We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time in a hostel and couldnt have been more satisfied!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lucerne Backpackers Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2011

Well, like many people who are staying in a hostel for the first time I was a bit worried and fearful of what to expect! However, after two wonderful nights at this place I am really glad I stayed here. The service was really good. Like most places the people at the front desk are only as nice as the way you treat them and it was no different here! They were very friendly and ready to help. The rooms were very clean and the bathrooms were cleaner than the ones at my house! I have to say the only problem I had was the wifi but besides that I give this place an A!! I highly recommend it to any traveler coming through Switzerland!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OTraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (241)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

130 - 134 of 241 reviews

Reviewed 5 September 2011

We stayed here for one night in July as we explored Switzerland. The positives: The staff were wonderful - so helpful and accommodating. The common areas were great and there was lots of room to cook and enjoy a meal. Our room was large and bright with a lovely treed view of the park across the street. The downsides: the location, it is quite a walk from the train station (20 minute) and away from any amenities. The hostel is very noisy with echos. The walls are plaster and the floors were stone so noise travelled quite a bit. There were some families that had no issues letting their children run up and down the hallways which could be a bit off putting if you're looking for some peace and quiet. None of the downsides are a reflection of the lovely people that work here.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pea18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2011

Thoroughly impressed. Clean, very comfortable, lockers in room, room spacious, kitchen, and lots of different common rooms. We had our own double room. Bathrooms and showers had a lot of people going through them, but we never seemed to have to wait to use them. It is about a 15min walk from train station.

Kitchen available with utensils, toaster, microwave, fridge, and an oven (which needs to be turned on by staff when you want to use it and can only be used at certain times of the day). There are also pots and pans for use. There is only two outlets in the room though.

Halls seemed busy and noisy through day, but quieted down around 9pm. No outside noise at anytime really. Its on a non-busy street and then there is a small park past it, and then the lake.

I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wherenow3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Stayed at this hostel for only one night but it was enough to be impressed by how well managed it is. All the public areas including kitchen, bathrooms, showers, game room & reception are spotlessly clean & well equiped. There are signs everywhere instructing people about the best practices of a hostel stay & the staff made sure that everybody followed these instructions. Also information about the neighborhood, the city, and the surrounding area are posted everywhere in the hostel. All these made our stay smooth & enjoyable although the hostel was almost full.
Regarding the room itself, we stayed in a private double bunk room which was really cheap ( only 5chf more than a dorm bed!!). The bed was comfortable, the room was clean & had enough space for our bags. the room also had a balacony which was a nice addition. The floor where our room was located had two or more bathrooms together a similar number of showers and plenty of sinks.
The hostel is located in a quite area outside of the city center, but it was only about 10-15 min easy walk to the city center. Despite this, there are supermarkets & restaurants only 5min walk away from the hostel.
The only drawback of this hostel is its pillows!!! They are so thin that u feel that they don't even exist, so to overcome this problem we had to raise the pillow with some of our clothes!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mobz11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

I stayed in a 4-bed dorm for one night in June. I arrived on a rainy day (before a public holiday), and they had a big board up with suggestions for what to do on a rainy day (and info that it was a public holiday) - I thought this was a really nice idea.

Friendly staff, although my labelled food in the fridge was almost thrown out. Good wireless available and lots of comfy common areas. About 16 mins walk from the station. It feels a little bit out of the way but isn't bad at all. The hostel was clean and had lockers and hangers available in the rooms. Reception doesn't open for check-in until 4pm.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CountryHopper09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lucerne hotels
0.7 km away
ibis budget Luzern City
ibis budget Luzern City
#39 of 66 in Lucerne
1,611 reviews
1.2 km away
Ameron Hotel Flora Luzern
1.5 km away
Hotel Alpha
Hotel Alpha
#36 of 66 in Lucerne
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 km away
Hotel Krone Luzern
Hotel Krone Luzern
#16 of 66 in Lucerne
498 reviews
1.5 km away
Hotel Magic
Hotel Magic
#43 of 66 in Lucerne
177 reviews
2.8 km away
ibis Luzern Kriens
ibis Luzern Kriens
#2 of 6 in Kriens
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lucerne Backpackers Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lucerne Backpackers Hostel

Address: Alpenquai 42, Lucerne 6005, Switzerland
Region: Switzerland > Canton of Lucerne > Lucerne
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Lucerne
Price Range: €32 - €97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Lucerne Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lucerne Backpackers Hotel Lucerne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing