We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$272
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$306/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Alpenblick(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
US$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Ambiance(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$378
US$186
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Book now, pay at stay
US$253
US$247
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Daniela(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 23/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$360
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Matterhorn Focus - Design Hotel(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$289
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel & Solebad Arca(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
US$228
US$222
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Alpenroyal(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sunstar Hotel Zermatt(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Antika(Zermatt)(Great Value!)
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
354
83
10
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
354
83
10
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbay windowtrain stationsuperior double roomwood and stonelog firematterhorn viewquiet streetmin walkingcoffee machineowners and staffincluded breakfastthoroughly enjoyed our staysunnegga liftwonderful stayhotel is in a great locationcold cutsi highly recommend this hotel
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

The hotel is lovely. The room is nice, newly refurbished and very clean. It is a boutique hotel. The personnel is very kind and the food is delicious, homemade bread. The hotel is very well located, near from the Su nega lift and also near from the station, in a very calm street

Stayed: March 2018
Thank fercuma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelphoenix, Inhaber at Hotel Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear "fercuma",
Thank you for your excellent review here on TripAdvisor. We are glad, that you liked our lovely hotel Phoenix in Zermatt. Especially, the spacious and clean rooms, the ideal & quiet location, the hospitality of our team and the delicious breakfast buffet.
We hope to welcome you soon again.
Kind regards from Zermatt,
Laurence Zavagno & Denis Matray and the Phoenix team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018 via mobile

The rooms are modern with wooden floor, comfortable beds etc. The location is also good, quite close walk to the station and ski lifts. The breakfast is excellent with very good coffee, plenty of cheese, ham and bread. I do recommend the hotel and would stay here again. The only areas that could be improved are the towels in the bath room and it would be very nice with a bathrobes.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Titti T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelphoenix, Inhaber at Hotel Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Dear "Titti T",
Thank you for your review and your recommendation. We are happy to read that you liked the hotel and its ideal but quiet location. Further, we appreciate your feedback about the delicious breakfast buffet. Of course, we always provide more towels on request. We do not have any bathrobes as we do not run a wellness or spa oasis. Phoenix guests have unlimited access to the newly opened and biggest gym in Zermatt (Kraftwerk Fitness).
We are already looking forward to welcoming you another time.
Kind regards,
Laurence Zavagno and Denis Matray such as the Phoenix team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

We just returned from a week's stay in a superior room. We were delighted with everything:
- the very warm welcome
- friendliness/helpfulness of owners and staff
- fabulous breakfasts - which included the most amazing selection of Swiss cheeses
- simply but comfortably appointed room (with a Matterhorn view!!) and bathroom
- very comfortable and cosy lounge/bar
- free access to a large, fully-equipped gym.
As another reviewer has observed, while the hotel is not right in the centre of the village, the location is very quiet and only a short walk (10 to 15 minutes) from the centre and 5 mins from Sunnegga lift.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank AMacfarlane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelphoenix, Inhaber at Hotel Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear "AMacfarlane",
Thank you for this excellent review about our hotel Phoenix in Zermatt.
We are happy to read, that you liked the hospitality, the delicious breakfast, the lovely rooms with Matterhorn view, the cosy lounge area, the newly renovated Kraftwerk Fitness (gym) and of course, the ideal but central location of the hotel.
We hope to welcome you soon again.
Kind regards from Zermatt,
Laurence Zavagno & Denis Matray and the Phoenix team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2018 via mobile

The personel are just amazing! Always welcome and greet you with a smile and are all very polite and polyglotes!!! Super breakfast! And very confortable bar and for the afternoon tea the cake and biscuits were always a gift! Very cool ski room to leave the boots and the hotel is 5 min walking from the main street and from the metro for the slopes! Do ask the reception for recomendations for dinner because you will not regret it! Definitely a place to return!!!

Family Sauthier&Lebessou

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Francisco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelphoenix, Inhaber at Hotel Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Dear "Francisco B",
Thank you for your excellent review and recommendation. Perfect that you enjoyed your vacation with us at hotel Phoenix in Zermatt. We are really happy to read that you liked the rich breakfast buffet with cold and warm dishes, the spacious ski room, the ideal and quiet location of the hotel (close to Sunnegga ski lift) and of course the kindness of our staff.
We hope to welcome you again soon.
Kind regards from Zermatt,
Laurence Zavagno & Denis Matray such as the Phoenix team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

We were traveling with another couple from train from Salzburg to Zermatt to Bern, then Zurich from our first visit to Switzerland. The Phoenix was exceptional in every way! The owners were very attentive to our needs, even greeting us every morning with a "reserved table" placard on our table so that the 4 of us could sit together for a fabulous breakfast. We were graciously supplied with ice for our cocktails. If I could suggest anything to add or change, it would be to add an in-room coffeemaker for those of us who need coffee WHILE we dress. Also, since the restaurant is only open during mornings, it would be nice to have a list of walkable restaurants that we could use for evenings.

Room Tip: We chose a balcony room on the top floor.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KathyBlomquist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelphoenix, Inhaber at Hotel Phoenix, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Dear "KathyBlomquist",
Thank you for your lovely and excellent review. We are more than delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us at Hotel Phoenix Zermatt and of course, that you liked the breakfast and the hospitality.
We are more than happy to help our guests at the reception if they need any advice or suggestions where to eat. As there are lots of restaurants in Zermatt and each of them is providing slighly another kitchen style, we avoid to createa standardized list. We rather focus on every guest's favourite food preference for dinner.
We hope to welcome you really soon again.
Kind regards from Zermatt,
Laurence Zavagno & Denis Matray such as the Phoenix team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews