We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay!”
Review of Hotel Van Gogh

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Van Gogh
Ranked #145 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Rennes, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great stay!”
Reviewed 29 February 2012

This was only my second experience with a hostel but it was amazing!! Room was kind of small for 4 sets of bunk beds but it was still comfortable. Beds and room were cleaned every day. Safes were provided in the room for each bed. Luggage room was available on the first floor but we felt comfortable with our room mates so we didn't even use it. The bathroom was so big and shower was new with great shower pressure. Staff at the front desk were very helpful. Really enjoyed our stay!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sherbert_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

895 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    235
    416
    156
    45
    43
See reviews for
76
140
154
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

This hostel looks actually like a hotel.it is very clean and in our shared bedrooms we had safes to look our valuable things. everyday they make the beds and you get clean sheets and towels.we didn't have breakfast there but you can get one and pay separately for it. it's just next to the van gogh museum, so very in the center of the city.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annie_nn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in January 2012, having been booked-in by my office and billed as "it will be a nice experience for you" . It is smack in the middle of the Museumplein, so very central and within (mostly walking) distance of all major 'sights' in the city. The hotel/hostel is situated on a very quiet 'pedestrian' side street; though, facing a primary school building so there are children playing in the street during play-times in the day....but that was nice. The street itself runs off one of the the very chi-chi 'Bond Street - type' roads famous in Amsterdam; so leave wallets behind if taking your partner shopping !!
My single room, facing onto the back of the hotel, was quiet, beautifully-decorated (with a large Van Gogh mural on the wall behind the bed, of course), clean, and fully furnished; including brand-new (shower) bathroom & fittings, flat-screen TV, lift access to 4th floor etc There is WiFi throughout the hotel and the #5-Euro breakfasts are in a communal area next to the lobby with all the standard 'help-yourself' foods and facilities of any major hotel in the city. Only difference is that guests have to put away their trays and used items; which is a fun 'change' from the fussy performance of the normal 4*/5* hotels where I normally stay; and where the breakfasts can cost up to #80Euro's !
Being a hostel - even if a classy one - most residents are young (late teens/twenty's) so the atmosphere is 'buzzy' but civilised. The front-desk staff are efficient, rather than overly friendly, but this is fine, and they are very helpful about transport & tourist information e.g telling me how to get a #4Euro bus-ride to the airport ,vs #50Euros by taxi !! The latter price is what I paid for the room per night!
All-in-all, this is a 'gem' of a place to stay in Amsterdam as long as you are prepared to be a good friendly human being; rather than a 'stuffy' tourist, or on a Valentine's date with your loved-one.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Traveller07_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
224 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2012

Stayed here over the weekend of the Amsterdam Marathon in October last year (2011). I have stayed in a lot of hostels and this was a very nice one, looks like it's been recently refurbished.
There was a group of 12 of us so we booked two of the private dorms (6 people in each). We arrived a little early so couldn't check in straight away, but we could leave out bags in the luggage room. The beds (bunks) were clean and comfortable, and the en-suite shower room was clean and looked quite new. Some hostels I have stayed in they only gave out two keys for the room, but here they gave each person their own keycard so that we didn't have to co-ordinate keys if people wanted to go and do separate things during the day. The breakfast is €5 extra but well worth it, there is a good choice (bread, croissants, cheese, cold meats, yoghurt, tea, coffee, juice, cereal, boiled eggs) and it's buffet so you can take as much as you want (though they don't like people taking things for lunch - we got away with it on the odd occasion). The staff were helpful and there were maps and tourist attraction details at the desk. There are a couple of computers with free internet access in the lobby (didn't take laptop so no idea what wifi was like). The location is great, really close to Vondelpark (beautiful for a morning jog), Van Gogh museum, tram stop and buses. I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Volkshotel
#40 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,206 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Mevlana
Hotel Mevlana
#317 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Qbic Hotel Amsterdam WTC
#100 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#266 of 365 in Amsterdam
3.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Dutch Design Hotel Artemis
#115 of 365 in Amsterdam
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Van Gogh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Van Gogh

Property: Hotel Van Gogh
Address: Van de Veldestraat 5, 1071 CW Amsterdam, The Netherlands (Formerly Vincent Van Gogh Hotel Amsterdam)
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier) , Museumplein
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #145 of 365 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Van Gogh 3*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Vibrant Ventral Location & Young Vibes , Affordable Comfort!Situated in a top spot at Amsterdam city centre, the most vibrant centre for art, fashion and culture, 3 major World Famous Museum at your doorstep: Van Gogh Museum & Rijks Museum, Stedelijk Museum. hotel is fully air-conditioned, guest kitchenette available. hotel attracts lot of young travelers who enjoy comfort and quality accomodation, yet affordable rate. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Van Gogh reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing