 314PauloS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaAMS, Reservations at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear Paulo,

Thank you for taking the time to post such a fantastic review regarding your recent stay at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside.
We were delighted to learn you had a very enjoyable time with us!
Thank you for your very kind comments.
We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back in our Hotel.

Kind Regards,
Team Pestana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights with 2 children (7 + 9) and extended family.

We had prepaid our stay, but upon checking in, they requested full payment again and then, after this was solved, a quite large deposit. Also, there was extra for the children and a city tax. The hotel sent us information about this before we arrived, but still check in seemed a bit unprofessional.

The rooms are nice with modern decoration and furniture. Good beds. Quite spacious for a city-hotel. However, few places to hang clothes and towels - “too modern” design to be fully practical for us. Specially the shower in the middle of the room seems to take up a lot of space - and stretch privacy. Also, the cleaning and housekeeping is not up to standards. The hall was not vacuumed once while we were there - saw the same items lying on the floor throughout. Also our room was not vacuumed - but understandable since we were quite cramped in the room.

The spa was nice, the children enjoyed the pool and the sauna. Also ok gym. All very clean and nice. New towels and bath robes - very nice.

The door to the sauna was broken, but no one seemed to notice.

Friendly staff in general. However, breakfast is not included and when you have to pay 25€ a person, you expect this to be a good and professional experience. Not so. Understaffed and a bit harsh. Food ran out and when asked to refill they replied that they where just that - understaffed and did their best. Would have been understandable for a day or two - but not for five days/mornings in a row. Also, the cheese is dry and left out way too long. Not fresh. Fruit and juices very fresh.

No good alternative for having breakfast close by, if you have children.

If you need this: No baby chairs in the restaurant/breakfast room.

Check out was a disaster. Again, they started out by asking us to pay the full amount for our stay again. After almost 20 minutes of discussion we sorted it out. Very unprofessional.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank LMCO72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaAMS, Reservations at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and views with us. At Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, we take our guests’ feedback seriously as this is the only way we can truly measure and continuously improve the service we provide to our guests.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the unsatisfactory service you have received from some of our staff. I have discussed the issues you mentioned with the entire team and corrective action has been taken to prevent this from happening again. We always strive to provide the highest quality to our guests and hope to welcome you soon again.

Warm regards,
Team Pestana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Nice Hotel that touches a 5 star concept but is a 4 star hotel. Enterance is clumsy, unclear and hard to access staff is friendly but not managed well as they give an impression that everything is a little bit new and strange. Nice additional hotel for amsterdam, but when they attempt to raise prices too high they will miss the boat for sure and will be for sale within one year.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Pestana Hotel Group
Thank seeadrianvl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaAMS, Reservations at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for your review. We do take guest feedback very seriously as we are always looking for ways to improve upon guest experiences. I will certainly share your feedback with the relevant head of department to ensure we maintain the highest standards of service at all times.
We hope we may welcome you soon again.

Best regards,
Team Pestana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Weekend break to this fairly new hotel. Recently renovated which matches our taste. Location is good and close to most popular places in the area "de Pijp". We stayed in a Junior Suite (corner room). Great room, high ceilings and a great bathroom. Beds comfortable too with automatic curtains a nice touch. Valet parking available for € 20 per night which is a good deal considering on street parking is € 5 per hour. Some staff seemed keen others very shy and seemingly under confident in representation and offering hospitality. Breakfast offering is above average. Areas for improvement; 1) minibar was"complimentary" but it only held two small bottles of softdrink and one small bag of M&M's. 2) Although our reservation stated breakfast would be € 21, this is a pre-booked rate. This was not explained to us when making the reservation over the phone and quoted as the price with our option to decide to have breakfast during our stay. During checkout we were charged € 25 per person. When challenging the staffmember, he sort of shrugged his shoulders with awkward silences. On a bill of a few hundred euros I would have expected he would have easily waived the € 8 difference but this was not the case. Shame as it made the experience slightly less accommodating and professional. Hopefully they will learn and improve. The setting is great, it just needs some warmth from the staff.

Room Tip: Junior suite
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Globalguest100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PestanaAMS, Reservations at Pestana Amsterdam Riverside, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2018

Dear guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We regret to learn that you were not satisfied with certain aspects of the staff service.
We obviously failed on this occasion and for this we must apologize. Please rest assured that we will do our best to improve our services to ensure every stay is a most enjoyable one.

It´s through guest feedback such as yours, that we can confirm our strong points, as well as identify any area that may require improvement. Therefore, your feedback has been extremely important and gratifying to us.

We sincerely hope to demonstrate the improvements that will be made, by having the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Sincerely,
Team Pestana

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews