We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Veg Paradise!!”
Review of Haus Hiltl

Haus Hiltl
Ranked #45 of 2,070 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$59
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Buffet, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: According to "Guinness World Records" Hiltl is the first vegetarian restaurant in the world. The company was founded in 1898 by Ambrosius Hiltl and is now run by the fourth generation of the Hiltl family. It offers around 500 dishes and includes, in addition to the a la carte restaurant and Hiltl buffet, self-service and takeaway, a bar-lounge, a club, a cooking studio and a shop...
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The paradise of vegetarians, Hiltl is an institution in Zurich (and not only), there are 2 options to eat, Buffet dinner (extraordinarily provided and quality) or the a la carte menu, I previously tried the Buffet and I was very satisfied, this time I wanted to try the menu at the table, I started with a tartare (based on Aubergines), interesting, as a main dish I chose the Züri Geschnetzeltes really good and tasty, small but interesting choice of wines by the glass that accompanied the dishes well, the service was a bit 'cold as the place is always very crowded, price in line with what I chose.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ziltoid76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you Ziltoid76 for your positive review and we hope to welcome you back soon at Haus Hiltl (including warm service ☺).
Our best,
Jenny & Hiltl-team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

8 - 12 of 3,169 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Found this gem of a restaurant while on a business trip in Zurich. I took my (non-veg) colleagues here as well, and they absolutely loved it! It can get a bit pricey, so be aware of how much food you put on your plate in the buffet (it is tempting to get everything). Highly recommend checking this place out if you like a wide variety of food.

Thank Jay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you Jay S and we hope to welcome you back soon,
Jenny & Hiltl-team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Love the place for its vegetarian bits. I always take the buffet with fresh salads and jalapeños. I would not recommend the Indian choices though, as there are enough other authentic Indian Restaurants in Zurich. It's the perfect place to grab something light to eat and in the summer you can also sit outside. Def. one of my favourite spots in Zurich.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank angela d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much angela d for your positive feedback about our fresh and homemade food offer. By the way, all our Indian dishes are inspired by grandmother Margrith Hiltl's journey through Asia in 1951 and perhaps you'll give the Indian choices another chance :-)

Our best,
Jenny & Hiltl-team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This restaurant has been around for many years and before vegetarian food was in but has always produced excellent food. It always seems to be full and the food is replenished constantly so its fresh and tasty. The variety of food is really good so there is something for everyone.

1  Thank ivyCharlotte4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you ivyCharlotte4 & hopefully see you soon at Haus Hiltl,
Jenny & Hiltl-team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Excellent Food and lot of choice and is very good for vegetarian. Recommend. Fill the plate and pay at the counter as per weight. Same as HILTL in Zurich.

1  Thank Vipin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hiltl_GuestRelations, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Haus Hiltl, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you Vipin G & see you soon at Haus Hiltl,
Jenny & Hiltl-team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Haus Hiltl also viewed

 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to Haus Hiltl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing