We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Lowest Bar in The World
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Kalia
Restaurant details
Reviewed 28 July 2018 via mobile

We visited the Dead Sea area. After getting into the Dead Sea we decided to sit in the bar. It overlooks the Sea. The location is where we and others entered the sand, so it is a great location to watch the people get in and out of the sea. It also is a nice place to get in the shade. When we were there it was getting busy and only 1 person was working cash register so it was pretty slow service.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank CRMays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (22)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 22 reviews

Reviewed 4 July 2018

You're 1200 feet below sea level and under a desert sun; the heat is oppressive and your body is crying out for refreshment - and here's this covered but open to the air bar advertising itself as the lowest in the world. In fact, it is the most welcome - the couple beers I drank there seemed to be the best I've ever had. It offers all types of drinks and fruit drinks at moderate prices. You're welcome to sit at any of the dozen or so tables and try to cool down with your drink. Remember: don't drink to excess - you have to climb back up to the level where your transportation is waiting.

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cyreese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2018

Ironic, isn't it since it prides itself of being the lowest bar in the world ;) It's presence in Kalia beach is so welcome - the nice expanse of the Dead Sea visible from the bar was a sight to behold.

And after walking for some time under the noon day heat of the sun, just the sight of the lowest bar is a welcome respite. The design is open and cool, and they serve coconut water in the shell!

But I have high standards in anything coconut, so I decided to just have cold water and orange juice (my friends had beer). I wondered where they get their coconuts though. Our guide informed us that Israel grows Philippine mangoes. What, really?

She pointed us to a green patch of the Jordan dessert where dwarf mango trees were clustered in protective cover as though something really precious. Instead of letting mango trees grow to towering heights, Israeli agricultural experts trim the trees periodically so they will grow horizontally (not vertically as we do in the Philippines), to make it easier for them to harvest the fruits. Clever!

They want to grow pineapples next. So maybe growing coconuts in the dessert might not be too far off an idea. Next time we visit the lowest bar, they might be serving us coconut liqueur from coconut trees they themselves grew!

Date of visit: February 2018
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Leah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2018

Amazing view, great food, and great team - our World Class Wedding Venues team enjoyed our visit at the Lowest Bar in the World.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank WCWV-WeddingVenues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

This is the lowest bar in the world. But besides this, it's a nice bar in the beach of the Dead Sea.

Date of visit: December 2017
Thank szubotinpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lowest Bar in The World also viewed

Sweimah, Dead Sea Region
Dead Sea Region, Jordan
 
Sweimah, Dead Sea Region
Almog, Dead Sea Region
 

Been to Lowest Bar in The World? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing