We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding Anniversary Dinner on 25.6.2016, we had reserved a Dinning Table for 2 at 19.30. ”

Restaurant Pavillon
Ranked #18 of 2,166 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$75 - US$100
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Pavillon, Baur au Lac's recently refurbished restaurant, features fresh and modern cuisine within an environment that effortlessly fuses contemporary and classic style. Head Chef Laurent Eperon creates an artful combination of traditional ingredients and flavors with creative and innovative preparations, and he, along with the Pavillon, was recently awarded his first Michelin star. Chef Eperon and the Pavillon also hold 17 GaultMillau points. The Pavillon is open year-round Monday through Friday and on Saturday evenings, and can accommodate up to 64 guests.
Reviewed 26 June 2016 via mobile

We drove in with our car at around 19.30, we were welcomed with a smile and with open arms, our car was parked by the staff and we proceeded to the Pavillon Restaurant for Dinner! What a welcoming Ambiance, staff, table decoration, a glass of house Champagne Philipponnat was served as a starter! Perfect and good service, excellent food... We were melting away and not forgetting the last surprise from the kitchen( a house made dessert to our wedding anniversary) lovely

Thank Monie0278
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Restaurant Pavillon, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2016

Dear Monie0278,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to share your recent experience at our restaurant Pavillon on Tripadvisor.

Your positive feedback about our staff, the welcoming ambiance and excellent food puts a smile on our faces. It is a nice compliment and exactly how we want to be deemed by our dear guests. Thank you for this motivating acclaim.

Our Chef Pastry is very happy that you enjoyed the home-made dessert for your wedding anniversary.

We hope that we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. We wish you all the best.

Best regards,

Aurélien Blanc
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (258)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 56 of 258 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2016

This place is amazing, good food, good service, ideal garden view, variety of food is rich The place is unique and very sunny

Thank jijilamoroso13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Inhaber at Restaurant Pavillon, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2016


Dear jijilamoroso13,

Your kind feedback is much appreciated and we would like to thank you for having taken the time to share it with us.

We are always striving for perfection and therefor it makes us very happy to learn, that you were fully satisfied during your visit. With pleasure we will share your kind words with the entire team.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Kind regards,

Aurélien Blanc
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2016

The dining room is beautiful. It is round, and interestingly the acoustics allow for easy eavesdropping on conversations from the opposite side of the dining room. Unfortunately, the amuse-bouche was the best part of the meal, but it was spectacular. My wife's first course wwas stuffed morels. She didn't like it and asked for something else. The server appeared to be in disbelief. He asked us if we had had morels before. I was about to say "yesterday," but my wife was too polite for that. They did bring another dish, which was better.

I had duck, which was reasonable but not at a Michelin star level. Also, I had to ask my server for a water refill. After that he was very attentive to the water. I guess it isn't his fault completely. The glass had purple strips, and it is hard to see how full it is without being directly above it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anil V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Restaurant Pavillon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Dear Anil V,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review here on TripAdvisor.

My name is Aurélien Blanc and I am the Restaurant Manager from the Pavillon.

We aim to provide a truly memorable restaurant experience with outstanding food and emotional and engaging service. Please accept my sincere apology for this shortfall. I would welcome the opportunity to talk about your recent experience in order to obtain more details and to identify the areas for training needs. Please indicate a convenient time window with an email to the following address: info@aupavillon.ch.

Your satisfaction and well-being are of most importance to us and we hope to rectify your impression on the very next occasion. I am awaiting your feedback with anticipation.

Kind regards,
Aurélien Blanc

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2016 via mobile

This uber up scale restaurant offers Zurich outsiders a chance for a special treat - the restaurant's setting is right on the lake front adjoining a canal and the Hotel BAUR au Lac gardens, sets the tone.

A few tables spread in a semicircle offer privacy and prepares the diner for a luxurious experience.

Make sure you are prepared to pay... It's expensive even for Swiss standards!

Thank xrhea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Restaurant Pavillon, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2016

Dear XRhea,

On behalf of the entire Pavillon team, I would like to thank you for your kind comments and for sharing your experience. It makes us very happy to learn, that you fully enjoyed your recent stay and that you were happy with the service and the atmosphere.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to the restaurant Pavillon whenever your travels bring you back to our beautiful city.

Kind regards,

Aurélien Blanc
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2016

Firstly the good- lovely charming dining room. Lots of room between the tables. Very attentive, friendly efficient service, although the sommelier was not concerned at all by my criticisms of the wine. Now for the not so good. We both had the tasting menu with one of us having the wine pairing. The bill including discretionary service was 500 Euros for which we would expect a memorable experience. The wine pairings were idiosyncratic, cheap,seemingly random wines without connection with the food. For example a dry acidic Riesling with the foie gras. A truly awful Sauvignon blanc with the mushrooms. A way too young alcoholic Spanish Ribera del Duero overpowered the veal. No sweet wine with the dessert. I reviewed the main wine list in detail before our visit and as a whole it contains a bunch of mediocre and overpriced wines. Hardly a single bottle of wine rated as above average by any wine critic. The sommelier suggested some extra glasses since I was not enjoying the flight, for which he charged extra at the end. Not good. The food was immaculately presented, looked great, very small portions but hey it's a tasting menu and we ate our way through 2 bread baskets to make up. However the food, while technically good, lacked any real passion or wow factor, little depth or intensity of flavour, no especially interesting or new flavours. The foie gras tasted like deli pate. The mushrooms with goat cheese sauce were bog standard mushrooms and the goats cheese sauce a bit pale, thin and acidic. The wild seabass was a nicely cooked square of the fish, crispy skin, no sauce. The veal was also presented in curiously similar square shapes, tender but not full of flavour and was accompanied by a thin crayfish sauce, underpowered. The cheese board was just the usual culprits, we had Comte and Roquefort all good deli stuff, nothing particularly interesting. The orange and chocolate dessert was actually pretty good. The bread basket was full of the usual bread culprits, sliced pieces of loaves you would find in any bakery. In summary, very disappointing at this price despite the very good service.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Grahame C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Restaurant Pavillon, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2016

Dear grahame c,

The Pavillon team would like to thank you for your comment on TripAdvisor. We are always very pleased to hear our guest’s feedback, which helps us to continuously improve.

It makes us sad to read that your expectations were not met during this visit and please accept our apologies for the shortcomings. Your constructive feedback helps us to identify possible weaknesses of our services and products.

As we did not have a chance to hear of your detailed feedback during your visit, we would appreciate having an opportunity to learn more about your observations. This would also be an opportunity to explain our invoice and that we did not charge the additional wine. Could you kindly send me an email to: a.blanc@aupavillon.ch and let me know under which telephone no. and time I could reach you. I would truly appreciate if you could spend a few minutes of your time as this would be very helpful for us.

We hope you will give us the opportunity to welcoming you soon again and to convince you of a true Pavillon experience.

I look forward talking to you soon.

Kind regards from Zurich,

Aurélien Blanc
Restaurant Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant Pavillon also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Restaurant Pavillon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing