We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (698)
Filter reviews
698 results
Traveller rating
376
247
58
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
376
247
58
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews design hotel wooden floors wellness area rooftop terrace steam room quiet neighborhood tram stop breakfast was delicious opera house lovely hotel no air conditioning third floor the room was nice nice stay breakfast room enjoyed my stay three nights
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 698 reviews
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

We stayed in the largest room on the third floor, a Junior suite. It was not very suite-like but it was large, so good for spreading out and sorting stuff out on arrival in Europe. The neighborhood is quiet, unlike the floor of our room which was very creaky, and the creaks were very loud. One could not make it 10 feet to the bathroom with out creaking so loudly that one woke one's partner. This rendered the self-serve coffee service very welcome for an early riser who let his wife sleep in. Breakfast (which cost $15 PP) was excellent with a good selection of fruit, cereals, meats &a cheeses and toast and scrambled eggs.

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank mickmacs007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamZurich, Deputy Hotel Manager at LADYs FIRST Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2017

Dear michmacs007

Thank you very much for choosing our hotel and taking the time to review your stay. We are happy you like our services and the location. We must admit, our wooden floor has a bit of a history and it isn't made to be "unhearable".

We would be happy to welcome you back at our place.
Warm regards
Martina Flück

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

A very comfortable hotel with excellent, helpful and friendly staff. The staff answered all of our questions before we arrived via email, and during our stay, assisting with planning public transportation routes and even troubleshooting an after-hours arrival and printing problems for boarding cards. Location great, near walking path around the lake, #4 tram, and even Utoquai outdoor swimming area. Beach bags were available to borrow. I traveled with my daughters aged 11 and 13 and we were welcomed with robes, chocolates and a small stuffed toy. Was concerned as they provided ear plugs, but the location is very quiet - only the parquet floors are creaky.
It is an older, charming hotel, so we expected such quirks. Triple room had 3 single beds - perfect. Excellent shower, and nice clean bright bathroom. The girls felt very safe on site, and we very much enjoyed the rooftop terrace. One small complaint only - in room wifi (Room on 3rd floor) was not reliable, so we sat in the lounge near reception to catch up on emails etc. Suggest they offer a lighter duvet or two light layers instead of heavy one - in the heat of summer, even with opened windows and fans provided, we did find it a bit warm for sleeping. Would very happily stay here again.

Room tip: Lift works well, and stairs are nice and wide. No A/C so may be uncomfortable if very warm outside, though windows open and fans provided.
Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cydney E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamZurich, Deputy General Manager at LADYs FIRST Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2017

Dear Cydney E

How nice to get your feedback! We are very happy you liked your stay so much! It was a pleasure to have you here - next time it might be you and your husband ;-)

Sunny greetings
Martina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2017

Back again after 10 years and loved it just as much as the first time. Access to the river is so easy. Love being a little out of the way but still close to everything. The restaurant across the street is so yummy!

Date of stay: July 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank cerfergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamZurich, Deputy Hotel Manager at LADYs FIRST Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear cerfergirl

Oooh, we like your feedback! Thank you very much! We are happy you liked your return trip and hope it won't take you 10 years again ;-)

Sunny greetings
Martina Flück

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2017

Perfect location, friendly staff and an amazing masseur!

I felt I was missing out big style on the rooftop spa! It split the family up bit baffled by this.

The quality of the rooms was amazing and I would defiantly go again if they changed the policy

Room tip: I think there all nice
Date of stay: August 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SteveGat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamZurich, Stv. Betriebsleiterin at LADYs FIRST Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Dear SteveGat

Thank you for choosing our hotel and your detailed feedback! We are happy you liked our hotel and services.
We hope to see you again - who nows: maybe even on the rooftop ;-)

Warm regards
Martina Flück

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017

We stayed only one night as we were making our way north through a number of European cities. The location is a little away from town and the train station, but near the tram stops and lake which for us was ideal. It was a very comfortable walk from the hotel down the lake into town.

The staff is very nice and easy to work with. Beds were very comfortable, the room was ample size for 3 people, and it was quiet at night. If we were to make it back to Zurich, we would definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank brandonf148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TeamZurich, Deputy Hotel Manager at LADYs FIRST Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2017

Dear brandonf148

Thank you very much for staying with us and taking the time to review your experience. We are very happy to hear you liked our hotel and its surrounding!
Keep enjoying travelling and exploring nice hotels. If you come back to Zurich one day: You are very welcome to stay with us again!

Warm regards
Martina Flück

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews