We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Power of 3”
Review of The Restaurant

The Restaurant
Ranked #30 of 2,160 Restaurants in Zurich
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European, International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Jewels in the gastronomic crown Two restaurants, the Bar and the Lobby make the Dolder Grand an oasis for exceptional gourmet delights. All facilities are open to hotel guests and the general public alike. Winter break 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 18 February 2018 to 5 March 2018. We will be happy to welcome you again on Tuesday evening, 6 March 2018. Summer break 2017 The Restaurant will be closed from 22 July 2017 to 13 August 2018. We will be happy to welcome you again on Tuesday evening, 14 August 2018.
Reviewed 11 September 2018 via mobile

Had a meal at this restaurant named restaurant of the grand Dolder grand. Good fining dining with ambience, food and service. Not sure if it was a phase, but they served everything in small plates of three

Thank bcheong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (315)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 315 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

This restaurant deserves the two Michelin stars. Chef Heiko Nieder is brilliant in his presentation; the dishes are beautiful to look at as much as they are delicious to eat. He manages to blend well ingredients from all over the world into his dishes to have a memorable dining experience. Highly recommended.

Thank DrHabib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018

My husband and i have been working our way through Michelin rated restaurants and while we've been to a number of one star restaurants, this was our first two star. I have to be honest and say this did not outperform the one star restaurants as we'd hoped. We made our reservation months in advance and timed it perfectly with a long layover in Zurich.

The service was outstanding, as it should be for such a highly rated restaurant. The restaurant is in a beautiful hotel on lush grounds - the pictures from here are lovely. I would say the food preparation was fantastic but the flavors were not entirely matching their look. We left a little disappointed and recalled the "melt in your mouth" or the "wow" experiences we had in other restaurants.

Overall I would say it's a "must try" but I might reserve this for lunch instead of dinner, based on costs and the flavor of the foods. Great experience, excellent service, a little above average taste.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Stephanie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018 via mobile

The Restaurant under Heiko Nieder, 2 star Michelin is for me one of the most refined dining experiences I ever had.
Creative, tasty / out of the box...
Located in the stunning Dolder Grand Hotel, am amazing hotel in Zürich.

Thank DivingUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2018 via mobile

If you are looking to have a romantic dinner and like to taste innovative (and sometimes strange) cuisine, 'The Restaurant' is a nice choice, but comes at a much too high price. Since the Dolder Hotel in which the restaurant is located caters to the very rich, consider going somewhere else if the high price is too much of a burden. A nice alternative with similar cuisine and style is e.g. 'Mesa' a bit closer to the center of Zurich.

Thank Tianbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Restaurant also viewed

Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
Zurich, Canton of Zurich
 

Been to The Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing