We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (740)
Filter reviews
740 results
Traveller rating
486
144
58
34
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
486
144
58
34
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lake lucerne junior suite nicest hotel old town beautiful property valet service welcome drink train station balcony overlooking the lake nespresso machine fresh fruit our honeymoon old world charm free upgrade air conditioning the location is perfect room was large
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
47 - 52 of 740 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2019

I got an upgrade and have been moved to an apartment-size room, which was amazing. The price/quality ratio is ridiculous, one of the best that I have ever had. Very good breakfast and good Wifi connection.

Date of stay: November 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank edoardodonegani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHNGuestRelations, Assistant Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2019

Dear edoardodonegani

We are very thankful for your visit at the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL and for your positive feedback about your recent stay.

It makes very happy we met your expectations and you full enjoyed your free upgrade during your business trip.

Welcoming you back again would be our great pleasure and please feel free to get in touch with us for your next planned journey to beautiful Lucerne.


Best regards

Victoria Kupke
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2019 via mobile

Nice location but there is luck of facilities and the breakfast was limited and it was very very noisy sound coming from the next room and from the top floors it made my night sleep bad Hope there will improvement in the future

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Hazzam98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHNGuestRelations, Assistant Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2019

Dear Hazzam98

Thank you very much for staying at the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL, we were very pleased to welcome you.

We would particularly like to thank you for taking the time to share your honest feedback about your recent stay.

Our highest aim is to constantly improve our services to guarantee a comfortable stay to all our guests. The more we deeply regret your disturbed night sleep. We absolutely understand that this rest is the most important to start a new day well, and also for such inconveniences our staff at the front desk is 24 hours at your disposal.

We hope to welcome you to the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL again in the very near future and send you


sunny regards from Lucerne

Victoria Kupke
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2019

My stay at your the GRand Hotel National was spectacular. From the service received by the staff, the wonderful accommodations and beautiful view of Lake Lucerne, all was spectacular. I am looking forward to sharing my experience and staying at this hotel again.

Date of stay: October 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHNGuestRelations, Assistant Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2019

Dear Diana

The whole team of the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL is very grateful for your overwhelming feedback in reference to your recent stay at our hotel.

Your recognition is our best reward and our greatest source of motivation to continue dedicating ourselves to giving our guests an extraordinary stay.

We look forward as well to welcoming you to the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL again in the very near future and please feel free to contact us directly for your next planned trip.


Best regards from the city of lights


Victoria Kupke
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2019 via mobile

Thank you to the management and staff for a wonderful stay. Great bar and excellent food. The room always very clean. The hotel is well located not far from the old town. A few minutes from the station. The promenade in front of the property is great for long walks. Highly recommend the hotel.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank Rolphschmid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHNGuestRelations, Assistant Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2019

Dear Rolphschmid

The whole team of the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL thanks you very much for your very positive feedback. Your overwhelming words about your stay at our hotel are tremendously motivating for us.

Reading your outstanding comments gives us tremendous pleasure and we will gladly share your glowing praise with our entire team.

It is always our big pleasure to having you as our guest and we are already looking forward to welcome you back again.


Our warmest regards from the heart of Switzerland


Victoria Kupke
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2019

Situated right on the Lake Luzern waterfront, and at a walkable distance from the train station, the Grand National is a beautiful building and was the making of our stay in Luzern. It is perfectly situated for exploring Luzern itself, for setting off to other parts of Switzerland by rail, and indeed for trips on the lake.

We were allocated a lake view room: it was large, clean and with a huge comfortable bed. The view over the lake was amazing. The rest of the hotel was lovely: we enjoyed the bar especially - superbly appointed and a delight to relax in. The breakfast was of very high quality.

All of these positives would have been compromised had the staff been bad, but in fact all were very good: unfailingly courteous and helpful, from the staff at reception when we arrived to those at reception when we left. It seems unfair to single people out, but the waiting staff at breakfast and the bar staff were simply excellent.

A great stay.

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank GZZPO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GHNGuestRelations, Assistant Front Office Manager at Grand Hotel National, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2019

Dear GZZPO

Thank you very much for staying at the GRAND HOTEL NATIONAL and for taking the time to give us your personal feedback.

Positive feedback is very important to us as it is our highest aim and the greatest source of motivation for the entire team always to do our very best so that our guests can enjoy an unforgettable stay with us.

It is our great pleasure to have had afforded you a memorable stay and we will happily share your outstanding comments with our entire team.

We very much look forward to welcoming you to Lucerne again in the near future and send you our warmest regards from the city of lights.


Victoria Kupke
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews