We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (172)
Filter reviews
172 results
Traveller rating
44
84
27
6
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
84
27
6
11
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 172 reviews
Reviewed 10 October 2016

I chose Hotel America because of its address (Piazza Grande, no # given). That is a bit of a misnomer: the only part of the establishment fronting the Piazza is the narrow end of its restaurant, the rest being tucked in the narrow, winding, cobblestone streets of the old city. Fair enough.
For what it charges, though, and for a supposed three-star hotel, it's hard to see the correlation. The rooms are quite exiguous, the shower stall so small it's hard to slither into, the amenities not plentiful, the TV screen quite small with half of the channels non-functional (but at least CNN & BBC1 were available). No on-demand movies, though. Not quite what was hoped for.
No AC at all; this was not a problem in mid-October, though the room was a bit on the chilly side.
The location is certainly good, but there is no parking. Clients can get a daily rate of Sfr. 19.- (a bargain in Switzerland) at the Casino/Centro Parking garage, a 5-min. walk away.
All-in-all, a bit overpriced & overrated for what is offered, but not a bad solution.

Room tip: One room on each floor appears to be larger and may have a view of the Piazza, the ones to go for if available. Others are quite small.
Date of stay: October 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank slfaesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ketrin K, Leiter Front Office at Hotel America, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2016

Good morning,

we thank you for your comment.

We regret that you haven't enjoyed your stay. The satisfaction of our customers comes first.
The rooms are not very big but there is all that you need (for a 3 stars hotel).
We'll take note of your comment that will definitely be useful to improve in the future.

It was a pleasure for us having you here, we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again in our hotel.

Kind regards from Locarno
Hotel America

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

I stayed here with 3 friends. The is a very charming hotel and location is excellent, right on the Piazza Grande. We stayed in a very nice room on the top floor which was elegant renovated. Staff was friendly and after 3 night we felt almost part of the family. We had 2 dinner at the restaurant. All 4 of us really liked the food, specially the hot stone and the cold cuts. Breakfast was also good. If you are looking for a good old hotel with nice history this is a good choice.

Room tip: Book the suite with 2 rooms. Very nice on the top floor,
Date of stay: September 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank FilipSwede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

It's a lovely hotel with wonderful food and a cozy atmosphere. Close to everything and very helpful staff. Recommended for those who want a familiar hotel with good service and a yummy Swiss breakfast.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank fannynl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2016

Nice family owned hotel, great atmosphere. Breakfast room had lovely decor. The bedrooms gave a relaxed and comfortable sleep. Helpful and friendly staff. Close to good shopping, restaurang and seashore.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tess198212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2016

It was great service and friendly atmosphere at this family owned hotel. The rooms were tidy and we had free wi-fi. The hotel is very nice located by the Town Piazza Grande in Locarno. Cozy restaurant with live music.

Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank sarad12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews