We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Amazing hotel! ”
Review of Hotel Kirchbuehl

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Kirchbuehl
Ranked #11 of 41 Hotels in Grindelwald
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2015 via mobile

My boyfriend and I came here in May, and we were upgraded for free to a deluxe corner room with a full view of the Eiger in all angles and the gondolas at first. It was amazing to say the least! The staff was friendly, welcoming and very accommodating. The only issue was trying to call the hotel shuttle to pick us from the train. The information booth was not willing to call the hotel for us and we walked up the hill with our heavy luggage in the heat. Our cell phones did not have any service to call ourselves. We asked another shuttle driver if they could call our hotel to send someone, which they did. It is not the fault of the hotel, but we felt the information booth should have all the hotel numbers to call for shuttles. The room cleanliness and beauty cancelled out the shuttle debacle, and the view was to die for! It was truly amazing and breathtaking. I loved waking up to the Eiger and hearing cowbells in the distance. The breakfast was very good, with a superb selection. Loved the yoghurt, cheese and croissants. We will definitely return again and we would recommend this hotel!

Stayed: May 2015, travelled as a couple
Thank BellaSardela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

64 - 68 of 289 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2015

Foods are interesting. Manager misunderstood an order and we were given correct order, but he still charged for the mistake. He appeared to like his authority and being in charge. Sent waitress to tell us when we questioned. But he had also removed the food. We didn't eat or even keep. Our group of six were shocked at this behavior.

Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ElizabethMaske
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 July 2015

We are a family of 5 (2 parents and three older teens) on a 12-day Swiss vacation, and Hotel Kirchbuehl was a delightful place to stay with beautiful views of the Alps and valley. The staff members were absolutely friendly and the hotel rooms are well-appointed (not tired and run-down) and reasonably sized. We loved our spacious balcony with dramatic views of the Eiger and other mountains as well as the gorgeous valley. The restaurant was stunningly good as well (see my separate review). The only drawback of the hotel (if you want to call it that) is the fact that it's a steep 10-minute walk down to town and the hotel shuttle is discontinued after 6 p.m., but we dealt with that just fine.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony view of Eiger Mountain
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ReillyPas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2015

When we arrived, after a 2 day drive from Uk, with 2 boys to run the ultra marathon, they initially told us that they did not have reservation!! Panic. When I went to the car to get paper work to prove that we did, another different and kind lady apologised for her colleague and said of course they did have reservation. She took us to the apartment.
The next worst thing was that on the morning of the ultra marathon, we saw the boys off at 6am and went up for breakfast, arriving at 6.45am. The hotel, like all the others, for residents pre-marathon, had served an all night breakfast. But when we got there, all the tables were covered with dirty plates and cutlery. So, I asked the somewhat wide lady behind the counter where I could sit please, at a clean table. She wagged her finger in my face going on at me for asking!! So, my husband and I sat at a table with dirty crockery etc and then went to collect our breakfast buffet. One manageress and another front of house manageress came and apologised for the disgusting treatment we had from the person in the dining area because it was 6.45am.
The man behind the counter at breakfast also was rude to us and I translated his French as saying no cooked breakfast that early. So, we made do with what we could and went to meet the boys at their FIRST stopping point. As we walked to cable car, I saw the "chef" out the back of the kitchen smoking. I wonder if he ever washed his hands... as a doctor, I am amazed the managers allow this.
Cigarette ends around the place were also never cleared up and that and the dog faeces on the grass on route between the eating area and the chalet we were in, really ruined the lovely Swiss mountains.
We stayed 2 nights and we ate there the first night as they had a pasta special for the runners- and the boys enjoyed that. Sadly, I ate something with chorizo and it upset my tummy, so we chose not to eat there again.
The architect for the chalet should also be blamed for some poor design issues. Firstly, the noise really travelled down from the people above us. On the Sunday after the marathon, we were all tired and the people in the chalet above us started making loads of noise from 6.30am, waking us all up. They parked their car outside the window and going up and down the steps outside our bedroom was horrific and we could hear them moving upstairs.
The architect should also not design the bathroom so that clean towels are hanging by the loo seat!
The Swiss mountains are beautiful and we loved Switzerland and the view from the room was fantastic.
The boys enjoyed their pasta pre-race.

Room Tip: Upstairs chalets are probably quieter as noise travels down
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jenni025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2015

This hotel is all about the view! We were upgraded to rooms facing main road and had enchanting view of Eiger. We stayed here for 2 nights and experienced the Eiger metamorphosis. On day one just the snow sprinkling was visible on the lower ranges and on second day, after snowing on upper reaches, the lower ranges were nearly all white!

Rooms were clean and comfortable. The bathroom has semi transparent glass door. The view from the balcony, as stated earlier, is stunning to say the least. The attached pictures will bear the testimony to that. The hotel has more of a chalet feel and is quite compact. You will feel quite cosy over here. It has two separate lifts to access rooms. Breakfast is fine but options can be improved. The staff during breakfast service needs to smile a little more and they need to regularly replenish the buffet items. On both days, when I asked for certain items I was just pointed back to empty bowls/trays.

The hotel is not in the town centre and you can either walk to the bus stop and catch a bus to the town/station or walk to the town. The town has many dining options and the railway station has a good service connecting it quite frequently to Interlaken.

Room Tip: Get room facing main road/town to have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Rajeev S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Grindelwald hotels
0.7 km away
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
Hotel Eiger Grindelwald
#3 of 41 in Grindelwald
597 reviews
1.2 km away
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
Belvedere Swiss Quality Hotel
#2 of 41 in Grindelwald
982 reviews
1.1 km away
Romantik Hotel Schweizerhof Grindelwald
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Parkhotel Schoenegg
Parkhotel Schoenegg
#4 of 41 in Grindelwald
359 reviews
0.5 km away
Sunstar Alpine Hotel Grindelwald
1 km away
Derby Hotel
Derby Hotel
#5 of 41 in Grindelwald
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kirchbuehl? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kirchbuehl

Address: Kirchbuehlstrasse 23, Grindelwald 3818, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Bern > Bernese Oberland > Jungfrau Region > Grindelwald
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Grindelwald
#7 Romantic Hotel in Grindelwald
#7 Spa Hotel in Grindelwald
#9 Ski-In / Ski-Out Hotel in Grindelwald
#14 Family Hotel in Grindelwald
Price Range: €160 - €328 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Kirchbuehl 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
First-class holidays at the foot of the north face of the Eiger: the chalet-style Hotel Kirchbuhl, which includes some holiday apartments, has been run by the Brawand family for four generations. Personal care and attention is therefore part of the special charm of this comfortable first-class hotel, which is also famous for its food: while you can find sophisticated delicacies in the gourmet restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Kirchbuehl reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirchbuehl Hotel Grindelwald

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing