We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent hotel and close to everything”
Review of Altstadt Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Altstadt Hotel
Ranked #105 of 138 Hotels in Zurich
Reviewed 20 May 2017 via mobile

This really well located in the Altstadt as per the name but walking distance to everything. Breakfast is also really good to get you going. Only negative was that the little Thai restaurant staff next door make a ruckus as they close after late trading. Super friendly staff and best rooms.

Stayed: May 2017
Thank FoodCritiques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (109)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 109 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

Pros: modern, clean, amenities
Cons: not within walking distance of Zurich HB, staff not offer much information about Zurich nor were enthusiastic about their city.

Over all this hotel is great place to stay.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Nick L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2017 via mobile

The room is small but comfortable
Small tablet in the room for internet but free wifi is included
Room is clean and newly appointed
Great staff and light breakfast included
No stationary
Each room is themed to a writer but my rooms writer is all in German but the thought is nice
I would definitely recommend this hotel

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank utt959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2017

We are a family of 4. We stayed at this hotel at the end of December. Small hotel, in the center of the old town, close to everything and a short walking distance to tram stations, super-markets, shops and attractions. Rooms are not big, but we were surprised since they were bigger than we expected for such a location. The rooms are spotlessly clean, very tidy and in great condition. Breakfast is very good, with a big variety. Prices are typical to Zurich. What is great about this hotel are the people behind it. We had some health issues and they were so helpfull with everything! Thank-you so much for helping us and letting us feel at home. We will defenetily come again when in Zurich.
Almagor Family

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sharon - Yaniv A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2016 via mobile

Stayed at this hotel for two nights during the Christmas season. It is conveniently located in the old town and is very clean and modern. Unfortunately, there were just too many things about it I didn't like, so I cannot recommend it to you in good faith.

One, the room (44) was tiny. Other than in Paris, this is the smallest double room I have ever stayed in.
Two, it was expensive. Ok Zurich is always going to be expensive, but this was definitely not a good value for money hotel
Three, it was noisy. Even though the location, in a small side street, looked like it was going to be quiet, we could not open the window at night because of the noise from the tramway and all the drunk young people coming back from partying in the old town.
Four, we are not big people, but we could hardly move about in the bathroom, it was that tight.
Five, there was a distinct lack of human warmth in the staff. They were efficient, but not friendly, and certainly lacked in the smile department. It was a bit disconcerting to feel like we were disturbing the staff when we went for breakfast.
All in all, I give the hotel high marks for cleanliness and even in design, but low to very low marks everywhere else. There are better hotels in Zurich. Don't waste your money here.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Genevakerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
Old Town
Marktgasse Hotel
Marktgasse Hotel
#59 of 138 in Zurich
195 reviews
Old Town
Hotel Helmhaus
Hotel Helmhaus
#10 of 138 in Zurich
917 reviews
Hotel Wellenberg
#60 of 138 in Zurich
658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Rossli
#41 of 138 in Zurich
330 reviews
Seefeld
Small Luxury Hotel Ambassador a l’Opera
Enge
Hotel Glaernischhof
Hotel Glaernischhof
#12 of 138 in Zurich
499 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altstadt Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altstadt Hotel

Address: Kirchgasse 4, Zurich 8001, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich > Old Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#65 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: €157 - €270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Altstadt Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Altstadt Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altstadt Hotel zürich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing