We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“old style solid hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Ranked #14 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol
Level Contributor
162 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“old style solid hotel”
Reviewed 13 December 2011

umbrellas provided in the room was a bonus, breakfast ok and a good nights sleep had although the curtains didn't do much. The bathroom was out dated and grey as was the service.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CSN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperaZurich, Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thank you for writing this comment. We are glad to hear that you had a good nights sleep, all our beds are equipped with electrically adjustable high quality mattresses. We would like to apologize that you got one of the four not yet renovated bathrooms. Since we are a historical building, each of our rooms is of different shape and size and has a different interior. The bathroom that was in your room is first in line for our next renovation project.

We hope to be able to welcome you once back with us.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

413 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    253
    126
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
60
137
47
123
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2011

We had room 36. The room was clean and modern. The bed and pillows were very comfortable, the linens lovely and crisp. Hotel staff was nice and helped us through an internet connectivity issue.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VanillaThunda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperaZurich, Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, 12 January 2012
Thank you for your nice comment. We are pleased to hear that our staff could help you with your internet connectivity issue and that you had a pleasant stay with us. It was great to read that you especially liked our beds as well as the pillows and the linens. We are looking forward to welcome you once back with us.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

We love staying at the Ambassador hotel! The location is centrally located, yet is quiet. The rooms are beautiful and the beds are a dream. They provide all the amenities to make your stay enjoyable including a nescafe espresso machine in the room. You get the views of lake Zurich and easy access to the altstadt (old city). Great restaurants nearby and is right across the street from the Opera. I would highly recommend staying here and look forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views. Both the single and double rooms are nice depending on your needs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperaZurich, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, 1 November 2011
Thank you very much for taking time to write this beautiful comment about our hotel. We are delighted to hear that you loved to stay in our Hotel Ambassador. It was especially nice to read that you liked our rooms and our beds which are all equipped with electrically adjustable, high quality Treca mattresses. We would also like to thank you for your comment about our location next to the opera house, the lake and very close to public transportation access. It is a pleasure to hear that you would highly recommend our hotel and we are looking forward to your next stay with us.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 October 2011

Very good hotel 50 m from the Opera, very friendly staff, big enough rooms with every detail (even Nespresso!)

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Juan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperaZurich, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Thank you very much for your nice comment about the friendliness of our staff, the size of our rooms and our location right beside the Opera and in the heart of Zurich. We hope to welcome you again in our Hotel Ambassador.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York
1 review
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The hotel did not overlook any details. Rooms are large and tastfully decorated. Staff are helpful, professional and truly interested in my happiness. A great value - don't pass it up!

Room Tip: All rooms in this hotal are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickkern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperaZurich, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Thank you very much for your very nice comment about our hotel Ambassador. We are pleased to hear that you liked our large rooms and the decoration as well as the professionalism of our staff. We were very happy to read that your stay with us was a great value. We hope to welcome you once back with us.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#13 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
Opera Hotel
#42 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#18 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 748 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#5 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Seefeld
Lady's First Design Hotel
Lady's First Design Hotel
#16 of 139 in Zurich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera

Property: Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Address: Falkenstrasse 6, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#10 Family Hotel in Zurich
#14 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#17 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its unique location in the heart of Zurich, the Hotel Ambassador a L'Opera situated ideally on Lake Zurich has charmed guests for many years. The old town, the world-famous Bahnhofstrasse, the renowned Opera House, and the train station Stadelhofen with direct Airport link within 16 minutes are all just a few steps away. The privately owned boutique hotel in Zurich's Seefeld district is part of the former Uto Castle, which was built in 1898 in the neo-baroque style, and its unique roof terrace offers guests an exclusive retreat with breathtaking views of the Alps and Lake Zurich. The 45 comfortable and very individual hotel rooms, with complimentary WiFi and many other high-quality amenities, make for a memorable and eventful stay in Zurich. The electronically adjustable beds in all the rooms round off the hotel's offering and guarantee guests optimum relaxation coupled with a luxurious and restful night's sleep. The gourmet Restaurant Opera - winner of various awards - is a true haven of culinary delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotel.de, ACCOR, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing