We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great honest restaurant”
Review of Petit Boeuf

Petit Boeuf
Reserve with
Petit Boeuf is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #40 of 795 Restaurants in Lausanne
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$24 - US$52
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 5 November 2018 via mobile

The premises were nothing to write home about but the staff was very friendly and the food exceptional. There was a standard lunch menu - different for every day of the week - but we all ordered ala carte and had the Entrecotte which was grilled to perfection and served with the typical sauce and french fries. Letuce salad with vinegret and walnuts was included too. On a side note the Grand Cru from Chateau D'Allaman - a local winery - was also superb. The fact that the place was full of locals having lunch should tell you something about the quality. Highly recommended!

Date of visit: November 2018
Thank Dimitrios M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (343)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 343 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2018 via mobile

As recommended we booked a table in advance and I really recommend doing so. Unfortunately we were unaware the meal we planned to eat was soely served in a certain area of the restaurant called „brasserie“ and actually the table we had booked was not in that area. The service was incredibly friendly and helpful finding us a spot in „brasserie“ and quickly helped us move drinks. Great!

As starters we had salad and tartare. The dressing for the salad as well as the marinade for the freshly minced beef were prepared right next to us. I was given a tiny portion to taste even and was able to spice a notch up. Even though I think the waiter did not speak much Englis - and I have to admit my French is actually horrible - I was able to match the tatar to my taste. Professional staff that know what they’re doing not only knowing their products but also preparing not only serving food.

As main course we shared a “charbonnade” and understood why it can’t be served everywhere in the restaurant. It’s like a small BBQ on the table. You cook your meat yourself. The fries and the sauces are kept hot in the top of that BBQ so you can take time to cook the meat and chat and laugh and really enjoy. After a while the waiter brought more fries and asked if everything was ok.

Excellent down to earth food, traditional meals, professional service. I will be back for sure.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank FarAway37778045178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2018 via mobile

Enjoyed a great dinner with a colleague! The food was delicious and the wine even better. This is a local gem tucked away on a side street. Would highly recommend stopping in for the barbecue. The grill is brought to your table and you cook the way you like.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank mndjohns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018

When ever I am in Lausanne, it is a must to eat here. There are many (especially mat) options on the menu but a good honest steak you cannot go wrong, be warned though the portions are large and worth every Swiss Franc.

If you arrive when they open you are in with a chance to get a table, otherwise ensure you reserve a table!

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank J_Traveller_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

Its very rare to find a good meat meal in Switzerland, but Petit Boeuf is a hidden gem!! its hidden in very residential neighbourhood in Lausanne with no sign outside; which is what makes it unique.

The BEST meat!!! So tender

The formula comes with three sauces which make it even better

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank RayaJmean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Petit Boeuf also viewed

Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
Lausanne, Canton of Vaud
 

Been to Petit Boeuf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing