We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The White Room”
Review of B & B 1680

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B & B 1680
Ranked #120 of 343 Amsterdam B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 November 2014

We stayed in The White Room for 2 days then moved into The Black Room for 1 night. The White room was in the front of the building and had double windows you could open and watch people mingling in the street below (very quiet when closed). The bed was a bit weird to climb on to (a bit like a platform) but a lot of fun. The staircase leading up to the room was extremely steep and narrow (Dennis carried our bags up). We were close to the Red Light district which was also very interesting and not a problem. Breakfast was left at the door each morning in a lovely tin box. This consisted of fruit, buns, an assortment of spreads and a couple of danishes (very nice). The room was serviced daily and coffee capsules replaced for the machine. We extended our stay for a day so had to move to the Black Room. This was in the back of the building, much bigger and cooler. The B&B is also a designer dress making business and we enjoyed seeing all the different props they had. Eugene even did our washing for us as we could not find a laundromat. However, when we got it back we were 4 socks short...which were found the next day still in the dryer. Internet was great but the biggest bonus was free international calls back to Australia to check on the family. I even phoned my sister in NZ. I have read other reviews which complained about the stairs, hard to find location, no air con. All I can say is. We had none of those issues because we asked all these questions in our emails before we got there.

Room Tip: We enjoyed both rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Lambchop185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (102)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 27 of 102 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2014

We stayed two nights here in October. It was fairly easy to find using Googlemaps. We were able to check in earlier which was appreciated. The room was clean, fair-sized and comfortable enough for our stay. Location was ideal for exploring Amsterdam, literally right by the red light district which was initially a concern but wasn't a real issue once we were there. The breakfast was pretty basic. I've had better in other bed and breakfasts. All in all, should I find myself in AMS again, we would probably look into staying elsewhere as I think there are places that are better and within the same price range but B&B 1680 would still be a possible option (if needed).

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Scintilla85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2014

B&B 1680 is a Family home and that is exactly how we felt....Like Family. Centrally located in the heart of the red light district but do not let this put you off. Its not a problem at all. Just turn right out of the hotel and you are in Dam Square in a matter of minutes.

We stayed in the Room in the Back house and it couldnt have been more perfect. Very Very comfortable bed with quality linens, tea and coffe facilities, TV, fridge, central heating, fresh towels and a free telephone line.

The WiFi is the fastest I have ever encountered......even better than home!

The Bathroom some say is small but we have had much smaller in bigger hotels....and we are not skinny mini's as you all well know......what do you want to do in there apart from shower ? Excellent constant hot water.

Being in the "Backhouse" meant no noise at all, whatever time of day or night....PERFECT!

Eugenie, Dennis and Joost were always around if you needed anything and very friendly indeed.

All in all we can highly recommend staying here because as they say, its all about LOCATION LOCATION LOCATION!

WE WILL BE BACK !!

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LadyDiamondS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2014

We went with this B&B as it was a good price for the location. It was important to us to stay in the centre of Amsterdam and this was spot on for that, right on the edge of the Red Light District. Although it did take 4 calls to Dennis until we arrived successfully! Walking directions from Central Station would've been very useful.

The hosts were attentive, when you could get hold of them, which could only really happen through the front door intercom. The first night was freezing so had to contact them regarding the heating. We could not close the window which didn't really help! We also wanted extra pillows, which were found for us, as only one each was provided.

We stayed in the black and white room which was a fantastic size. Comfy bed and tea and coffee making facilities, including a fridge to store bought foods and drinks in. The free wifi worked perfectly.

My one main issue with it was the lack of anywhere to sit whilst waiting to leave on the last day. We had to check out at 11 and weren't leaving to travel home until 5pm so we had 6hrs to spare without anywhere to pop back to, even to use the loo or something!

All in all a good place to stay but would try somewhere else next time.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Charlotte M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for the weekend of ADE. Very hard to find the hotel as there is no sign on the door. Once found we left our bags as check in was not until 14:00.

Room was fine for what we needed, but the bathroom was very small and the "double" bed was two singles pushed together. Comfy enough though. The breakfast isn't worth bothering about, a bit of fruit and bread.

The only major problem we had was we came away from there covered in bites. Don't know if it was mosquitos or what, but it wasn't very nice. Our friends in the room above didn't have any.

All in all its the best place I've stayed in, in Amsterdam, but that's not saying much.

Stayed: October 2014, travelled with friends
Thank mick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Vondelpark
Hotel Iron Horse
Hotel Iron Horse
#34 of 343 in Amsterdam
806 reviews
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
Parkview Hotel
Parkview Hotel
#37 of 343 in Amsterdam
250 reviews
Canal Ring (Grachtengordel)
B&B Barangay
B&B Barangay
#7 of 343 in Amsterdam
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Jordaan
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
Mr. Jordaan Hotel
#6 of 343 in Amsterdam
293 reviews
Hotel Not Hotel
#27 of 343 in Amsterdam
361 reviews
Hostelle
#36 of 253 in Amsterdam
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B 1680? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B 1680

Address: Oudezijds Achterburgwal 144, 1012 DV Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Red Light District (De Wallen)
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #120 of 343 B&Bs / Inns in Amsterdam
Price Range: €145 - €259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have an apartment and a room. We live in the front part of the canal house; the apartment and the room are situated in the "backhouse". You will have your own entrance after the hallway. The apartment is designed nicely, has a 2 tv's with Netflix, a nice kitchen and a sleeping sofa! The room has its own bathroom with shower and toilet; TV; coffee/tea facilities You will have a comfortable base for your city trip as it is located right in the center of Amsterdam, close to all major highlights. Situated next to the red light district, you will experience the real old Amsterdam feel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your B & B 1680 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
b & b 1680 Hotel Amsterdam
Bed And Breakfast 1680

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing