We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (994)
Filter reviews
994 results
Traveller rating
303
495
156
28
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
303
495
156
28
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrain stationwalking distancecasino oppositerented bikesby footsteam roomlocation is excellentbars and restaurantsnice hotelcomfortable bedminute walkstayed here for nightsbusiness tripperfect staythe room was nicerooms are cleancoffee machine
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 994 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2016

My daughter and I spent two nights while visiting my son who is a student of the University of Groningen. Couldn't complain about anything. Staff were very friendly and hotel is in a great location. Will book again.

Room Tip: Room was great for my daughter and I.
Stayed: February 2016, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lifeIsGoodNIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, Front Office Manager at City Hotel Groningen, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2016

Dear guest,

Thank you for your visit to our hotel and ofcourse for leaving this pleasant review. We hope to welcome you again!

Best regards,

Anita Bosgraaf - Front Office Supervisor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2016

Desk staff, very welcoming. Room clean, bed comfortable, small bar and seating area
Excellent breakfast selection. Close to the city centre, 10 minute walk to the train and bus stations for local, regional and international travel.
Would recommend

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Neil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anita B, Front Office Manager at City Hotel Groningen, responded to this reviewResponded 16 March 2016

Dear Neil,

Thank you for writing your nice review about our hotel and the city. You're more than welcome to visit our hotel again when you come back to Groningen!
Kind regards,

Anita Bosgraaf - Front Office Supervisor


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016

It was easy to find the hotel, short walking distance from the train station and just right in the center of the city. It is nearby the casino (if you have to ask for direction), the Ni Hao restaurant (that you can order via the hotel if you need to), and Jumbo supermarket. I stayed one night in a clean, warm, quiet, and small room (but enough space for only me) with a very nice view (small window facing the city) and good facilities (a coffee/tea machine outside the room, free wifi, big & small towels, basic soap & shampoo, and an enjoyable breakfast).

Room Tip: Ask for the room with the city view.
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank maureenmoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2016

The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was nice and quiet with a comfortable bed but in the morning there was nearly no hot water to have a shower. I didn't have breakfast so can't comment on that.

Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gertalexb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2016

We stayed for one night in the hotel, the staff were friendly and very helpful. Our room (211) was facing a brick wall - although the wall was of monumental interest I would chose another room it you want a view! The room was spacious enough for the two of us and the bed was nice and comfy. It was 3 degrees outside but we had the window open and the air-con on and we still felt it was exceptionally warm. The bathroom was a little bit of a squeeze, but had everything you need, including a hair drier. Breakfast was served between 7:30-10:00 during the week and included pancakes, cereals, streaky bacon, scrambled and boiled eggs, yoghurt and fruit. There were also rolls and coissants, cheeses and meats. Pretty much all you need to set you up for the day. The hotel is a 10 minute walk from the bus stop (from the aiport) and railway station and is very easy to find. Although it is in the city it is a few streets away from all the nightlife so it was peaceful all night, even with the window open. There are no tea making facilities in the room but free tea and coffee from a machine on each floor, there's powdered creamer and sugar also available. We didn't have a meal in the hotel but it was 25 Euros per person for a three course meal if you wanted to eat in. There are plenty of restaurants in close promity so you are near all you need.

Room Tip: Avoid room 211 as it looks out onto a wall
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews