We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (145)
Filter reviews
145 results
Traveller rating
72
64
7
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
64
7
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbusiness tripperfect locationpiazza grandetrain stationfree waterper dayfriendly hotelview of the lakefront facinggood nights sleephotel entrancewould stay againstaying at this hotelcoffee and teaparking garagestayed nightsnespresso machine
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 145 reviews
Reviewed 15 July 2018

As we were travelling around Switzerland by public transport the position of this hotel was perfect - just 3 minutes walk from the station, 2 minutes from the lakeside and a few minutes from the bars and restaurants of Piazza Grande. Our room was comfortable, light and airy with lots of storage. In our opinion if you are staying more than 1/2 nights then it is worth upgrading to a lake view room with a balcony. Breakfast was excellent with the added bonus of being able to take it on the outdoor terrace in good weather.
We stayed 5 nights so were given a Ticino Card - fantastic value as it gives free travel by bus and train throughout the canton of Ticino plus various reductions on cable cars and attractions.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HattieWeymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018

This was a wonderful hotel in a perfect location overlooking Lake Maggiore in Locarno. Our room had a view of the lake and was a very nice size with free water in the refrigerator. The beds were comfortable and the room was very clean. A buffet breakfast was included and excellent. I needed to iron some closes and they immediately brought up an iron and ironing board. Service was exceptional

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank DianeO546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

Wonderful location. Comfortable beds. Clean, good sized bathroom AND an elevator! Family of 4 with 2 teenage girls. They put is in two connecting rooms. Beautiful views, great breakfast, great service. Lake Maggiore just footsteps away from hotel. Lots of shops and restaurants within walking distance. Beautiful lake side town of Ascano 10 minute drive away.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank YoHelton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

We absolutely loved our stay at the Garni Du Lac Hotel. The location is perfect and there are so many shops and good restaurants near by. We arrived by car and could park it in a public parking garage which is only 20 meters from the hotel entrance (the hotel has a deal with the parking garage). We chose a room facing the lake and the view was rather amazing. The breakfast buffet isn't huge but it has everything one could wish for and the quality is excellent. The rooms are quite small but then again we didn't spend much time in the rooms so it didn't really matter (the beds are excellent by the way). All in all the value for money gets a 10/10 from us and the staff is very friendly and helpful. When coming back to Locarno we will definitely book our stay at the Garni Du Lac again!

Stayed: April 2018
2  Thank Manuela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2018 via mobile

Every detail had been taken care of by the management to ensure our stay in this idyllic town was a memorable one

Cons:
1. No tea making facility in room, but unlimited tea and coffee was available in lounge area

Pros:
1. Walking distance from station
2. Walking distance to everything in town
3. Provision of discounts to many attractions including free bus transport even to surrounding towns
4. Spacious room with view
5. Excellent lounge area
6. Extremely clean
7. Friendly and helpful staff
8. Very close to one of many scenic trains/ chairlifts
9. Pleasant breakfast room with good quality included breakfast
10. Well priced hotel in a very expensive area



Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank reichwald1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews