We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (355)
Filter reviews
355 results
Traveller rating
116
173
42
11
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
116
173
42
11
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chapel bridge pub downstairs the river great location train station old town first floor across the bridge room key small balcony hotel is located rooms are clean basic hotel no air conditioning mt pilatus noise mountains
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 355 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2019 via mobile

We have been accommodated at hotel Mr Pickwick last weekend, we chosen this hotel as it is accommodated not only in the city center but in front of the most famous bridge.
We were upgraded in the superior room on the fourth floor with the bridge view and we would like to thank the staff for this beautiful surprise, we have really appreciated (especially because it was my first time in Lucerne and this made my experience unique).
Although the hotel is located over an Irish pub, there was no noise and this allowed us to sleep with the window open (we woke up looking in the early morning- the center is so quiet and you can take beautiful pics from the room).
I would recommend this hotel to whoever is interested in visiting Lucerne, spending a moderate price, and be in the core of the city.

Info about the room:
Wide and clean, overlooking the bridge.
In-suite bathroom, with a wide shower.
The hotel also provides the hairdryer.

Balzaretti’s friends and Co.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank zoec658
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Mr. Pickwick, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2019

Dear zoec658
A huge thank you for your detailed and informative 5***** review on TripAdvisor - your recommendation is very much appreciated! We are most happy that you fully enjoyed your stay and we will be pleased to forward your lovely words to the whole team who does indeed strive hard to provide an amazing time to all our guests.
You have summed up our cozy Hotel Pickwick very well and we do not need to add anything except we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to beautiful Lucerne!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2019

We had booked 2 rooms and due to availability we were only able to get economy rooms where the beds were placed one after the other so the room was a long rectangle with a tiny balcony facing the lake. It was a basic room good for sleeping a night. The bathroom was small but with modern clean fittings. The lock to the room was a little bizzare as we left the room thinking that it would lock when you shut the door but later when we came back our rooms were open and then we realized that to lock the rooms we had to press something from inside on the lock. We have never seen hotel room locks like that so found that very inconvenient. The coffee mug was not clean and had a rim from previous use. Location is very good and its in the center of all action which makes this a good hotel. No air conditioning but they provide you fans. If you are not looking for any frills then this is a good basic hotel.

Date of stay: July 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wanttotravel1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2019 via mobile

Hotel is located 3 blocks from the train station and close to all the restaurants and shops of Old Town. Rooms are clean and most overlook the lake at the front of the hotel. Staff was very helpful and accommodating.

Date of stay: July 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank beerstl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Mr. Pickwick, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2019

Dear beerstl,
thank you very much for your positive feedback on TripAdvisor! Our Hotel Pickwick is indeed a gem at the waterfront where every guest has "a room with a view". It is also a perfect spot to discover the picturesque old town with its many places of interest.
We would be happy to welcome you back on your next stay in beautiful Lucerne!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2019 via mobile

Hotel management (Ramona) is attentive arrange family room from our initial booking of 2 room for 4 peoples. Carli and Ramona help a smooth transfer. Staff and Ms. Sumaji are assisting you for great experience stay.

Location 6 star (5-8 min walk) from Lucern Train/ Bus and Waterbus station.

Room very clean, not big but sufficient for 4 peoples. Nice experiences. Will definetely stay again in Lucern if I come again.

View from our room is attached.

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Rdavid6112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Mr. Pickwick, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2019

Dear Roy K
A huge thank you for your detailed 5***** review on TripAdvisor – your lovely feedback is very much appreciated and we will be pleased to forward your compliments to Ramona and the whole team!
Our centrally located Hotel Pickwick is indeed a gem on the waterfront where every guest has "a room with a view"! We endeavour to provide an amazing stay to our international guests and it is always nice to receive praise.
We look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to beautiful Lucerne!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2019

The room is narrow and and smell of cigarette when you open the window. Room is not air conditioned.
Location is good though. No breakfast. For the price that you paid, you can get a better room with a slightly higher price

Date of stay: June 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dphkm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGGastrag, Leiter Gästebetreuung at Hotel Mr. Pickwick, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2019

Dear Dphkm
Thank you for your feedback on TripAdvisor. We are aware and understand that cigarette smoke from outside is a problem for some of our guests; we are sorry about this, but can hardly change this situation; due to the age and structure of the building, air-conditioning is unfortunately not possible, but we provide electric fans in each room. We hope that, nevertheless, you enjoyed the stunning river views overlooking the world-famous Chapel Bridge, Mount Pilatus and Titlis.
We are a hotel of the category "Swiss Lodge" with very competitive rates and due to our on-site Mr. Pickwick Pub, breakfast service is just not part of our concept. A sumptuous breakfast is available nearby, e. g. at the Hotel Des Alpes, Starbucks or at the many local bakeries etc.
However, it would be our pleasure to welcome you back on your next stay in beautiful Lucerne!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews