We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (144)
Filter reviews
144 results
Traveller rating
80
50
11
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
80
50
11
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews zip lining suspension bridge self drive horse riding oribi gorge day trip peaceful weekend families with small children cycling trails facilities include awesome views clean accommodation whole family zipline tour lots of fun south coast kwazulu natal
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 144 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2021 via mobile

We enjoyed a lovely day with friends at Lake Eland. Stunning scenery and the walk up at hells gate was painful lol. Only issue is the toilets are not good at all. We stopped at so many and they were untidy and unclean

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank abeda7866
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2021 via mobile

First stop was brunch at the restaurant. Besides the breathtaking view, the service of the restaurant staff was impeccable. They were friendly and so helpful. We chose the table by the window and enjoyed the beautiful scenery. The food was devine and servings huge. We truly got value for our money. If anything I would suggest maybe getting a choice of Almond Milk for their coffees for the odd ones who's allergic to diary.

All Covid Protocols were in tact. The rest room was crisp and clean.

An absolute must stop.

Date of stay: December 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Alli_Wanderings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 January 2021

We had booked at this establishment to enjoy a peaceful weekend away. The reserve is breathtaking beautiful and the activities are awesome. We stayed in a 5 sleeper chalet located on the edge of a pond. While the location was stunning, unfortunately I had a few issues that let this establishment down for me. It was hideously hot on one of the days and sadly no air-conditioning available in the chalet. We were miserable! The only relief was to get in our car and drive around for most of the day. Given the KZN climate surely air-cons should be considered? The fan in the main bedroom was extremely noisy and the 2nd bedroom didn't even have a fan. The couches in the living room are horribly uncomfortable to the point you can't sit on them for too long. While I certainly wasn't expecting luxury accommodation,sadly basic comfort was lacking.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Departure571424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2021

Our company was looking for accommodation for 14 people, from the first phone call to leaving three days later, the service was nothing short of 5 stars. Packed lunches, to arranging braai dinner for each person. There was never a problem to accommodate us !! I will be returning on personal holiday and would recommend it !!

Room tip: rooms on the dam very comfortable and peaceful, the rooms at the top have great view
Date of stay: January 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotty_Moncrieff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2020

We recently spent a weekend camping with the kids down at the lake campsites. The sites down at the lake are all spectacularly situated right along the grassy banks of the lake. Each site has it's own gazebo structure with a built in prep table which is an ideal addition for shelter and convenience. The sites themselves are relatively compact and so are ideal for 1x family or 2x small families. However all the sites are adjacent to each other so it is also very conducive for a group booking for multiple sites. There is no electricity down at the lake campsites which makes this a legitimately ideal camping experience. However the common ablutions and boma just behind the sites are fantastically clean and well kept and you can grab a hot shower courtesy of the self-serve donkey boiler. An extra addition to the campsite area the rustic fisherman's cottages just behind the camp sites which are great options for anyone not willing to camp, but wanting the privacy and tranquility of the lakeside experience. In terms of activities, there is a multitude of options right down at the lake, as well as within the entire reserve. from hiking and cycling trails, self-drive adventures and fishing to the zip-lining and gorge bride. In general, a visit to Lake Eland is a must for any young family and I cant recommend the lake campsites highly enough. We will certainly be back.

Date of stay: November 2020
Thank Bedindin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews