We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,175)
Filter reviews
1,176 results
Traveller rating
436
520
150
48
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
436
520
150
48
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviews train station great location old town business room directly across the street burger king chapel bridge half board triple room street noise quiet room breakfast was excellent fifth floor central location few minutes walk beautiful city main station
Filter
Updating list...
20 - 25 of 1,176 reviews
Reviewed 11 July 2018

We arrived at the hotel a couple of hours early but were provided with our room after only a 30 minute wait. Our room was well-appointed, spacious and clean and the bed comfortable. Unfortunately, no air-conditioning in the rooms but we were told that this is part of the next hotel upgrade; an effective fan was provided and we didn’t feel inconvenienced. A good, varied breakfast was provided, although we would have liked more choice for cereals (a very minor point, we didn’t go hungry!). Staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel is conveniently placed for the train station, boat terminals and the Old Town; there is a Migros across the road. We have used this hotel before and would use it again.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ElizaTravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldstaetterhof, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Waldstatterhof, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2018

Dear Guest

Many thanks for your benevolent feedback. We are looking forward to welcoming you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Great hotel and good service. Rooms were very spacious. Breakfast good. Very centrally located and 300 meters from the Lucerne main station. Stayed during the month of July 2018. Mcdonalds, supermarket and Burger King very near and good pubs also.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
Thank anoop g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2018 via mobile

Very noisy and with no aircon no option other than to open the window. The shower is very small and impossible to move around in without knocking yourself of soap holders and taps. At breakfast we asked for the empty hot food containers to be filled twice with no luck. By far the most expensive part of our European holiday and not the best value.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Allison M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2018 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights, upon arriving was told we already checked in? Then told room would be ready in an hour. Miraculously, our room was ready in 5 minutes. The room on the fifth floor, resembled a closet. The bathroom was 3 ft by 4 ft, with a 2ft by 2ft shower, to make matters worse there was a structural beam in the middle of the shower! Given 2 fans that did not work, the bed was an uneven foam mattress, did not sleep either day. What made matters worse, there were other better rooms available. The only reason I didn't give this hotel 1 star, is that the breakfast and restaurant were good. You can check my other reviews in Switzerland and Italy(Hotel Alex in Zermatt and Hotel Splendid, Baveno), gave good ratings. If I was not on a tour would have never checked into this hotel, would have left immediately.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Norman H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldstaetterhof, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Waldstatterhof, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Dear Guest
Thank you for your detailed feedback. We regret to hear that your impression of our hotel was so bad. We cannot change the size of our rooms nor the one of the bath rooms. If you had informed us regarding the not working fans during your stay, we would have replaced them immediately. Our Lotus mattresses are often appreciated by the guests, because they have 7 different zones, which allow a precise body adaptation. The mattress cover Breeze ensures good moisture transport and permanent absorption of odors,thus it fulfills the hygiene requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2018 via mobile

I was in the hotel during the carnival time . it was very good and pleasant staff. Breakfast was good and a lot of the bands ate there too.And the room was big and quiet clean everyday. only 2 minutes walking to bahnhof .

Stayed: February 2018, travelled solo
Thank 505adim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waldstaetterhof, Leiter Öffentlichkeitsarbeit at Hotel Waldstatterhof, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Thank you, dear guest!
The next carnival of Lucerne starts on Thursday, February 28. 2019 - don't miss the date!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews