We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a great hotel - but beds are not comfortable”
Review of Hotel Kirchbuehl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Kirchbuehl
Ranked #9 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 September 2017

View is fantastic. Rooms are well designed. Small wellness area with sauna and steam bath good. Food is high quality. However the bed in our room was bad, none of us slept well during the two nights which is a fundamental problem in a hotel. If you think of coming to this hotel, it can be a very good choice but call them and make sure they have new high quality beds. Otherwise look for some other hotels.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gurkpeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian B, Inhaber at Hotel Kirchbuehl, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2017

thank you for your visit and your quote. We tried that you could tell us in which room you stayed, so we could have checked. But you didn't answered us...
We are surprised about your opinion, that our beds are bad. None of the materness is older than 9 years, and we think, that we always buy quality products. We also have almost no complain about the beds. Either you have a different feeling of hard or soft materness or I don't know.
We would be very happy if you could tell us in which room you have stayed, so we could check and not sending the guest to other hotels, like you recomand.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (324)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

15 - 19 of 324 reviews

Reviewed 8 September 2017

I should admit I was hesitant when booked this hotel but I thank god I didn't cancel it.
I would definitely come back to this place.
First of all, there is no one after 10pm however, you will get an envelop with your name on it and the details of your stay and room key, so don't worry if you will arrive late.
once you enter it feels like home, warm, cozy, and comfy. The food is just amazing, you won't have to go around shopping for restaurant, the one in this hotel serves 5-star cuisine. They also offer an afternoon fresh cake and sweets (free of charge) and you can enjoy a relaxing day-time in the living room-like lounge with a terrace that overlooks at the mountain, an exceptional view you should see.
The rooms are clean and the bathroom is also clean.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shahrazaad A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2017

My wife and I stayed here several nights. The service at the front-desk is extremely helpful. This is a beautiful hotel in an absolutely amazing location. There are 3 restaurants, and the quality of the meals is first-rate. Overall, consistently excellent. Note that you can walk into town, but it is 20 minutes uphill to get back to the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cwright49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Lovely hotel in Grindelwald, with great views from all around. We booked the superior room and it was perfect. Very nicely done up rooms ( better than the pictures on the site) , old world charm with all the modern amenities. No tea/ coffee maker though.

The location is on a hill, a bit of a walk up from grindelwald center. Ideal if you have a car, but the hotel also offers pick ups from the station. Ample parking. This one time, after a long day up on First we were too tired to hike back to the hotel and they were kind enough to pick us up.

Good breakfast spread, including hot breakfast which was a treat in Switzerland! And the views from the dining area were amazing. Great start to the day! They also have complimentary tea and cakes in the afternoon which was a nice touch.

Our only niggle was that we booked the Eiger view room and were expecting a direct view, but only had a side view from a corner of the balcony. But thanks to the hotel's location it's lovely all around so we didn't really mind. Overall a great choice in Grindelwald and a good base to explore the surrounding areas. Would definitely stay again.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Tripti15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017 via mobile

To start with hotel has great location giving beautiful view of eiger. Tea coffee maker is not provided in the rooms. Vegetarian options are limited in menu. Restaurant staff is nice and efficient. Front desk staff not very efficient. Owners are nice and humble people. A slight improvement towards customer satisfaction is warranted from the staff end. During my stay toothpaste was not available with house keeping and I had to buy the same from hotel. It's not about five francs of toothpaste charged in the bill , but the service culture which the hotel has. So some improvements are required. More plug points are required in the rooms to suit changing times.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank vkms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christian B, Owner at Hotel Kirchbuehl, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Thank you for your review. You listed a lot of points, which you like to have included.
But you did not mentioned one word about the other free services we already provide:
- Free WIFI
- Free drinks in the minbar
- Free car parking
- Free Cake Buffet
- Free shuttle bus service from and to train station grindelwald
So I think it's more a cultural problem of customer satisfaction what should be included. As Switzerland is a very high price country, we have to think over every small extra step to give free. Our service culture is like it is in the most hotels in the European Alps...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
616 reviews
0.2 km away
Hotel Gletschergarten
Hotel Gletschergarten
#1 of 41 in Grindelwald
866 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald
Hotel Belvedere Grindelwald
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
1,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
0.7 km away
Hotel Spinne
Hotel Spinne
#15 of 41 in Grindelwald
288 reviews
1.1 km away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kirchbuehl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kirchbuehl

Address: Kirchbuehlstrasse 23, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#8 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#14 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: €182 - €330 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Kirchbuehl 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First-class holidays at the foot of the north face of the Eiger: the chalet-style Hotel Kirchbuhl, which includes some holiday apartments, has been run by the Brawand family for four generations. Personal care and attention is therefore part of the special charm of this comfortable first-class hotel, which is also famous for its food: while you can find sophisticated delicacies in the gourmet restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kirchbuehl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirchbuehl Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing