We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baur au Lac
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Adler(Zurich)
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$370
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$374
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$218
US$213
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Mercure Stoller Zurich(Zurich)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bristol Hotel Zurich(Zurich)(Great Value!)
US$206
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$240/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

H+ Hotel Zuerich(Zurich)(Great Value!)
US$151
US$146
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$269
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (773)
Filter reviews
773 results
Traveller rating
644
82
26
9
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
644
82
26
9
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrolls roycegrand dameleading hotels of the worldconcierge staffgrand hotelfive star hotelclassic hotelroom serviceswiss hospitalityjunior suitefamous bahnhofstrasselake viewfantastic hotelpillow menuthe location is perfectfavorite hotelzurich lake
Filter
Updating list...
426 - 431 of 773 reviews
Reviewed 1 June 2012

Zurich is probably the most expensive city in Europe - so if you are visiting then be prepared. We have been there before so knew what to expect - and this hotel is probably the best one there.
Here you are paying for the peerless service, surroundings & location. The service is really old-school hotel - the staff are highly trained & professional. The dining options here are excellent - and sitting out in the terrace area looking onto the garden is a wonderful experience. The breakfasts in the restaurant are truly special - it is really a lovely place to sit & start the day.
The only area I found a little lacking were the rooms. We had two - one of which had been allegedly recently renovated. My room was nice - if a little bland. And the tv/entertainment unti comes up for special mention - it was a pain to operate. It took a while to get going & then had to navigate through countless menus - a real pain when you just want to turn on the tv & watch some news.
The other room we had (Room 343 so you can get this fixed please!) had allegedly been recently renovated. It was of a slightly higher standard but the air-cond was a shocker - it made fhe most dreadful noise - sounded like an old plane! It was mentioned by my mother to reception within hours of checking in & wasn't fixed. But thankfully at 82yo she is quite deaf so wasn't too fussed about it. if it had been my room I wouldn't have put up with this at all.
Maintenance does seem to be an issue here - I noticed the carpet join near the slight ramp next to the lift on the 3rd floor had threads showing & the bed spread in my room (309) had some pulled threads on it that had been badly re-sown in a slightly different colour. In any other hotel this would not be mentioned - but when you are paying around 900 euros per night you expect the finer details to be covered.
Am I being too fussy? Maybe - but at a place like this the devil is in the detail. I am sure after this review is posted that these will be fixed immediately. It's a shame I had to mention them though.
It is definitely worth staying here - but only if money is no object. Am sure they will no doubt iron out the little details I mentioned - but they are what is holding me back from giving it 5 stars.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WalterBW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2012

Dear WalterBW,

First of all allow us to express our appreciation for taking the time to share your stay at the Baur au Lac in such detail on tripadvisor.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you feel that the Baur au Lac is the right choice of hotel in Zurich.

Your insightful comments have been discussed with our team, who were delighted to know they contributed to the positive experience you enjoyed with us.

The negative yet constructive feedback about the rooms was of course also studied, and again we thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. As assumed we have already taken the necessary measures. We hope that the mentioned concerns will not keep you from visiting us once more on a future occasion. It would be a great pleasure to welcoming you back soon.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2012

If I had more than 5 stars, this would probably be the only property to deserve it. I have been coming to Zurich every year for the past 18 years. Sometimes I have been in the city twice a year. Always it has been the Baur Au Lac. It is where i feel at home. The staff's attention to detail is exceptional legendary. Always courteous, friendly and always wanting to put the needs of their customers first. Their discretion is legendary and also is the concierge's wealth of knowledge.Ver
Baur Au Lac can never fail. The food and rooms are superb. The hotel has an excellent location just seconds away from the shopping paradise of Banhofstrasse and the banking centre of Paradeplatz. The hotel is also minutes away from the beautiful Lake Zurich.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask for Raja, Jeremy, Mario and Khaled. Their expertise is legendary and will never fail to recommend a little gem in Zurich. People who like views can ask for a room facing the lake or those who like peace and serenity can ask for a room facing the canal. Baur Au Lac- Timeless and Elegant.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yp1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2012

Dear yp1900

Thank you very much for sharing your positive comments about the Baur au Lac with on tripadvisor, it is a true pleasure to read your review.

We are delighted to know that you feel at home at the hotel and that you have been considering the Baur au Lac for many years. It is through kind and encouraging comments like yours that our team is constantly motivated to offer the best of care to each and every one of our guests. Please rest assured that your comments will be distributed to our team. It will definitely brighten their day.

We are very much looking forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Baur Au Lac has excellent team; they always smile, helpful, warm and welcoming. They do their best to make our stay smooth and pleasant. It’s a pity they didn’t have badges with the names so I could thank them personally.
The room was good, but a little noisy at night, I expected it to be calm because the hotel is surrounded with a nice green area, but our windows looked to the street.
It’s nicely located very close to the shopping area and in the walking distance to the Zurich Lake.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RussianSouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2012

Dear RussianSouth

Thank you very much for posting your “Baur au Lac experience” on tripadvisor.

We are happy to learn that you have thoroughly enjoyed your time at the Baur au Lac. With great delight we have read your comments about our employees.
Please rest assured that your post will be distributed to our team. It will definitely brighten their day!

For your next stay, we would love to accommodate you in a quiet room to the canal side or to the inner court yard. Please do let our reservation department know about your preferences.

We are very much looking forward to your next visit.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2012

Stayed here many times over the years . Always top service , lots of atmosphere and good restaurants and bar . A jr suite facing the canal is prefferd , regular rooms are on the small side .
Location is perfect , close to lake, shopping and business.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jetlaggad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2012
Google Translation

Sehr geehrter jetlaggad

Besten Dank für Ihr nettes Feedbak auf Tripadvisor.

Es freut uns sehr, dass Ihnen Ihr Besuch im Baur au Lac gefallen hat und Sie sich wohl gefühlt haben. Zudem möchten wir uns herzlich bei Ihnen, für die dem Baur au Lac entgegengebrachte Treue, bedanken. Ihre netten Worte geben wir gerne an unser gesamtes Team weiter.

Wir hoffen sehr, Sie bald wieder bei uns in Zürich begrüssen zu dürfen

Mit freundlichen Grüssen

Ihr Baur au Lac Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2012

What a dissapointment for the Spring to arrive and a chance to sit and enjoy lunch on the terrace of the renowned Baur au Lac hotel unfortunatley that as far as it goes , the service as always is excellant but the menu is very boring and does not seem to meet the requests of most of the guest, I thought after last year it would have gone from strength to strength but apparently not .Someone I suppose the chef has sat down and thought what can I do that suits me is quick ,convienient and sounds good well Sir you lost ,boring chicken with a broccoli crust and broccoli puree which part of your imagination did that come from .
You have opportunity to make the terrace and its menu a sensation for the senses and the taste buds and you failed ,i hope some one takes note and can avert a disasterous summer mistake.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Robert M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2012

Dear Robert M

Allow us to express our appreciation for taking the time to share your Rive Gauche terrace experience with us. We are delighted to read that you were satisfied with our service. Your compliment has been passed on to our service team.

The negative yet constructive feedback about our menu was of course also studied, and again we thank you for bringing these matters to our attention. Please be assured that we put in a lot of effort to create the current menu items. The goal was to create bigger variety and high quality dishes. The general response of our guests so far is very positive. We will however make some adjustments to the menu in the near future. Please rest assured that your comments will be taken into consideration during this process.

We hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews