We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$166
US$161
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$237
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$221/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$113
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$277
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Flag Zurich(Zurich)(Great Value!)
US$116
US$107
Official Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$161
US$136
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$170/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Swissotel Zurich(Zurich)
US$213
US$163
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Mercure Stoller Zurich(Zurich)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$121
Mercure
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$197
US$192
MGallery
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$724
US$531
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (798)
Filter reviews
798 results
Traveller rating
668
83
26
9
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
668
83
26
9
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrolls roycegrand dameleading hotels of the worldgrand hotelconcierge staffin room diningfive star hotelclassic hoteljunior suiterooms are beautifulroom serviceswiss hospitalityfantastic hotellake viewpillow menuthe location is perfectfavorite hotel
Filter
Updating list...
454 - 459 of 798 reviews
Reviewed 30 January 2012

If you can afford the price this hotel is an amazing experience. Perfectly located on the shore of the lake, Zurich's business district is small enough so that it's all in walking distance. My favourite moment was watching the concierge conduct 5 conversations in five minutes in flawless German, French, Italian and English switching effortlessly back and forth. Tey'll spoil you but the bill will be impressive.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gosnold10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Dear Gosnold10

Thank you for your feedback which we have shared with our entire team. They were delighted to know they contributed to the positive experience you enjoyed with us. It would be a great pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future.

Your sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

It's Location is good. Inside decoration is awesome. Room is awesome. Real five star Hotel. One of the best hotel ever i saw. and also one of the best ever location i saw. But Rates of rooms is high but service is good, cleanliness of room is awesome . Outside location is good. When snowfall is having there garden is looking awesome.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krrissh111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 10 February 2012

Dear krrissh111,

Thank you for sharing your positive comments with us; it is a true pleasure to read your review! We are delighted that you had such a great stay at the Baur au Lac. Please be assured that your kind words will be shared with our entire team. It is through kind and encouraging comments like yours that our team is constantly motivated to offer the best of care to each and every one of our guests.

It would be a great pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2012

This is a seeminly snobby hotel to those who have not stayed here. I have stayed at the Baur au Lac over 10 times and it has been a warm, friendly experience. The staff is so helpful! It feels like home every time I return. The rooms are beautiful and the showers feel as though you are standing under a waterfall! Worth every $ spent!! After all, you get what you pay for! One tip for the ladies... Bring hair conditioner... As in most european hotels, the hair products won't untangle your locks!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cary C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2012

Dear Cary C

Such wonderful and kind words! Thank you very much for taking the time to share your “Baur au Lac experience” on tripadvisor. We are delighted that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday with us and moreover have already chosen the Baur au Lac for several times for your stay in Zurich. We are very proud to read that the Baur au Lac staff contributed in making your stay once again an unforgettable one! Please rest assured that your email will be distributed to our team and that also your comment about the hair conditioner has been noted.
We are very much looking forward to welcoming you back to the Baur au Lac in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

At first I was a bit shocked at the rates here, but all of the top hotels in Zurich were around the same price, so I chose the Baur au Lac for the in-town location and more classic design. It was absolutely fantastic in every way.

Our room was an unusual (almost round) shape and had a fabulous marble bathroom. The location of the hotel is very convenient for walking around to shops and restaurants. Service is exceptional, and at all times I felt like the staff to guest ratio was 5:1. Breakfast in the gorgeous dining room was top-notch. We loved dinner and drinks in the more causal of the two restaurant/bars, which has a very luxurious and sophisticated feel without being stuffy. Again, expect $20 drinks, but this comes with the territory in Zurich.

If your budget allows, this truly is one of the best hotels in all of Europe and worth the splurge.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lagunadallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Dear lagunadallas,

Thank you very much for the kind feedback, you have given on your recent stay at the Baur au Lac. We are delighted to learn that your stay in Zurich and in our hotel was enjoyable to you. Please be assured that your feedback will be shared with our entire team.

It would be a great pleasure to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

I think it is the best hotel I've ever been in the world . Friendly , kind stuffs ! Great location near the Zürich lake and famous street Banhofstraße with a lot of shops!
There you can have an unforgettable relax , a lot of photos and excellent impression !!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_at_Lake, Manager at Baur au Lac, responded to this reviewResponded 17 January 2012

Dear Andrew R

Such wonderful and kind words! Thank you very much for sharing your positive comments with us, it is a true pleasure to read your review! We are glad that you thoroughly enjoyed your holiday in Zurich and that the Baur au Lac team contributed in making your stay an unforgettable one. Please rest assured that your comments will be shared with our entire team. It will definitely brighten their day!

It would be a great pleasure to welcoming you back to the Baur au Lac in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

The Baur au Lac Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews