We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (634)
Filter reviews
634 results
Traveller rating
166
327
104
25
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
327
104
25
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviews privilege room city centre rooms are comfortable ring road fresh orange juice bar restaurant business trip breakfast selection free wifi highly recommend this hotel nice hotel nice shower reception desk per day one night stay train station double bed
Filter
Updating list...
94 - 99 of 634 reviews
Reviewed 9 August 2015

Our twin room was modern ,spacious and comfortable and the bathroom, although small was functional. Toiletries were supplied and the coffee/tea/hot chocolate tray was appreciated as was the excellent complementary coffee in the lobby at checkout time. The wifi worked well and parking cost €7.50 per day in their parking lot. We did not eat breakfast or dinner as the food was expensive. It was a rather boring 25 minute walk into the city though there is a bus stop not too far away. The whole area is rather boring...no cafes, bars or restaurants in the vicinity. The staff were friendly and helpful. It was value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank inge999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

Dear Guest,

It's nice to read that you had a enjoyable stay in our hotel. For a future stay I can also advise
to use public transport or one of our rental bikes to access the city center.

Thank you for sharing your opinion on Tripadvisor.

Kind regards,

Rick Haandrikman
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2015

nice hotel with excellent staff especially merrel (excuse spelling ) food was really good rooms were clean and spacious and the lobby was very pleasant. only downside was limited parking but this was to be expected.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ryan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I will share your kind words with our team.

Kind regards,

Rick Haandrikman
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2015

Near Motorway. About 25 mins walk to City Centre, 20 to station. 5 Mins on No6 Bus fare €2.00 one way. About 30 mins walk to football ground .Very friendly staff and nice public areas, The room was a good size with tea/coffee making tray.The bed was very comfortable and bathroom excellent. Our breakfast which was part of our deal was a good as it gets wide range buffet..Free Wifi in rooms and public areas.The bar is open to 01.00. Even though it is by the Motorway the road sound was not invasive. All in all a very good hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sirleeolgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay in Groningen and in our hotel.

We hope to welcome you again on your future trips to Groningen.

Regards,

Rick Haandrikman
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2015

I like this hotel very much. The stuff was very kind and ready to help. Room was well decirated with comfortable bed. Location is a little bit far from the center (I suppose abot 30 minutes by foot). Hotel parking is availiable for 7,5 EUR per day, in the residence near by the hotel you can park for free from 9pm till 9pm,

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank x-ostar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for rating our guest service as Excellent! We are happy that you have enjoyed your stay in our hotel.

Regards,

Rick Haandrikman
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2015

Fine hotel, friendly personnel, good location near the highway, although 10-15 minutes walking from the city center. Also check the restaurant, they have some nice food although it's a bit expensive. The rooms are very clean and up-to-date; there's a (paid) parking next to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank vktrsss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rick H, General Manager at Mercure Groningen Martiniplaza, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2015

Dear Guest,

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us. It's always nice to receive positive feedback!

We hope to welcome you again in Groningen.

Regards,

Rick Haandrikman
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews