We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Canal House Amsterdam
Ranked #249 of 375 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 1 October 2017 via mobile

Very intimate and personal service. We were very happy with this hotel, stayed two nights, location very good.
Staff exceptional, nothing too much trouble. The breakfast was better than we expected, all types of cereals, fruit, dried fruits, cheeses and breads. Very happy and would definitely recommend this hotel. Just perfect .

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (46)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 46 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017 via mobile

Revisited after nearly two years and just as wonderful. Stylish conversion of a lovely Canal House with striking dark interiors. Booked an 'exceptional room' and it was. Spacious, very comfortable, peaceful and well equipped with a view across the beautifully designed and maintained garden. Very friendly staff and efficient and helpful reception. Nothing too much trouble. Good breakfast buffet. Highly recommended.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Jon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

If you like mass tourism and standard hotel rooms, the Canal House is not for you. This is a very unique boutique hotel with a stylish, cosy design that totally matches the modern/ traditional feel of Amsterdam. The building itself is one of the old originals with creaking floors and slanted walls and many of the old furnishings found a place in the modern design. The rooms are not huge, but well planned and stocked with all that a luxury hotel should offer. Including air-conditioning. Of particular note is the beautiful and well tended garden out back with its tea pavilion that is a blissful retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city. The location was perfect for us in the trendy but peaceful corner of town but only a short walk (or bike ride - use the hotels' bikes) away from the main sights. The staff were great also, providing us with last minute tickets to the Anne Frank museum (saving us a 3 hour wait) and to the Rijksmuseum (saving as 2 hours' line there also) and providing wonderful tips on what to do and where to go.
Absolute clear recommendation for a romantic weekend away. We loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank German_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

I highly recommend this hotel experience. Stayed two nights at the Canal House and loved it. I live in Las Vegas and I know what great hotels experiences are all about and the Canal House is a place I would stay at again. My room was exceptionally classy, sexy cool, and comfortable which is very important when walking all through the city all day and into the night. Very hot shower and wonderful bed and linens. The breakfast was top notch and this always makes the experience of staying an appreciated treat. Location is perfect and two blocks from the Anne Frank house. The lobby and dined area are modern classy. I jumped in a cab for a 10 min ride into the center of town and easily walked back to the hotel after exploring the city. I added two photos of the exterior to show the beautiful scenic area you first encounter when heading out to see the city. You will enjoy your stay here , highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of a group of three couples, booked through BA Holidays. Fantastic location, we walked everywhere - 15 mins from station, 10 to Dam Square and 20 to museums, but despite being so central, was very peaceful with some canal views and lovely garden. Rooms are very stylish tho some are up very steep winding stairs so not perhaps accessible to all. Very well equipped, great bathroom. We had room one, the old kitchen complete with fireplace and cooking pots, tho you do hear breakfast set up above early in morning. Breakfast buffet was included and was very good, we also added cooked items on some mornings - eggs Bene, avocado on toast, waffles etc. Nice bar for pre dinner drinks and night caps and some great restaurants close by. We had a late flight home and were able to keep one room after checkout at no extra charge. Would definitely recommend the Canal House.

Room Tip: Room 3 has ground floor canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nja29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Red Light District (De Wallen)
Hotel Internationaal
Hotel Internationaal
#185 of 375 in Amsterdam
278 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Hotel Nadia
Hotel Nadia
#97 of 375 in Amsterdam
4,063 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Canal House
Canal House
#21 of 375 in Amsterdam
695 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Times Hotel
The Times Hotel
#183 of 375 in Amsterdam
480 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
The Hoxton, Amsterdam
#11 of 375 in Amsterdam
1,344 reviews
Centrum
Hotel Hoksbergen
Hotel Hoksbergen
#240 of 375 in Amsterdam
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canal House Amsterdam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canal House Amsterdam

Address: Brouwersgracht 124, 1013 HA Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#77 Romantic Hotel in Amsterdam
Price Range: €98 - €234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 333
Also Known As:
Canal House Amsterdam Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing