We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant, but so expensive”
Review of Sorell Hotel Rex

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sorell Hotel Rex
Ranked #35 of 137 Hotels in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 July 2010

The Rex is a very comfortable experience, but the cost is out of all proportion to the surroundings, so it is not good value for money. The Rex was the last of about 15 hotels, guesthouses and BnBs I stayed in in a holiday in Switzerland and Germany. It was one of the best, but also by far the most expensive.

Ther is a better value for money in nearby hotels.

I felt misinformed when I booked in by phone and I believe I was told the wrong price. I got the best room in the place, it seems, and paid a fortune for it. I'll know better next time - ask all the questions first.

I also feel the hotel is misleading when it says it is in the middle of Zurich, and within walking distance of the main attractions. It is not, though in fairness there is a good, frequent tram route at the front door.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RT111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

200 - 204 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2010

Very good value for money. Only few minutes from centre by tram.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jussihelsinki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

I booked this hotel because of its good recommendations, but I want to stress that the noise in the room that I got (room 202 on the second floor) was not worth it. I usually sleep well, but this was too much: Not only did the room shake every ten minutes or so because of the trams riding outside, but I was even more disturbed by the noise from the other rooms. I felt like three elephants were living in the room on the next floor, or maybe the people were moving furniture? Also, the noise of the shower and hairdryer from neighbouring rooms was annoying. I read in previous reviews that there could be noise, so I brought earplugs, but frankly, they did not help against the noise from the other rooms.
For the rest, the hotel was ok, although I have been treated friendlier before and I did not like that the staff did not clean the table during breakfast so that I spent 20 minutes with the dishes from the last guests.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soja_joghurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Nice little hotel in a quiet neighborhood within walking distance of the downtown. Staff was helpful and pleasant, room clean, no complaints.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtAndFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2010

Me and my wife we have stayed for 2 night for our long weekend trip in Zurich.

The hotel is located 3 tram stops from the main train station with tram no 7.

There 2 tram lines you can use from the city to the hotel and vice versa, no 7 & 15.

Also you can take Tram no 10 for Airport as the stop is 2 mins walk from the hotel.

Location of the hotel is ideal in a nice are and if you et a room on the higher floor as in our case ( 4th floor ) you will
have a great view of the city and the lake.

Staff are really friendly and always willing to assist. Even they had offer to us early check in.


The room was spacious and really nice decorate and with a comfortable mattress
which is what you want in order to have a nice sleep after a long day walking around the city.


Breakfast is really nice offering cereals, jams, variety of fresh baked Bread and ham and cheese. All the product offered in the breakfast are of good quality and really tasteful.

The rooms rates was really good compared to other similar hotel in the city.

Same as other cities in Swiss, Zurich is not a cheap destination!!!

Definitely we recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ROULA-THANOS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zurich hotels
0.5 km away
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
Hotel Krone Unterstrass
#17 of 137 in Zurich
843 reviews
0.6 km away
Bristol Hotel Zurich
Bristol Hotel Zurich
#41 of 137 in Zurich
1,041 reviews
0.7 km away
Hotel Montana
Hotel Montana
#47 of 137 in Zurich
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Coronado Hotel
Coronado Hotel
#25 of 137 in Zurich
435 reviews
2.9 km away
Swissotel Zurich
Swissotel Zurich
#33 of 137 in Zurich
2,308 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Continental Zurich - MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sorell Hotel Rex? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sorell Hotel Rex

Address: Weinbergstrasse 92, Zurich 8006, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Zurich > Zurich
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#21 Family Hotel in Zurich
#37 Romantic Hotel in Zurich
#56 Business Hotel in Zurich
Price Range: €115 - €206 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sorell Hotel Rex 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A small but intimately managed house, a real gem in the heart of Zurich, right next to the ETH and the university. This has already impressed a lot of guests: the Sorell Hotel Rex scores with its 4-star ambience at 3-star prices. And in the perfect location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sorell Hotel Rex reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rex Swiss Quality Zurich

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing