We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Alpenblick Hotel Pub & Restaurant(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$360
US$350
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$330
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Gletschergarten(Grindelwald)
US$291
US$282
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Residence Hotel & Apartments(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$176
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Berghaus Maennlichen(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$151
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
Gasthof Panorama(Grindelwald)
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 31% below average rates

The price you found is 31% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$121/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Jungfrau Lodge Swiss Mountain Hotel(Grindelwald)(Great Value!)
US$224
US$150
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Berggasthaus First(Grindelwald)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (387)
Filter reviews
386 results
Traveller rating
261
81
20
11
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
261
81
20
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe hotel staffshuttle busweather permittinglaundry roomview is amazingwalk into townbreakfast spreadan updatewonderful hoteldirect viewsuperior roomgrindelwald valleyliving roomhotel restaurantberghaus bortroom was largefamily room
Filter
Updating list...
100 - 105 of 386 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2015

Foods are interesting. Manager misunderstood an order and we were given correct order, but he still charged for the mistake. He appeared to like his authority and being in charge. Sent waitress to tell us when we questioned. But he had also removed the food. We didn't eat or even keep. Our group of six were shocked at this behavior.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ElizabethMaske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

We are a family of 5 (2 parents and three older teens) on a 12-day Swiss vacation, and Hotel Kirchbuehl was a delightful place to stay with beautiful views of the Alps and valley. The staff members were absolutely friendly and the hotel rooms are well-appointed (not tired and run-down) and reasonably sized. We loved our spacious balcony with dramatic views of the Eiger and other mountains as well as the gorgeous valley. The restaurant was stunningly good as well (see my separate review). The only drawback of the hotel (if you want to call it that) is the fact that it's a steep 10-minute walk down to town and the hotel shuttle is discontinued after 6 p.m., but we dealt with that just fine.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony view of Eiger Mountain
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ReillyPas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015

When we arrived, after a 2 day drive from Uk, with 2 boys to run the ultra marathon, they initially told us that they did not have reservation!! Panic. When I went to the car to get paper work to prove that we did, another different and kind lady apologised for her colleague and said of course they did have reservation. She took us to the apartment.
The next worst thing was that on the morning of the ultra marathon, we saw the boys off at 6am and went up for breakfast, arriving at 6.45am. The hotel, like all the others, for residents pre-marathon, had served an all night breakfast. But when we got there, all the tables were covered with dirty plates and cutlery. So, I asked the somewhat wide lady behind the counter where I could sit please, at a clean table. She wagged her finger in my face going on at me for asking!! So, my husband and I sat at a table with dirty crockery etc and then went to collect our breakfast buffet. One manageress and another front of house manageress came and apologised for the disgusting treatment we had from the person in the dining area because it was 6.45am.
The man behind the counter at breakfast also was rude to us and I translated his French as saying no cooked breakfast that early. So, we made do with what we could and went to meet the boys at their FIRST stopping point. As we walked to cable car, I saw the "chef" out the back of the kitchen smoking. I wonder if he ever washed his hands... as a doctor, I am amazed the managers allow this.
Cigarette ends around the place were also never cleared up and that and the dog faeces on the grass on route between the eating area and the chalet we were in, really ruined the lovely Swiss mountains.
We stayed 2 nights and we ate there the first night as they had a pasta special for the runners- and the boys enjoyed that. Sadly, I ate something with chorizo and it upset my tummy, so we chose not to eat there again.
The architect for the chalet should also be blamed for some poor design issues. Firstly, the noise really travelled down from the people above us. On the Sunday after the marathon, we were all tired and the people in the chalet above us started making loads of noise from 6.30am, waking us all up. They parked their car outside the window and going up and down the steps outside our bedroom was horrific and we could hear them moving upstairs.
The architect should also not design the bathroom so that clean towels are hanging by the loo seat!
The Swiss mountains are beautiful and we loved Switzerland and the view from the room was fantastic.
The boys enjoyed their pasta pre-race.

Room Tip: Upstairs chalets are probably quieter as noise travels down
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jenni025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015

This hotel is all about the view! We were upgraded to rooms facing main road and had enchanting view of Eiger. We stayed here for 2 nights and experienced the Eiger metamorphosis. On day one just the snow sprinkling was visible on the lower ranges and on second day, after snowing on upper reaches, the lower ranges were nearly all white!

Rooms were clean and comfortable. The bathroom has semi transparent glass door. The view from the balcony, as stated earlier, is stunning to say the least. The attached pictures will bear the testimony to that. The hotel has more of a chalet feel and is quite compact. You will feel quite cosy over here. It has two separate lifts to access rooms. Breakfast is fine but options can be improved. The staff during breakfast service needs to smile a little more and they need to regularly replenish the buffet items. On both days, when I asked for certain items I was just pointed back to empty bowls/trays.

The hotel is not in the town centre and you can either walk to the bus stop and catch a bus to the town/station or walk to the town. The town has many dining options and the railway station has a good service connecting it quite frequently to Interlaken.

Room Tip: Get room facing main road/town to have the best view
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rajeev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2015

We had a room (#215) with a direct view of Eiger, and that view was astonishing, mesmerizing, and meditative. Friendly, genuine, helpful staff. Food choices in the restaurants were quite varied and accommodations were made for diet peculiarities. Food was delicious. Taking the gondola to First (alt. 7500 ft) and hiking there was spectacular.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank actuary1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews