We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An experience unlike any other”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riffelalp Resort 2222 m
Ranked #44 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Shelby Township, Michigan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An experience unlike any other”
Reviewed 16 February 2012

My wife and I just returned (February 2012) from 8 days of skiing at Zermatt and 9 nights at the Riffelalp Resort. We are experienced skiers and have skied extensively in Europe and North America. As a skiing destination Zermatt is a mixed bag, the scenery is stunning, it is without a doubt the most beautiful place I have skied. However, the skiing is only average, don’t be taken in by the impressive vertical drop statistics, it is not truly usable, there are very few top to bottom runs that take advantage of the vertical and most of the top to bottom runs end in very long flat run out requiring extensive skating and polling, the extensive flats extend to the mountain proper also, many of the red runs have short steep descents combined with long flat spots again requiring polling. That being said, the hotel is great, is truly ski in and only a short walk out to the run, 100 feet, (too flat to ski out). The food in all three restaurants is very good, on par with many Michelin one star restaurants we have dined in. The rooms are enormous, by European ski resort standards, and impeccably kept. All levels of service are flawless from the ski room to the front desk to the restaurant service. We did not have one service related issue in our entire stay, actually, we had no issues at all during our stay, something I honestly can’t remember saying about anyplace else that I have stayed for that period of time. We normally do not do half-board options so we were very nervous to commit to just one hotel for our meals for the entire trip. Therefore, one of the reasons we chose the Riffelalp Resort was the “Dine Around” option. We went down to the town about three days in to our stay for a meal at the Mont Cervin Palace which was part of the “Dine Around”. The Mont Cervin Palace is supposedly one of the best restaurants in Zermatt, though it was good, it was by no means any better than the food at the Riffelalp and getting to and from town is a pain in the rear, so if you stay at the Riffelalp don’t bother going down for dinner, it is not worth the hassle. Finally, you can’t overlook the Wellness Center, again, I have never seen anything like it at a ski resort, it is everything and more that brochure claims it to be. I highly recommend staying at the Riffelalp Resort it is the best experience that we have had at any ski area and I can’t think of a hotel outside of a ski are that surpassed it.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Terry_Taylor_MI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    234
    19
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
78
121
19
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austria
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

From the moment the Portier picked us up at the Zermatt train station and organized the transfer of our luggage to the little old train up the mountain, to the super friendly staff at the hotel desk (Roland!), to the friendly chamber maids and the staff at the restaurants: we felt treated like old, valued friends all along. Due to a little incident, we had to cut our vacation short - and everybody at Riffelalp was helpful in re-organizing and making sure, we were provided with the help we needed (they only charged us for the nights we actually stayed). I have seen quite a few great hotels before, but the service at Riffelalp is truly unique! The prices are not cheap, but worth every Franken!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ_2010_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordes, France
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 January 2012

We have been going 2 weeks each year to the Riffelalp. It has always been a superlative hotel with a stable, excellent team. We found the gastronomy level this year even higher, a solid one or two star Michelin for the gourmet restaurant. The rustic alpine Walliserkeller has extraordinary high quality meat dishes, raclette, fondue...The Zermatt valley lamb filet mignon on hot stone is divine. Most important is perfect service and discreet attention to all guest needs. Location (ski in and out), spas, gastronomy, superb direct view of the Matterhorn, uniqu high Alpine location with old trees make for a most relaxing and enjoyable ski holiday in Zermatt

Room Tip: All rooms are nice. The nostalgy rooms (less expensive) have little to envy to the other rooms and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AndreLucienLamotte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2012

My husband surprised me with a trip to the Rifflealp for my 50th birthday and he could not have picked a better spot. Imagine going to visit your rich uncle at his private ski chalet in the alps, equipped with anything you could need and expert staff...that's what the Rifflealp feels like. The staff takes care of every detail including ski passes, ski equipment fitting (the only resort to have their own pro shop fully equipment with rentals). You can't beat the ski in, ski out convenience. We ventured down from the mountain to Zermatt for shopping and dinner during our stay, all reservations and train details were taken care of for us. If you don't want to venture away from the resort there is plently there to do. A world class european spa with many steam rooms, foot baths, whirlpools, showers and don't forget the outdoor pool. I have to add the pool was specifically designed with spa in mind. There are several "stations" throughout the pool to ease your aching after ski muscles. If you care to book a spa treatment, there is expert staff. I chose to have a massage which was delightful!
As for dining, we chose to visit the restaurants in the main building as we felt we could have Italian anytime and would prefer Swiss fare. We were not disappointed, the food is amazing!
The skiing is challenging. I have skied since a young child and would only recommend this destination for intermediate and expert skiers.
In total we spent 5 days at the Rifflealp. Our accomodations were upgraded to a Chalet room overlooking the Matterhorn. What a view!! This is by far our favorite destination. Well worth the trip from Canada!

P.S. We speak english and french. In this area of Switzerland, German is the dominant language. We had no problems however as the staff spoke perfect english.
.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank adventurers02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2012

The hotel is nice, but: (a) if you do not speak Russian, you will get very average or even poor service, the worst tables at diner, no space at the bar, etc; (b) the massages at the spa are a complete joke - but the rest of the spa is very nice; (c) at the restaurant, if you are allergic to something, they do not care and just serve it to you despite the request to avoid that dish.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Francois-Serge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
1.0 km away
Riffelhaus 1853
Riffelhaus 1853
#59 of 110 in Zermatt
131 reviews
2.3 km away
CERVO Zermatt
CERVO Zermatt
#7 of 110 in Zermatt
654 reviews
2.1 km away
The Omnia
The Omnia
#4 of 110 in Zermatt
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
Hotel Mont Cervin Palace
#16 of 110 in Zermatt
476 reviews
3.2 km away
3100 Kulmhotel Gornergrat
3100 Kulmhotel Gornergrat
#31 of 110 in Zermatt
323 reviews
2.1 km away
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
Grand Hotel Zermatterhof
#24 of 110 in Zermatt
474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riffelalp Resort 2222 m? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riffelalp Resort 2222 m

Property: Riffelalp Resort 2222 m
Address: Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#9 Business Hotel in Zermatt
#22 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#27 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#28 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#31 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€€
Hotel Class:5 star — Riffelalp Resort 2222 m 5*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Riffelalp Resort 2222 m reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riffelalp Hotel Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing