We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly memorable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Ranked #13 of 139 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York
1 review
“A truly memorable hotel”
Reviewed 26 September 2011

The hotel did not overlook any details. Rooms are large and tastfully decorated. Staff are helpful, professional and truly interested in my happiness. A great value - don't pass it up!

Room Tip: All rooms in this hotal are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rickkern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperaZurich, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Thank you very much for your very nice comment about our hotel Ambassador. We are pleased to hear that you liked our large rooms and the decoration as well as the professionalism of our staff. We were very happy to read that your stay with us was a great value. We hope to welcome you once back with us.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

420 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    257
    129
    25
    5
    4
See reviews for
61
141
47
124
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (58)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Stayed here with my husband for 2 days. Lovely hotel with very helpful staff. We had dinner in the hotel restaurant and it was excellent....much cheaper than some of the other " Swiss " style restaurants in Zurich. We were sorry to leave!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ANITAP54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperaZurich, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, 30 September 2011
Thanks for your comment about the friendliness of our staff and the value for money in our Restaurant Opera. We hope to welcome you once back with us.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
115 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

Centrally located near tram and train and lake. Easy to and from the airport. Outstanding staff, exceptionally clean and comfortable rooms. the front desk staff is ready and willing to answer every question and help with directions. My only wish is that there was a small fitness center....but walking or running along the lake is a minute away.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Macrosantafe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperaZurich, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, 5 September 2011
Thank you very much for your comment about our Hotel Ambassador. It is a pleasure for us to hear that you enjoyed the location, the friendliness of our staff and our rooms. We are delighted to inform you that we have next to the mentioned possibility of jogging at the beautiful lake promenade an agreement for reduced entry fees with a fitness center at the Bellevue Place (3 min walking distance) with a nice view over the lake and the city. We would be delighted to welcome you once back with us.

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
new york
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2011

Very comfortable, well-appointed, spacious rooms, first-rate staff, excellent location. If you can afford it, book it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank getwhatyoupayfor80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperaZurich, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, 16 August 2011
Thank you very much for your nice comment and also that you already stayed the second time in our hotel! It is great to hear that you were again completely satisfied with everything and that you would recommend our hotel to other travellers. Many thanks for your loyalty. We are looking forward to welcome you back in our hotel Ambassador!

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New york
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Nice boutique hotel in the opera district inZurich. With the prices in the city so high, it was refreshing to find this little gem of a hotel, great beds, welcome drink when you arrive and nicely appointed room. There was even a welcome cocktail party for guests the night we were there. The staff was very helpful and friendly, and the good night chocolates were terrific. Would definitely recommend this to anyone staying in Zurich. Bonus is that it is just 2 blocks from the local train station meaning that we didn't have to negotiate our way through the Zurich main station which can be overwhelming.

Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Susiiequesie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OperaZurich, General Manager at Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera, responded to this review, 9 August 2011
Thanks a lot to write this comment about our hotel Ambassador! We are glad to hear that you liked your room and the bed (equipped with high quality mattresses and electrically adjustable) as well as the friendliness of our staff.

The guest cocktail you experienced while staying with us is held at the end of each month for all our guests from the hotel Ambassador and our partner hotel Opera. If the weather allows it the cocktail party takes place on the roof top terrace with an amazing view over the lake of Zurich and the city.

It is our pleasure to hear that you experienced our boutique hotel as a small gem in the heart of Zurich and that you would recommend our hotel to anyone staying in Zurich.

It would be great to welcome you once back in our Hotel Ambassador!

Best regards,

Rudolf E. Zehnder
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Seefeld
Romantik Hotel Europe
Romantik Hotel Europe
#17 of 139 in Zurich
359 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 139 in Zurich
840 reviews
Old Town
Storchen Zurich
Storchen Zurich
#4 of 139 in Zurich
737 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Old Town
Hotel Adler
Hotel Adler
#18 of 139 in Zurich
761 reviews
Opera Hotel
#63 of 139 in Zurich
324 reviews
Zurich Marriott Hotel
#19 of 139 in Zurich
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera

Property: Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Address: Falkenstrasse 6, Zurich 8008, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Seefeld
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#10 Family Hotel in Zurich
#13 Luxury Hotel in Zurich
#17 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With its unique location in the heart of Zurich, the Hotel Ambassador a L'Opera situated ideally on Lake Zurich has charmed guests for many years. The old town, the world-famous Bahnhofstrasse, the renowned Opera House, and the train station Stadelhofen with direct Airport link within 16 minutes are all just a few steps away. The privately owned boutique hotel in Zurich's Seefeld district is part of the former Uto Castle, which was built in 1898 in the neo-baroque style, and its unique roof terrace offers guests an exclusive retreat with breathtaking views of the Alps and Lake Zurich. The 45 comfortable and very individual hotel rooms, with complimentary WiFi and many other high-quality amenities, make for a memorable and eventful stay in Zurich. The electronically adjustable beds in all the rooms round off the hotel's offering and guarantee guests optimum relaxation coupled with a luxurious and restful night's sleep. The gourmet Restaurant Opera - winner of various awards - is a true haven of culinary delights. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotel.de, Hotels.com, ACCOR, HotelQuickly and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ambassador Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing