We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So very happy to be here!! ”
Review of Hotel Kirchbuehl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kirchbuehl
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2015 via mobile

Thrilled with this hotel as last minute stop-over, recommended to us by Berghaus Bort which was fully booked. Double room with cosy sofa bed for our daughter, modern and comfortable but best of all we have a perfect balcony view of the Eiger. Free bus into town and free swimming whilst my husband explored the Eiger Trail. Upon our return to the hotel we ate dinner outside in a nook in the garden and watched the mountains change colour as the sun went down. Staff accommodating, friendly and professional. Couldn't ask for more.

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
Thank Kostyrka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

62 - 66 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2015 via mobile

The Kirchbuehl proposes, as complementary offer to the hotel, a selection of Chalets.
We stayed in one of them (couple + 2 boys 13 and 10) and trully enjoyed this combination of quiet autonomy in the chalet associated with the great breakfasts and a lovely Swiss diner for the National Day served at the hotel.
A special thanks for Frau Brawand and her warm hospitality.

Stayed: August 2015
Thank Laurent M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

My boyfriend and I came here in May, and we were upgraded for free to a deluxe corner room with a full view of the Eiger in all angles and the gondolas at first. It was amazing to say the least! The staff was friendly, welcoming and very accommodating. The only issue was trying to call the hotel shuttle to pick us from the train. The information booth was not willing to call the hotel for us and we walked up the hill with our heavy luggage in the heat. Our cell phones did not have any service to call ourselves. We asked another shuttle driver if they could call our hotel to send someone, which they did. It is not the fault of the hotel, but we felt the information booth should have all the hotel numbers to call for shuttles. The room cleanliness and beauty cancelled out the shuttle debacle, and the view was to die for! It was truly amazing and breathtaking. I loved waking up to the Eiger and hearing cowbells in the distance. The breakfast was very good, with a superb selection. Loved the yoghurt, cheese and croissants. We will definitely return again and we would recommend this hotel!

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank BellaSardela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Foods are interesting. Manager misunderstood an order and we were given correct order, but he still charged for the mistake. He appeared to like his authority and being in charge. Sent waitress to tell us when we questioned. But he had also removed the food. We didn't eat or even keep. Our group of six were shocked at this behavior.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ElizabethMaske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

We are a family of 5 (2 parents and three older teens) on a 12-day Swiss vacation, and Hotel Kirchbuehl was a delightful place to stay with beautiful views of the Alps and valley. The staff members were absolutely friendly and the hotel rooms are well-appointed (not tired and run-down) and reasonably sized. We loved our spacious balcony with dramatic views of the Eiger and other mountains as well as the gorgeous valley. The restaurant was stunningly good as well (see my separate review). The only drawback of the hotel (if you want to call it that) is the fact that it's a steep 10-minute walk down to town and the hotel shuttle is discontinued after 6 p.m., but we dealt with that just fine.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony view of Eiger Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ReillyPas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
598 reviews
1.2 km away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
982 reviews
1.1 km away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
359 reviews
0.5 km away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
1 km away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kirchbuehl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kirchbuehl

Address: Kirchbuehlstrasse 23, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#7 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#14 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: €161 - €321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kirchbuehl 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First-class holidays at the foot of the north face of the Eiger: the chalet-style Hotel Kirchbuhl, which includes some holiday apartments, has been run by the Brawand family for four generations. Personal care and attention is therefore part of the special charm of this comfortable first-class hotel, which is also famous for its food: while you can find sophisticated delicacies in the gourmet restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kirchbuehl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirchbuehl Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing