We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (51)
Filter reviews
51 results
Traveller rating
25
13
5
4
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
25
13
5
4
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmodern designstayed two nightswonderful hotelanne frank houseperfect locationcanalcity
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 51 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2017

If you like mass tourism and standard hotel rooms, the Canal House is not for you. This is a very unique boutique hotel with a stylish, cosy design that totally matches the modern/ traditional feel of Amsterdam. The building itself is one of the old originals with creaking floors and slanted walls and many of the old furnishings found a place in the modern design. The rooms are not huge, but well planned and stocked with all that a luxury hotel should offer. Including air-conditioning. Of particular note is the beautiful and well tended garden out back with its tea pavilion that is a blissful retreat from the hustle and bustle of the city. The location was perfect for us in the trendy but peaceful corner of town but only a short walk (or bike ride - use the hotels' bikes) away from the main sights. The staff were great also, providing us with last minute tickets to the Anne Frank museum (saving us a 3 hour wait) and to the Rijksmuseum (saving as 2 hours' line there also) and providing wonderful tips on what to do and where to go.
Absolute clear recommendation for a romantic weekend away. We loved it.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank German_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2017

I highly recommend this hotel experience. Stayed two nights at the Canal House and loved it. I live in Las Vegas and I know what great hotels experiences are all about and the Canal House is a place I would stay at again. My room was exceptionally classy, sexy cool, and comfortable which is very important when walking all through the city all day and into the night. Very hot shower and wonderful bed and linens. The breakfast was top notch and this always makes the experience of staying an appreciated treat. Location is perfect and two blocks from the Anne Frank house. The lobby and dined area are modern classy. I jumped in a cab for a 10 min ride into the center of town and easily walked back to the hotel after exploring the city. I added two photos of the exterior to show the beautiful scenic area you first encounter when heading out to see the city. You will enjoy your stay here , highly recommended!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tom G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2016

Stayed here for 3 nights as part of a group of three couples, booked through BA Holidays. Fantastic location, we walked everywhere - 15 mins from station, 10 to Dam Square and 20 to museums, but despite being so central, was very peaceful with some canal views and lovely garden. Rooms are very stylish tho some are up very steep winding stairs so not perhaps accessible to all. Very well equipped, great bathroom. We had room one, the old kitchen complete with fireplace and cooking pots, tho you do hear breakfast set up above early in morning. Breakfast buffet was included and was very good, we also added cooked items on some mornings - eggs Bene, avocado on toast, waffles etc. Nice bar for pre dinner drinks and night caps and some great restaurants close by. We had a late flight home and were able to keep one room after checkout at no extra charge. Would definitely recommend the Canal House.

Room Tip: Room 3 has ground floor canal view.
  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nja29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2016

lady very nice but got a shock when we saw the room, so small and needed major updating, floor was not very clean and the bathroom was pretty disgusting, the shower curtain was disgusting and smelled like urine, we asked for a new one but never heard from the owner, only thing i can say is that it was close to the canal and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank madill01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

No A/C, mosquitoes, very dark rooms. The Canal House fails to meet its promise as a luxury, boutique hotel. The rooms are set in a very unusual and not comfortable way, black walls and floors, along with purple decor give a sad impression and makes it hard for people to feel comfortable. With no functioning A/C open windows let mosquitos fly in, all in all a disappointing accommodation.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank ramaciottiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews