We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel for a Great Stay in Zermatt”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Ranked #6 of 111 Hotels in Zermatt
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Hotel for a Great Stay in Zermatt”
Reviewed 28 November 2011

While traveling to Geneva for official business, we decided to spend four days and three nights in Zermatt (November 12th to 15th) We flew into Geneva's airport and took the train to Zermatt.

Upon arrival at the train station, we called the hotel to have their driver pick us up in their electric taxi. He was there in less than five minutes. The driver took care of our luggage and it was waiting for us in our room when we arrived in our room. We were offered a complmentary drink during the check-in process.

We stayed in the Matterhorn Suite, a gorgeous room enclosed mainly in glass that offered a clear view of the Matterhorn (as well as the Matterhorn Glacier Paradise cable cars). I loved the decor, and the room was quite warm and cozy.

The hotel offered a wonderful complimenatary buffet breakfast with food that would appeal to most every palate. I thoroughly enjoyed the spa (think they referred to it as a "Wellness Oasis"). The indoor pool and outdoor pool/whirlpool was very relaxing, particularly when gazing up at the stars on the cool, clear nights. Around the pool were heated couches/loungers which were very comfortable for relaxing and doing some light reading. The steam room, sauna, and caldarium were quite relaxing after a long day of walking and hiking (this was not a ski trip for me). But be warned - the spa area is a nude zone. Shorts and swimsuits are not permitted. This was not a problem for me as well as most of the guests. But then again, I would not consider myself the "typical American".

As an avid drinker of sodas, I was glad that the hotel had a refrigerator offering Coca-Cola products on an honor system. Guests were permitted to grab a variety of beverages (or candy, snacks, and sandwiches) and write their name/room number on a sheet and have this charged to their room.

All-in-all, this was a great hotel for my first visit to Zermatt. If all goes as planned and I make many more trips to Geneva, I definitely travel back to Zermatt and stay at the Matterhorn Focus.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heath83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

604 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    537
    56
    7
    3
    1
See reviews for
146
348
20
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Beautiful setting in modern building with great views, nice crew and friendly hosts. Great morning buffet.
The franc was very expensive this summer.

Room Tip: Select a superior room with view towards Matterhorn
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Newswiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2011

I love this hotel - been twice and have booked again for Jan 2012. Zermatt is one of our favourite skiing resorts and we have been going there for the last 15 years. In Jan 2010 we discovered the Matterhorn Focus through this very website and are now hooked. The hotel is unusual and their tag line is 'enjoy your privacy'. This you will certainly do. The public areas and the bedrooms are quirky and fun - you will see something different every day that will amuse you. There are great views of the Matterhorn - which when you are in Zermatt is what you want to see.

The wellness area is a great place to be after a day on the slope. The staff are friendly and attentive and nothing appears to be too much trouble. Although you stay on a B&B basis there are plenty of places to go and eat nearby and the town centre is only a 15minute walk away (althought you can always get a taxi if needed).

Another plus is that you are right next door to one of the main chairlifts so you can be up and out for one of the first lifts without any problems.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hjberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2011

I booked Hotel Focus on 18 Sep 2012 as a venue to propose to my girlfriend (now fiance). From the initial meeting at the Bahnhoff to the efficient and friendly check out, the entire stay was delightful. We stayed in the focus suite and it was immaculate. All the fittings were brand new, the bed very comfortable and the living area, complete with wood heater, was the perfect place to enjoy the mountain view. While staying, we also used the beautiful indoor/ outdoor swimming pool and enjoyed the excellent continental breakfast and bar. The website accurately displays the quality of the hotel, which is on a par with World Class Hotels. It has the quality and efficiency of a St Regis or Four Seasons, combined with the personal service of an excellent B&B.

Room Tip: Buildings in the Middle Block seem to have a better, less obstructed view of the Matterhorn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Focus-Zermatt, Inhaber at Hotel Matterhorn Focus, responded to this review, 8 November 2011
Thank you very much for the good feedback. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at the FOCUS. It would be a great pleasure to welcome you once again in our hotel.

We wish you a great and sunny autumn. Kind regards from the Matterhorn village

Chris & Sonja
Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, USA
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed at the Matterhorn Focus for almost a week and really enjoyed it. Everything about our stay was perfect. The only very minor thing that we didn't like is that the ski lift tower and cables somewhat obstructed our view of the Matterhorn. None-the-less, the view is stunning!

The service was all very personal and warm. The rooms are comfortable, chic, and clean. The location (in Winkelmatten) is not right in Zermatt but that was definitely a positive thing for us because it was much quieter than another place we stayed in Zermatt.

If you decide to walk from town to the hotel (instead of call for the shuttle) don't follow Google Maps because there is an easier way. From their website:
The entrance to the Hotel Matterhorn Focus is located approximately 80 meters after the Klein Matterhorn bottom station on the left side (tunnel entrance).

Overall they do a fantastic job in every way. Even the little details are done with style and care. For instance, our room faced the Matterhorn and instead of arranging the room in an ordinary way, they positioned the bed so you can see Matterhorn while you lay in bed! Waking up to the Matterhorn glowing with the warmth of sunrise made each day special. Thanks Matterhorn Focus - we will be back!

Room Tip: Any room with a view of the Matterhorn will be a good one. I believe that buildings A & B are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James and Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Zermatt hotels
0.7 km away
BELLERIVE
BELLERIVE
#2 of 111 in Zermatt
440 reviews
0.4 km away
Hotel Firefly
Hotel Firefly
#3 of 111 in Zermatt
487 reviews
1.3 km away
Schlosshotel Life & Style
Schlosshotel Life & Style
#13 of 111 in Zermatt
955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Parkhotel Beau Site
Parkhotel Beau Site
#9 of 111 in Zermatt
771 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Alpenhof
Hotel Alpenhof
#15 of 111 in Zermatt
453 reviews
0.7 km away
Europe Hotel & Spa
Europe Hotel & Spa
#8 of 111 in Zermatt
564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Matterhorn Focus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Matterhorn Focus

Property: Hotel Matterhorn Focus
Address: Schluhmattstrasse 131, Zermatt 3920, Switzerland
Phone Number:
Region: Switzerland > Swiss Alps > Canton of Valais > Zermatt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Romantic Hotel in Zermatt
#3 Luxury Hotel in Zermatt
#5 Family Hotel in Zermatt
#6 Spa Hotel in Zermatt
#7 Business Hotel in Zermatt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Hotel Matterhorn Focus 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Design & Lifestyle in front of the Matterhorn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Matterhorn Focus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Matterhorn Focus Hotel
Matterhorn Focus Zermatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing