We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but pretty basic otherwise”
Review of B & B 1680

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B & B 1680
Ranked #120 of 343 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 January 2016

This tiny, two room B&B is a pretty easy walk from the train station and is very excellently located in the Red Light District. We were in the white room, which is more of a dingy off-white really. It had a look of being just slightly worn. The bath room was tiny. As others have noted, the stairs are narrow and winding and steep. The bed was actually pretty comfortable, but in this room it's built in to a raised portion of the floor, so it's a bit awkward getting in and out. We only ever met with the mother of the owner, never the guy we booked through, and she was very nice and very helpful. We were able to leave our bags on our last day as we had a later flight and that was great. The breakfast, just as others stated, is extremely simple. The wifi worked pretty well though and there was TV with some English channels. One kind of weird thing was that the housekeeper rushed us out so she could clean. While I appreciate that she wanted to do her job, it was very uncomfortable and kind of inappropriate in my opinion. When she first knocked I gave her our breakfast box (I get you don't want food sitting out for too long) and told her we would be out soon but were getting ready (I was literally in a towel) and then 10 minutes later she was knocking again. I explained again, we would be leaving soon. English was not her first language and neither was Dutch, but I don't think you need verbal communication to understand that if I am in a towel I'm not ready to leave the room yet. It was very awkward. I did, however, peek in to the Black and White room across the hall when it was being cleaned (the guest had left!) and it was like it was in an entirely different place. It was significantly larger, had a real bed, a dresser, didn't look so worn out and was just all around much nicer. If you want to stay here, I would definitely ask for that room if possible. However, I don't think we'd stay here again, even in that room. I think the main draw is the price for the location. It's definitely less than most other places in the area, but it's not a hostel and is clean enough with a private bathroom. So, if that's all you are looking for, this will do.

Room Tip: Choose the Black/White room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TylerAnne78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2016

This is a really lovely little B&B, and very affordable and perfect for couples and young people who want a good, central location. It is bang in the middle of the red light district, with lots of restaurants, bars and coffee shops around you. We had the White Room and were not particularly affected by the noise. The breakfast was simple but just what we wanted and there's a good TV and excellent free wifi. My only criticism of the room would be that while the lights outside our window were very pretty, it meant there was still a lot of light coming in at night, so maybe thicker curtains are needed. Also be prepared for a lot of winding stairs on the way up!

Our flight was severely delayed on the way out and we only arrived to the hotel at 1am, but our hosts were very understanding and waited up for us and let us extend our stay at a discounted rate, which was very sweet of them. We had a really lovely stay and would love to come back.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Tika1994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2015

A nice intimate little place located just on the edge of the red light district, we really loved it. Our room was decorated really nicely and was immaculately clean. The staff were always really friendly to us and allowed to leave our luggage with them before check in time when we arrived early. Perfect a couple's getaway.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank hylianyoshi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 November 2015 via mobile

Great location! Very noisy, but if you want to be in the center of red light district this is a beautiful place to stay! The owners are very nice and accommodating. Highly recommended! Private bathroom, awesome shower and super comfortable bed.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank geguileor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2015 via mobile

Made welcome. Everything we needed in room including a fridge. Let us leave luggage there on last day and made to feel very welcome. Left a breakfast pack of rolls and spreads and coffees and teas. Its basic but all you need. Thanks for a great stay.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank quantrell2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#31 of 343 in Amsterdam
805 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#38 of 343 in Amsterdam
249 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#6 of 343 in Amsterdam
935 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hostelle
#34 of 254 in Amsterdam
276 reviews
XO Hotels Couture
#43 of 376 in Amsterdam
2,031 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B 1680? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B 1680

Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 144, 1012 DV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 343 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: €118 - €255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have an apartment and a room. We live in the front part of the canal house; the apartment and the room are situated in the "backhouse". You will have your own entrance after the hallway. The apartment is designed nicely, has a 2 tv's with Netflix, a nice kitchen and a sleeping sofa! The room has its own bathroom with shower and toilet; TV; coffee/tea facilities You will have a comfortable base for your city trip as it is located right in the center of Amsterdam, close to all major highlights. Situated next to the red light district, you will experience the real old Amsterdam feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your B & B 1680 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bed And Breakfast 1680
b & b 1680 Hotel Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing