We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet place to stay in Amsterdam”
Review of Botel Zebra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Botel Zebra
Ranked #283 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Reviewed 20 December 2011

Botel Zebra is located in the harbour area not far away from the city centre (10min walk?). it is - beeing a boat - pretty tiny and so the beds and baths aren't that big, too. The staff doesn't speak much english, but is friendly and helpful with information about amsterdam (food, parking etc.). the boat is clean and the breakfast is good (continental). there isn't much to complain about, except from the stairs that scare the hell out of you when your drunk or in comparable conditions...
It is - as said in the title - a quiet place so you can step back from partying.
There is a common room which is not that comfortable, but you will be straying around in the city anyway. i liked zebra - it gave our amsterdam trip something special.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank callmehans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (107)
There are newer reviews for Botel Zebra
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

36 - 40 of 107 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2011

Very good for the price you pay.
Friendly and helpful staff,
Small but functionally and clean rooms with private bathroom and toilet.
Very good breakfast
Great location.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pjotr77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Had a pleasant stay in amsterdam with amsterdam. The botel is located near the Amsterdam Centraal Station, (10 minutes walk) just look the NEMO science center ( the green shiplike building). The space is clean and cozy. Excellent water pressure (had a nice bath!)

They serve excellent selection of breakfast (cereals, pastries, fruits, and different types of cheese!)

The hospitality is very warm and i had a nice time and will definitely comeback here :)

Experience Amsterdam in a unique way by checking in a botel!

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sunkissedguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Terrible service, filthy rooms, impossible to find, rude staff ... Everyother Boat in Amsterdam is cleaner, friendly and has much bigger beds. DO NOT STAY AT THIS PLACE!!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gordonking5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 10 July 2012

This man was not even inside our botel, he could not not find it because he did not read our mails with directions how to go to the botel. Then he checked in by one of our colleges and now he is very angry that we withdraw the first night of his credit card.
While he was not even inside by us, how can he know about: Terrible service, filthy rooms, impossible to find, rude staff ... Everyother Boat in Amsterdam is cleaner, friendly and has much bigger beds. He did not even see a bed!!!
This is revenge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

We really enjoyed our stay here, i think some of the reviews are very over exagerate. The rooms were small, but there was enough room to get changed, have a shower, and sleep comfortably. The moisture on the ceiling only occurs if the shower door is open or the port hole is not open, this only happened to us on the last day, but my boyfriend and i both had showers everyday and had no problems at all. If you don't want a wet floor - put towels down.

The atmosphere of the hotel was relaxed and really nice, the staff were very helpful and not at all rude. Breakfast is continental as is with most hotels and hostels (this was our 7th visit to Amsterdam), there is a fruit bread, bread rolls, cereal, coffee, tea, orange juice, yoghurt etc.

We thought the botel had a very nice quirky feel and we will be DEFINATELY be booking to stay there again.

Room Tip: Always take extra socks and plasters.
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rach1987_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Amsterdam hotels
Stadsdeel Zuid
Euphemia Hotel
Euphemia Hotel
#264 of 371 in Amsterdam
208 reviews
Amstel Botel
#170 of 371 in Amsterdam
1,858 reviews
Tulip Inn Amsterdam Riverside
#251 of 371 in Amsterdam
757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Museum Quarter (Museumkwartier)
De Bedstee Hotel
De Bedstee Hotel
#188 of 371 in Amsterdam
181 reviews
De Pijp
easyHotel Amsterdam City Centre South
Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied)
Intersail Hostel - Christina
Intersail Hostel - Christina
#68 of 238 in Amsterdam
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Botel Zebra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Botel Zebra

Address: PO Box 2430, 1000 CK Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Region: The Netherlands > North Holland Province > Amsterdam > Eastern Docklands (Oostelijk Havengebied) , Binnenstad
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #283 of 371 Hotels in Amsterdam
Price Range: €72 - €149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Botel Zebra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Botel Zebra Amsterdam

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing