We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a fantastic place to stay”

Review of The Grange

The Grange
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Grange
Fully equipped modern kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
6 reviews
The Grange
Fully equipped modern kitchen
Games Room
Hurdlow Grange
A short stroll to our Award winning pub The Royal Oak
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
7 Bedrooms, 7 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Hurdlow, Peak District National Park, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Christine...
Luton, United Kingdom
1 review
“What a fantastic place to stay”
Reviewed 27 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This is a lovely warm and comfortable holiday home. It is an excellent base for exploring the Peak District. The house is well equipped with everything you could need and the staff are welcoming, friendly and helpful. I would recommend a meal in the Royal Oak pub which is also excellent.
We went there with friends and family to celebrate my husband's 60th birthday, and it was a great base for the celebration.
The games room in the basement was a hit with children of all ages in our group.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The house
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GillRoyst...
Royston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“What a find, wonderful accomodation.”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I could move in here tomorrow & be very happy. Lovely property, tastefully decorated throughout. Very well kept & exceptionally clean. Very well equipped kitchen. WiFi once connected was fast & constant. Tranquil surroundings, very safe for dogs & children. The Grange itself would be suitable for small children but the only thing I would say is that a baby gate would be useful between the kitchen & the cellars.

The cellar hides a pool table & darts board; & in an outbuilding there is a table tennis, darts & table football. If the weather is poor plenty to keep you occupied.

Big BBQ pit provided but the outside furniture possibly needs re thinking. Difficult to accommodate 13 people on 2 picnic benches.

Overall this is a place that we would be happy to go back to again.

Oh could do with tea towels in the kitchen.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it.
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramana48
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
“Absolutley fabulous in every sense of the word- beautiful surroundings, very comfortable rooms, peaceful and best place”
Reviewed 30 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

If anybody needs peaceful and relaxing time I recommend Hurdlow grange cottages. They are situated in great location remote from busy town but not too far away. Rooms have all the facilities of a 5-star hotel. Best place for family get-together and has all the facilities of self -catering holiday, nice walks on the country roads, open grounds for children to play. If the weather is nice and warm it is heavenly. A visit to award winning Royal oak pub is a must- food is absolutely amazing. I recommend strongly. The owners are kind and understanding. The rates are very reasonable.
Ramana Alladi.

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrea G
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant Venue for gatherings of all sizes.”
Reviewed 19 July 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We had a perfect weekend for my Daughters Hen Party using both the Grange and the Cruck,d Barn to accomodate 22 ladies, it suited all our needs for outdoor space to take advantage of the beutiful weather and the Barn was ideal for the evening parties and a Life drawing lesson!.
We also dined at the Royal Oak which is only a short stroll down the lane. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend the properties , Iam sure we will be returning soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: upper floor bedrooms were too warm but the weather was exceptionally hot
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 10 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space and cleanliness
Liked least: the weak wifi signal but it still worked!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing