We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice, centrally located” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt
Ranked #56 of 110 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
146 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Good choice, centrally located”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2012

Nice familly style hotel with good location in the middle of town. Walking distance from train station and one of the lifts/trains up the mountain. Friendly staff all arround, from the guy that picks you up in their electric taxi when you arrive, the ladies at the reception and the waiting staff.
We had one of the older rooms on the 3e floor, that was OK but not super for the price. Had the chance to look into one of the renewed rooms on the lower floors and that looked as if you where in a different hotel. Much more modern etc.
If you can get a good price on the rooms definitely a good choice because of location and staff.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LukeFields
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    82
    15
    5
    2
See reviews for
47
117
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Fox Island, Washington
Level Contributor
113 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

We so thoroughly enjoyed our stay in Zermatt. The hotel was exactly what we hoped for and even exceeded our expectations with the breakfast. The highlight for us was being able to see the Matterhorn with the morning sun shining on it from our hotel window!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Willbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
272 reviews
80 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 241 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2012

Highlights
Convenient location in center
transfer from Train included (although only 7 mins away by foot)
Close to Gornergrat train for skiing.
Friendly and helpful staff
Great breakfast provided until 10:30am.

Negative
Our room had bad wifi signal. only worked in a few places in the room.
Slightly old fashion room style (we prefer more modern or mixed)
2 flat screen tv's (one in each room) but they were very small...around 20 inch size!

We had room 20. it is a large junior suite: sitting area with sofa and chair and office desk facing the main street. No view of Matterhorn or bacony though. Quiet.

Wellness in basement was adequate for 4 star hotel

Very comfortable and nice hotel. Includes robes, slippers, safe. 2 large closets also.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank poboxearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

My husband and I had a fantastic stay here over the holidays. Probably the biggest attraction is its location; right in the middle of stores, bars and restaurants and a few minutes walk to the nearest lift (actually a train) to go skiing. The staff was incredibly friendly and helpful. For example, we were unable to stay the entire Saturday to Saturday requirement but committed to reserving for that duration. The staff managed to rent our room for days when we weren't going to be there which means we didn't have to pay for the full week. Once there, the staff willingly offered suggestions for places to eat and helped with reservations. The restaurants in the hotel were great too. The room was comfortable, with a balcony and a view of the Matterhorn. Good breakfast. Convenient to ski rental place across the street, and it was easy to store equipment in the basement. There was also a steam room and sauna. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cmag234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2011

Ein super hotel, äusserst zentral gelegen und dennoch ruhig, sehr zuvorkommendes personal, küche exzellent, sehr dynamisch-innovative führung!!! Familien sehr willkommen. Kurz - äusserst empfehlenswert!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mastrbod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.0 km away
Hotel Testa Grigia
Hotel Testa Grigia
#21 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 273 reviews
0.1 km away
Backstage Hotel Vernissage
Backstage Hotel Vernissage
#35 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.6 km away
Hotel Phoenix
Hotel Phoenix
#28 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Unique Hotel Post
Unique Hotel Post
#31 of 110 in Zermatt
4.5 of 5 bubbles 401 reviews
0.2 km away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Butterfly
0.4 km away
Fleurs de Zermatt
Fleurs de Zermatt
#11 of 110 in Zermatt
5.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt

Property: Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt
Address: Bahnhofstrasse 30, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#34 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Zermatt
#37 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#39 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#51 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Walliserhof has been a second home to guests from all over the world since 1896. You can find our hotel tucked into the middle of the main street in the heart of Zermatt. Here at Hotel Walliserhof we boast the oldest authentic cheese restaurant in Zermatt. Let your appetite be inspired by our chef Christian Schubert and his team in our second restaurant, the "Grill", which serves international dishes. Come cozy up by the fire at Thedi's Coffee & Tea House and enjoy a delicious cup of coffee or artisan tea. Take a break at our mini wellness or go for a work out at our partner CrossFit Zermatt. We hope to see you soon. Pernilla & Boris ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, HRS and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Walliserhof Zermatt reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Walliserhof Swiss q Zermatt
Hotel Walliserhof Swiss q

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing