We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
75
112
35
12
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
112
35
12
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sports hotel one night modern hotel apple pie hoge veluwe national park conference facilities sports centre great facilities nice bar operation market garden city centre sporty beds retreat bikes dryer muller
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 12 September 2018

Hotel prices in the Netherlands are very high so for the price I paid I should have known what to expect. The rooms are very basic, like student dorms with a private bathroom but they are clean but my room was very worn, damaged paint, leaking shower, damaged sink, window would not close etc. Clean towels every day and if you need a budget location to sleep for a stopover or two days in Arnhem to do a WW2 tour then recommended. There were a lot of corporate events on at the time I stayed so my tip, go to the bar (the Dug) and turn left, look as if you should be there and you know what you are doing and then you can use the conference facilities, there are desks and seating areas which is the only place you can sit unless you want to use the bar. Bar prices are average £5 a half pint but breakfast was extorniate at almost £20, my advice is to give it a miss if you paying yourself or try and get a deal on the price. There are plenty of other places for coffee and a pastry.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HyddaMedras
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2018

Great facilities, comfortable bed, totally modern and breakfast was vast with a brilliant choice. Staff were very friendly and welcoming. The grounds of the hotel are a secluded woodland with a long but very doable and lovely walk into Oosterbeek.

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank McCloggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2018

Seven members of our family stayed at this hotel. We used it as a base for taking part in the Airborne Wandeltocht. Very modern, great facilities, friendly staff and whilst a taxi or 'bus ride from the centre of Arnhem an ideal place to stay. We all enjoyed the food. The apple pie was incredible. Good range of beers! Many of us played pitch & putt. As you move from your rooms, and pass reception, on your way to the dining areas, the hotel has marked out on the floor and walls the 1968 world record long jump of 8.9m+ of Olympian Bob Beamon. As you can imagine the temptation to have a go yourself was too hard to resist! Overall, a marvellous hotel.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank John J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018 via mobile

Modern, sporty hotel, 15 minutes away (car/taxi) from Arnhem city centre.

Room are clean and modern.

No kingsize beds available and the shower is in the middle of the room. When you are able to shut down the climate system, the room is very quiet even when you open the window. Breakfast is good and many sportive activities can be done in the area.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank BigPetw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

My wife and I just stayed in this hotel for a weekend and have nothing but good to say about it. It’s a modern hotel that caters for everyone but is clearly built for sporty, outgoing types, that said the whole area is nestled amongst acres of woodland, is amazingly peaceful yet near enough to Arnhem for great city life, the staff are friendly, helpful plus the hotel and rooms are kept immaculately clean, the beds are comfortable, shower’s good (very modern: in the room itself behind glass walls) the breakfast was great, more than enough choice to please everyone, we thoroughly enjoyed ours overlooking the golf course. We usually pick older, cozier hotels but this modern, sleek lined retreat was so nice we’d be back in a flash if we ever go that way again ..good value for money.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Kevin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Papendal1, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Papendal, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2018

Thank you so much for your kind review and so good to hear that you had a great stay with us. We do hope you come back whenever you are in the neighbourhood.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews